The Hard Forked Maple Tree

in #hardfork4 years ago

Last year around this time, we had the hurricane come through.

I lost a few trees on the property but otherwise not too much damage. This maple tree ended up splitting down the main trunk but neither side actually broke. I couldn't tell which side, if any, was going to die so I left it alone to see what happened.

20200822_120956.jpg

20200822_120951.jpg

20200822_120933.jpg

20200822_120827.jpg

20200822_120859.jpg

As it turned out, nothing happened.

After a year, both sides of this tree survived and both look pretty healthy. As time continues, the split is continuing to heal itself.

This kind of resembles a hard fork to me. A force causes a given chain to split and the future for either split is unclear. Given some time, either side could end up dying, or they could both live side by side.

If I would have chosen one side over the other and decided to eliminate what I thought would be the weaker side, I could have killed the whole tree if I picked the wrong side.

I'd say there's a life lesson here, wouldn't you?

Sort:  

Hope it would be applicable to steem-Hive fork

For me, it is but not so sure about everyone. I know some people took all their steem and bought Hive, but I have to wait and see by holding both. I don't really post on steemit anymore, but I can't just sell all the steem just in case the wrong fork dies or both survive down the road. Who knows where they'll both be in a few years.