My nightmare is finally over

in #health7 years ago

My pillow and my sleeping position has been the leading cause of my nightmare. I never considered the choice of pillow until I developed a serious neck pain. Every morning I wake up, I feel so much cramps on my neck with excruciating pains. I will always massage my neck, twist, protract and retract the neck. This helps for a while until I sleep again at night, the whole pain repeats it self. This developed into a serious musculoskeletal pain on my shoulder and neck.
I realized my sleeping position was bad. So I decided to help my self out.
This was my sleeping position
image

This is how I feel when I wake up in the morning
image

Now this was what I did:
First I found out that there are two sleeping positions on the neck: on your side or on your back. If i sleep on my back, i choose a rounded pillow to support the natural curve of my neck, with a flatter pillow cushioning my head. I wasn't doing this initially.

image

The process can be achieved by tucking a small neck roll into the pillowcase of a flatter, softer pillow, or by using a special pillow that has a built-in neck support with an indentation for the head to rest in. Like the one in the picture above.

Here are some additional tips for side- and back-sleepers:

I use a feather pillow, which easily conforms to the shape of the neck. Feather pillows will collapse over time, however, and should be replaced every year or so. They are cheap also.
image

Another option is a traditionally shaped pillow with "memory foam" that conforms to the contour of your head and neck. Some cervical pillows are also made with memory foam. Manufacturers of memory-foam pillows claim they help foster proper spinal alignment. This was recommended to me by a friend although I haven't tried it out yet.

This is an example
image

I Avoided the use of high or stiff pillow, which keeps the neck flexed overnight and can result in morning pain and stiffness.
If you sleep on your side, keep your spine straight by using a pillow that is higher under your neck than your head.

Like this one
image

** i changed my sleeping position**

Sleeping on your stomach is tough on your spine, because the back is arched and your neck is turned to the side. Preferred sleeping positions are often set early in life and can be tough to change, not to mention that we don't often wake up in the same position in which we fell asleep. Still, it's worth trying to start the night sleeping on your back or side in a well-supported, healthy position.

image

I discovered my reading position was bad and changed it immediately.

image

Sitting back with proper neck, shoulder and upper back support. It is very important to support the neck and shoulders as you read. Hunching forward is almost guaranteed to cause neck and back pain and reduce your focus, concentration and the amount of time you can read. The proper approach is to sit back with your neck and shoulders supported. This means you are sitting against support just past the vertical position. You will note that your relaxed line of vision rises up when you do this.

This position is the best
image

I did all these and I got my health back. Truly health is wealth. Because I stopped buying pain relievers.

Thanks for your time.

image

Sort:  

Hi! I am a robot. I just upvoted you! I found similar content that readers might be interested in:
https://www.health.harvard.edu/pain/say-good-night-to-neck-pain