WENT UP THE HILL, FELL FROM THE WAGON, AND WORKING MY WAY UP AGAIN. (My fitness/ health journey)

in #health6 years ago

So, life, what a funny ride it is. I´ve always been a girl pretty much involved in regular physical activity. Ever since I was a little girl my parents always made sure I was enrolled in at least two sports and my nutrition was A+. As I grew up I continued with this lifestyle, but by then I had also discovered a ton of junk food and all kinds of bread and sugars that again, since I lived with my parents, were always eaten in super regulated quantities.

By 18 years old I left home and went on exchange to France where i discovered an amount of sweet that, with me being such a sugar monster, could only be bad news, and so they were. By my 5th month there I had gained 10 kilos. I was shocked, sad, and also committed to finding my way back to a healthy lifestyle.

I cut a lot back on sugars and breads, started counting my calories to keep a healthy intake, prepared my meals with quality foods and took on some beautiful and healthy habits such as exercising every day, which i had left behind, drinking green tea, drinking lots of water, and many more.

IMG_2334.JPG
IMG_5288.JPG

It took me about a year to built the healthiest version of myself, a version I had never know. I now had a healthy, lean and strong body, paired with a beautiful nutrition and a healthy mind. I really thought that, after all the effort, sacrifices, and long training hours I had spent on building myself up to his, I would never bounce back. But I did, oh boy did I bounce back.

IMG_2741.JPG
IMG_2633.JPG

A couple of months into my great new body a lot changed in my life, a lot of which seriously shifted my life and made me fall into something I had never known this much before, depresion. With this state of emotion came a lack of healthy eating until I stopped all together, a lack of exercise that even if I did my eating was so bad it could never compensate and A LOT of unhealthy thinking.

It's been almost two years since I last saw that healthy body of mine and by now I long for nothing more than to get it back. I´d been wanting to get it back for a seriously long time but I never had the right motivation and incentive for it. The first time I began this journey I was convinced I was doing it not because i hated my body buy because i loved it and I wanted to be as healthy as possible, not to look any certain way.

Today I can honestly say I just want to be healthy, to not get sick so often, to enjoy exercise and runs as I used to without feeling like my condition is the worst and simply to be as confident as I can in my own skin. Today I can finally say again that I'm doing this because I love my body and myself, not because I hate it and me. I am certain I can retake the path and become an even greater version of myself, and this time for good.

Much Love,
-CRIS