Best oils to use for cooking

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Refined avocado oil

avocado-1.jpg

Refined avocado oil has the highest smoke point of 271°C (520°F). It's best for cooking in high temperatures for extended periods of time. Furthermore it has 12:1 ratio of omega -6 to omega-3 and it's high in vitamin E. It's also rich in oleic acid which can help reduce insulin levels.

Refined olive oil

lite-olive-oil-500x500.jpg

Refined olive oil has a smoke point of 242°C (468°F). It's high in omega-9 and also rich in oleic acid. Additionally it has lots of antioxidants which brings anti inflammatory properties.

Ghee(Clarified Butter)

health-fitness-2016-04-ghee-main (2).jpg

Ghee has a smoke point of 252°C (485°F ). Like any clarified butter, ghee is composed almost entirely of fat, 62% of which consists of saturated fats.

Sort:  

I like using Avocado oil. I like the flavor over olive oil and it makes great mayonnaise.

Personally I love the smell and taste of ghee, but usually use refined olive oil for cooking and extra virgin olive oil for salads because of that rich olive taste :)

I've never tried ghee. I'll have to look into that.

Really simple yet well written post. Too often people hear that coconut or flaxseed oil is good an instantly try and cook with it which is a massive mistake!

Keep on sharing useful info :D

Thanks :) I use soooo much coconut oil but not for cooking. I use it mostly in fat bombs and shakes to boost the calorie intake and because I just love coconut.

I like that. Full of medium chain triglycerides. I had to use google to remember the name of these but you should look it up as well as it's benefits :)

Thanks for the tip. Yeah it's hard to remember the names especially when English isn't my native language, I remember reading about MCT oil and its benefits.

That's it mate, keep learning and empowering yourself!