How can people still smoke knowing what we know today?

in #healthlast year

I am a redneck and I am not at all ashamed of that. To people on the outside we are a bunch of idiots but I don't think that this stereotype is very fair. We also don't really care all that much what people think of us so if someone out there is the type of person that thinks that about anyone they see wearing a Budweiser T-shirt in a pickup truck, you can go ahead and go for it.


image.png
src
not me, but close

I will say this about the redneck community as a whole though and that is that the obvious and very well-known dangers of continuing to smoke cigarettes hasn't really had much of an impact on usage in our group. Most of the country boys that I know still smoke despite the fact that ciggies have more than quadrupled in prices since I was in my 20's and all of the negative effects of smoking are not just something we see on a pack of smokes, but is likely something that we have seen have terrible detrimental effects on people we know and love.

In my own family I have had an uncle and a grandfather who passed away from things related to smoking. With my grandfather he was really old and had a wide array of issues but with my uncle it was undeniable that basically the only thing that lead to his untimely death before he even hit 70 was because of the more than 50 years of smoking cigarettes that he had participated in his entire life.

He was a redneck just like me. He was an outdoorsman, he was a dedicated family man, he enjoyed cheap American beer, and he was nice to almost everyone that he met provided they were not liberals. In his youth I think we could all say that smoking was not even considered a vice, the world was very naïve about the dangers of smoking before the 70's and even when I was in school in the 80's and 90's we were in a state of denial about how harmful this habit actually is.


image.png
src

I can point out to my friends who smoke (which is most of them) the statistics about how if you are a smoker you are at a 50% extra risk of a wide array of health problems in the future but this has no effect on them. It doesn't make much sense to me because if you were to present a 50/50 statistic about something awful happening to them regarding almost anything else they would probably change their mind about it. Something like "HEMI's explode after 10 years and turn the car into a blazing inferno 50% of the time." If we had rather conclusive proof of this we would see the sale of HEMI's drop dramatically in the redneck community.

But for reasons I simply cannot understand the redneck community has what I have to presume is a much higher than average percentage of the population that are smokers. This is so much so that a big part of the reason why the Elks Lodge is so popular among good ol boys is because since they are a private club, they can allow smoking indoors even though it is against the law in all public areas.

I smoked when I was in high school and a little bit of the time that I was in college. It was almost required of you if you were in the redneck community. I don't generally get involved with the younger members of the redneck community unless they are employed on one of my job sites, but I have seen them smoking out in the open without even a little bit of fear of being reprimanded. I think a lot of this has to do with the fact that there is a very good chance that their parents also smoke and getting in trouble for doing what daddy already does would be kind of hypocritical now wouldn't it?

I don't know what it is going to take in order to change this and honestly, I don't think that anything will. We already have insane taxes on tobacco and gruesome pictures of lungs and cists on he boxes but this doesn't seem to have any effect. It just makes them poorer since a pack of cigs is $5 with likely more than 4 of that going to the government.

I like most aspects of the redneck community. I prefer it actually to modern city life, but this is one aspect of the community that they are dead wrong about and I wonder how many of them are going to have to have very serious health issues - probably in the next 20 years or so - before they wise up and stop.

Images intentionally featured wife-beater shirts because that is the official outfit of the redneck community

Sort:  

see wearing a Budweiser T-shirt in a pickup truck

Well, it was a free promotion for the T-shirt, and T-shirt is a T-shirt... and what am i supposed to drive round here? I saw that mud puddle down near the interstate consume one of those japanese rice burners whole. Just gone.

But joking aside.

The unhealthy part of smoking is the chemicals they use to tan the tobacco and make sure it stays burning. The actual smoking of tobacco actually has some medicinal uses. You know, what shaman do.

And the reason, i believe, is these people need a reason to die. This is their vice to numb out their lives. For city slickers, they usually like weed or something stronger.

When i was a young feller in NM, everybody's vice was chewen.

ow there's plenty of "chewen" going on here as well. I find that so repulsive especially when someone is hanging out with their plastic bottle of tobaccy spit on the table with them.

I agree about the promotional shirts by the way. Shirt is shirt!

I may be a country kid, but I'm not a redneck. In some ways that's good, in others, maybe not so much. I know when I worked in The Call Center From Hell, a lot of my co-workers flocked out the door for a smoke break every chance they got. Sales is stressful, even when we were inbound calls only, and not dialing out for leads, much less cold-calling.

I never did much office work because I mostly worked in construction but the smokers get more "acceptable breaks" than non smokers and this is a bit unfair if you ask me. If someone left their post as frequently as smokers do in order to do something else like say, spend the same amount of time it takes to smoke playing a GameBoy or something like that, they would be reprimanded for it.

I can't even imagine call center work buddy. I feel your pain :)

This makes no sense as you say many people who smoke seem to just carry on living with no issues. I used to work for a cigarette company and used to enjoy smoking yet I most likely think I smoke more than ever before with the pollution we have here in Johannesburg. I always think live your life and have no regrets as there is so much nonsense happening like the covid vaccines all those health conscious fools have taken. I would rather be a smoker than having 4 vaccines with boosters as I rate my chances higher lol.

totally agree with you about the vaccines stuff... what a load of garbage that is. Thankfully we have pretty fantastic air quality here but there is a wood mill about 40 miles down the road and I don't know if you have any experience with that industry but dear lord does it stink. Who would have thought that wood could be so smelly?