On the way back to me

in #health6 years ago (edited)

My whole life I have worried too much what people think and not lived by my true self values. I am divorced and remarried and had a 3rd child at 42! I live the Life I want to live without the inner critic from my family. We all have the inner child within us who sometimes dictates our feelings, emotions, and reactions to things.
My trigger has always been body image. I mean what is body image? It’s something society creates and we feel we have to be. I have been over weight, underweight, just right, muscular, not muscular but it all comes from self talk and not knowing a proper healthy diet.
My mother felt inorder to be respected or recognized you had to be thin to be considered a beautiful person. Not to mention, in our family free thinking and owning your own opinion outside the family opinion was a mortal sin.
My 76 year old mother as much as I love her told me over the holidays she doesn’t like food and therefore to stay thin she rarely eats much.
In the last 10 years I have changed my diet to a whole food, vegetarian and sometimes fish diet. I love to run and I enjoy excercise and being in nature.
My grandmother lived her last 5 years in a wheelchair because of lack of exercise and poor diet and she was proud of her rail thin body! My mother is heading down the same road. I hate to see here not able to get around like she use to but she is unwilling to explore new ways or think maybe there are other ways to do things.
My question is at what age do we stop learning? I don’t think we should ever stop, questioning, exploring, critically thinking of better ways!
Steemit’s I am so happy to be here and here’s to better ways to doing things and always having our voices heard and not being monitored!! Here is to my inner child! You have made me who I am today!
42821F8A-5878-4854-A103-19872FCCBC78.jpeg338D6D38-7F4A-466A-9BC2-CA2876E57A3D.jpegA26BF345-47BF-48F5-98C1-9E350B13F4C2.jpegE4763936-5199-46AB-AD60-A5005684B722.jpegB4BF8B92-F2EB-4C78-9617-E6D9EA040262.jpeg![61E0D5FB-C3EF-41DB-84F1-BB200AC6C25B.jpeg]
()

Sort:  

Congratulations @corpdetoxbliss! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post
You made your First Vote
You made your First Comment
You got a First Vote

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

I love you story and beautiful photos of you lovely family. You have definitely a lot to offer to out Steemit family. Keep it up Dear @corpdetoxbliss 🌸💖🌸