Is FAITH Vitally Important to Healing?

in #health7 years ago (edited)

"The way you help heal the world is you start with your own family."
- Mother Teresa -

Without faith, you will never get well.

Are you sick? Have you been injured? Do you have cancer? Heart disease?

Do you want to be healed?

I have news for you:

Whether you are a Christian or not, it's going to take faith to find healing.

I hope you'll stick with me, even if you're not religious. You say you want to be healed? I'll tell you a short bible story to make my point. Just consider the story an "anecdote," OK? And don't miss all the embedded links in the article below.


Table of Contents

Does Healing Require Faith?
Photo courtesy of Jacob Major and http://pixabay.com

Naaman was a "big wheel."

He was highly placed in the government of Syria, commander of the army. Because Naaman's military campaigns had been successful, the King of Syria held him in great esteem.

But Naaman was a leper.

Leprosy at that time was an incurable disease that resulted in gross disfigurement. Those who had it were shunned and lived with a sense of hopelessness. But through the urging of a young Israeli slave girl, Naaman traveled to Israel, met God's prophet Elijah, and was ultimately healed.

I hope you'll read Naaman's fascinating story for yourself (CLICK this link), but for now I want to focus on a single fact.

Naaman wasn't healed until he believed.

What do I mean, in this context, by "faith" and by "belief?"

Elijah the prophet instructed Naaman to "Go and wash in the Jordan seven times,", promising it would result in his healing.

Naaman was offended. He expected pomp and circumstance, not a trivial task. He was ready to pack up and head back to Syria in a huff.

Fortunately, his servants persuaded him to "take the cure." After he dipped in the Jordan seven times, Naaman was cured.


Table of Contents

Where is your "Health-Faith?"
Photo courtesy of Ben White and http://unsplash.com

Naaman wasn't healed until he acted.

This is what I mean by Faith. We must believe that a cure can be effective, or we will never take action to apply it. Naaman almost "missed the boat." His "health-faith" was in the wrong place.

Where is your "Health-Faith?"

If you break your arm, you need to "act in faith" and go see a doctor who knows how to set it and hold it in place with a cast. Unless and until you take that "faith-based action," believing that the doctor knows what he is doing, your arm may not heal, or may mend improperly.


Table of Contents

Could your faith be misplaced?
Image courtesy of Reimund Bertrams and http://pixabay.com

Could your faith be misplaced?

People put too much trust in doctors and hospitals. I find this troubling, because such faith is far from being "evidence-based."

If you want a real "wake up call," try Googling "iatrogenic death statistics".

The most recent statistical studies reveal that errors made by medical professionals are the third leading cause of death. Let that sink in for a moment.

There are better ways.

I have personally found many natural healing protocols to be equal to, or often, far superior to "conventional medicine. You can read about many of them on my Library Health Shelf. You can find many more via the modern-day oracle of the internet, though you must exercise good judgement discerning which remedies are "good."

In all cases, however, you must believe and act, or nothing will happen.

Take the example of ionic/colloidal silver.

Silver is a natural health remedy that is one of the few antimicrobials effective against deadly MRSA (Methicillin-resistant Staphylococcus aureus).

I know of at least one man who is alive today because someone who loves him took action. After he had been sent home to die, his step-daughter acted on what she believed. She had heard that silver could help cure MRSA, and she acted on that belief by giving her step-dad a glass of it every day. You can read the whole story here.

That man would not be alive today apart from the belief that silver could possibly help.

But be careful where you place your faith.

For example, the profit-driven medical profession insists you must vaccinate yourself and your children.


Table of Contents

Be careful where you place your faith.
Image courtesy of Reimund Bertrams and http://pixabay.com

Should you believe it? Many do, and a raging debate has ensued.

Regardless of which side of the debate you favor, many who have "believed" getting that shot would help their child have had horrible outcomes. Do your own research, but http://deathbyvaccination.com/ will give you a sampling of the risk of believing the wrong thing.

When you believe profit-driven propaganda, if you place your faith in the wrong doctor or hospital, should you fail to take conscious charge of your own health — you or a loved one may become severely ill, or even die.

I have had too many friends who contracted cancer.

The few who are alive today have, in most cases, shunned the "standard practice" of oncology. The survivors have instead sought natural methods of treatment. Almost all who relied on the Medical/Industrial Complex are now dead.

What are your beliefs?

If you've read this far, I hope you can see the clear connection between belief and healing. When it comes to your health, what you believe—and even more so, your willingness to act upon it—can make all the difference in the world.

If you've discovered a natural healing protocol that has been effective for you, please share it in the comments below. If possible, provide references. I'm always interested in learning more and adding to my Library Health Shelf.


~FIN~


For much more of @creatr, click on the library image below:
CircleLib.jpg


Sort:  

Although I am not a "Christian" in the conventional sense, this is a subject I spend a lot of time with, as one of our gigs around here is my wife's non-profit, which is a world-wide prayer and healing organization (non-denominational) based around the idea of "the power of positive focused intent."

There are plenty of studies to show that "prayer works" and studies to show "prayers DON'T work," but what's interesting to me is that the "placebo effect" is pretty well documented... so even if prayer (or faith) is merely a placebo, it arguably does something for us.

So getting back to group prayer, and having faith, and "taking action," we can still look at a situation and ask "Who's going to feel better about their chances: Patient A who feels all alone in the world or Patient B who (whether they have faith, or not) who's surrounded by people pulling for them and giving them non-stop attaboys or attagirls?

As you can probably tell from my angle of approach, I am used to dealing with a lot of non-spiritual, non-religious skeptics...

Interesting article, thanks!

Thanks, my friend, for your thoughtful interaction.

Yes indeed, there is tremendous healing power in something as simple as a few words of shared compassion and concern! Any time one human being reaches out with an expression of concern to another who may be "under the weather," the result is bound to be positive.

What I find all too discouraging is the persistence of belief in outmoded, disproven, and downright blatantly destructive modalities like chemotherapy and radiation. "Treatments" that deliberately destroy the immune system, which I view as God's own mechanism designed to heal us and keep us well.

Have you or your wife written any articles about the non-profit? I'm sure many would find that quite interesting.

thanks for sharing this. As a man of faith i say faith is necessary but remember, faith without works is nothing.. lets combine the two...
as a health lover read up my latest post on "How to Treat Ear Problems with Natural Remedies"!
support and comment also
thanks

Thanks for your visit and comments. Yes, genuine belief always leads to action.

Thank you for letting me know about your article. I visited and commented there.

thanks bro...lets keep the faith and works going and happy successful steeming

Surely healing requires strong faith. Actions without faith is dead. The servant was courageous to instill faith on his master. How as humans we have degrees of faith..

Thanks for reading and commenting. Indeed, "faith without works is dead."

Thanks for upvoting me creator.

Having faith is important to your body's healing process. Be happy.

Yes, So very true. Thank you.

"A joyful heart is good medicine,
    but a crushed spirit dries up the bones."

- Proverbs 17:22

Dan Mohler is the best on Christian healing. Check this out:

http://livinggospeldaily.com/dan-mohler-3-day-healing-school/

Thank you!

Very interesting post in a subject that i usually pass by. I will need to read your post more than once and think about it, in order to be able to express an opinion. Just wanted to say that it got my attention to think about it further.

Thanks, friend. I look forward to hearing your thoughts. ;)

We have a phrase here in my country - Nasa Diyos ang awa, nasa tao ang gawa - which roughly means "Mercy is from God, Action is from [the] human". If you don't help yourself, nothing is ever going to happen. Because people easily lose faith (in anything/anyone really), they tend to just leave everything up to Fate and stop trying to help themselves.

As for the vaccination, I'm a little conflicted. I took B.S. Pharmacy in college (though I never got to practice it as I became too sick) so it's hard for me to decisively pick a side. On one hand, all medicine have side effects (I know that not only from the books but because I'm on a lot of medicine for the past decade). It's always a matter of does the risk outweigh the benefits? when it comes to modern medicine. Vaccines have additives that could be harmful to people or the main component itself could be incompatible (contraindicated) with the patient. Case to point, I'm immunocompromised. But I have to be given flu vaccine yearly and pneumo vacc every 3-5 years because I've Myasthenia gravis and a full blown flu could trigger a respiratory collapse (experienced that twice). Other vaccines though, I absolutely cannot be given because instead of helping me develop a degree of immunity, it could actually kill me. I'm not disputing those that say vaccination is bad. I'm saying a lot of factors play a role like additive, main component, underlying condition/undiagnosed conditions, etc.

Also, yes, there are plenty from the medical world that are crap when it comes to caring for their patients. They don't see human, only money or a case. I have had to argue with a lot of nutritionists, nurses, and resident doctors over a lot of things. Had to suffer a lot even from those who would not listen (was offered sedatives after an operation that was a no-no for MG patients like me) and about 3 doctors said it was okay when I kept refusing it. It was near disaster and when the neuro came, she said the other doctors made a wrong call. So it's a matter of being able to find the people who wouldn't see you as a case. And educating yourself. It's a painful process but that's where my faith is. If I actively help myself, I would live longer.

Sorry. I made a super long reply. I swear I cut a lot off >.>

My dear friend, please don't ever feel you need to apologize, especially for taking the time to speak your mind and explain your thinking! I am glad to hear more about you.

I understand that there are some good arguments on both sides of the vaccination question. However, there is one thing on which I am utterly unwilling to compromise:

Whether or not to vaccinate (or undergo any medical procedure, for that matter) is entirely and only a personal decision. The state and society have no right whatsoever to compel or coerce an individual or family to undergo vaccination.

You are welcome to try to persuade me. You can muster all the expert testimony you wish. You can bribe me. You can do anything you like, as long as you do not initiate force to terrorize me or my children to be vaccinated.

And, Heaven help you or anyone if you deceitfully administer a vaccination to my children without my consent when I am not around! :O

My friend, you can also know this: I will never be part of any effort to force you to take a vaccination.

Thank you for your comprehensive comment, and also for sharing your Filipino saying about God and man... :D

Very true. At the end of the day, whatever medical procedure should require the approval of the person or in the case of minors, their parents or their guardians. Unless of course it's a life and death situation which vaccination is not. It actually tries my nerves when some medical practitioners try to get me to do/avail of something which I say I need to think about first. The horrors of ICU stays where I've been given plenty of something I knew was wrong which they eventually corrected after I took hostage my IV lines and feeding tube still makes me angry. Ah! I got off-topic. On the plus side, vaccination is expensive here so no medical practitioner is going to force people knowing they can't probably pay for it. And so the parents who would go for it would have to be those that have truly decided that vaccination is the way for them. (And thanks for not minding my TLDRs)

It was as if we both have the same mind towards this topic, it's really similar except that you did more research and you also made reference to the Bible.

Thank you so much for sharing this with me @creatr 🥰❤️.

Having a faith based practice can add 4-14 years to your life if you go to service once a week!

Thank you for visiting and commenting.

Nice post

Congratulations! Upvoted :)

Thanks.

I am with @denmarkguy in the sense that I am also not "Christian" in the conventional sense. I've adopted way too many practices and ideas from other sources to toe that line but I do have a deep and abiding faith that there is something much bigger than all of us. Some call it God, Karma, positive vibes, the universe, the Force, etc. I use all of those terms depending on who I talk to because I'm open to learning and living with intent.

That being said, faith, as you've mentioned is multifaceted. If I break my arm I have faith that the doctor will fix me up. How quickly I heal is up to me. I will overcome obstacles (faith). I will listen to my body and take appropriate action (faith and trust). I am open to trying new things (faith that it doesn't kill me).

I truly believe that my father's death was hastened by his doctors and their snowball effect of "fixes", but I also witnessed the moment my father said enough is enough and did not want to prolong his suffering...or ours...as he withered away.

And I prayed. I prayed really hard. This is what I said at the rail week after week. God, if you're not going to cure him, and I really hope that you do, please take him quick. As hard as it is that he's gone, I have faith that my father is still with me and perhaps he's got some good vibes in the universe to keep me on the right path and watch out for me.

Thank you, my friend, for sharing from your heart about this.

I've had some discussions recently with another Steemian about how human language is so imprecise... words like faith and belief are really "all over the map."

I do see, again and again, that faith in doctors is seriously misplaced faith. Doctors today are very different from doctors when I was a boy....

Nice post. Followed you.

Sometimes doesn't matter how much you belief if its your time its your time :)

Agreed. But "practical faith," i.e. "taking your medicine," is necessary in order to see change.

Yes, as co-creaters we have the power of intention. Use this to heal yourself. Read about it here.

http://montalk.net/files/fringeknowledgeWEB.pdf

Thanks for your visit and interesting comment. :)

Also, for the link.