Spring Herb Garden Planting! + Lavender

in #health6 years ago

We planted our deck last night! Lavender, parsley, sage, tarragon, curry, summer savory, basil, mint cumin, lemongrass, oregano, cilantro, thyme, dagga, and catnip for the kitties to get high on.

Did you know that lavender can be really helpful for restful sleep? A monoterpene called Linalool is thought to cause these effects. And, yes terpenes are the same class of compounds that give cannabis it's flavor and aroma too.

IMG_1287.jpg

I've been experimenting with using diffused lavender essential oil at night for the past few months and have been pretty impressed. I've used it previously with a few coaching clients to help them address sleep issues before and for some people its very helpful. Traditionally lavender oil also been used as a spot treatment for wounds, burns, and insect stings as it has some antibacterial properties, as well as anti-anxiety and muscle relaxant properties.

For the nerds, the most recent research points towards linalool exerting it’s effects by binding directly to NMDA receptors and also the serotonin transporter SERT. It was previously thought to act on the GABA system directly but this experimentally seems not to be the case. (Reference: PMC5437114)

Regardless of the neurochemistry, I love lavender and look forward to having this plant ally around this year along with all these other tasty herbal friends.

What are your favorite kitchen herbs to grow? Anything I'm missing?

Sort:  

Hi there! I am currently trying to NOT kill my tomato plants. hahahaha I'm extremely jealous of your deck garden :)

but.. I'm here on a different quest!!! But i'm very much against putting links on people's pages (I have a low spam tolerance hehe)

You could either comment back - orrrrr you could do some detective work and go to my page and try to figure out WHY you would be a part of my quest ;)

If you don't respond - no hard feelings - and I wish you the absolute BEST journey on Steemit! hehehehe have a great day @davidkrantz :)

I think what @dreemsteem is trying to say (rather cryptically) is that ....we are part of an initiative to help new steemians get up and running successfully on the platform with the least amount of hiccups as possible. No strings attached. Just trying to promote quality and make this a much better place than "faceborg" - as you put it.

Reading the few posts you have submitted we feel you would be a prime candidate for the "fast track" learning we provide. Just respond and we'll welcome you into our fold.

In Peace, Love and Health.

@dreemsteem @tamala I'm interested! Appreciate the feedback and am open to the "fast track" you provide.

Everyone's gotta kill a few tomato plants along the way, I'm no exception ;)

Excellent! We are on the second set of tomato plants.... and they haven't shown any signs of pre-mature death.... yet. LOL

I just posted the latest post of the @welcomewagon. The initiative is new.... but the members are not. :) We are a bunch of veteran steemians looking to come alongside newbies to equip them with what we think are the best tools that we've found along the way!

As I wrote the post last night - I wanted to add your name! But I was hesitant... (and nervous hahaha) that you might think we were stalking you a little bit too much LOL

I will add your name now! Please take a look at the @welcomewagon account and see if you're still interested! :) You'll see your name added on the last post - but there are only 5 posts so far... skim through! See what you think ;) (definitely watch the super fast Under 180 second video!!!)

if you need any links directly - let me know. but you should be able to click on our name up there and find it quickly! :)

Great to hear from you @davidkrantz

Hi @davidkrantz! @dreemsteem suggested that we feature your post on the Welcome Wagon! If you'd like to see what we said - Check it out HERE!