All About Chlamydia- Part 1

in #health6 years ago (edited)

chlamydia-infection-popup.jpg

What is going on?

Having a really terrible feeling, my abdomen and backache, I noticed some milky substance that smelt like rotten eggs on my panties…. I itched crazily, down there. Did I contact a flu or what? My throat hurts too.

What could have happened? Zack, one of my boyfriend’s came around. I was more than glad to see him; before we knew it we were in the mood and decided to have a good time. I do not know when I started crying. The pain was excruciating and I started to bleed. Everything was so painful- my abdomen, vagina and my throat.

I guess it was the pain in my eyes and tears that got Zack to share his experience.

He complained that peeing was very painful, his anus had so many sores and he also noticed a smelly discharge.

We decided to see a doctor.

The result of the test we did struck us like a blow. It was a bacterial infection called chlamydia.

The questions came rushing. What is chlamydia? And how did we catch chlamydia?

This is a scenario that has faced some people; others have come across the name Chlamydia and wondered what it was and how to prevent the infection.

To understand how the infection is contacted, we will first give an overview of what chlamydia is.

What is chlamydia?

Chlamydia is the most common sexually transmitted bacterial infection that is highly contagious.

It affects sexually active men and women; infants; and even animals.

The disease is very dangerous, some people do not know they have it, because the symptoms are similar to other diseases or even do not appear. This makes it a disease that spreads quickly.

Who is at risk of infection?

• Men and women are at risk of contacting the disease if they are sexually active.
• Women under 25, are the most likely to be infected because their cervical cells are not fully developed and can easily be infected.
• Women are twice as likely to be infected with this bacterium as men
• Gay, bisexual and other men who have sex with men are also at risk because chlamydia can be transmitted through oral and anal sex.
• African Americans have chlamydia five times more often than Caucasians

Can Chlamydia be transmitted by informal contact with objects?

The chlamydia bacteria cannot be transmitted by simple contact such as: sharing of food, drink or clothes, kissing, hugging, holding hands, coughing, sneezing, sitting on the toilet, going to a sauna or using a swimming a pool

The next article will answer the question -How is Chlamydia contacted?. ....

Sort:  

Uncomplicated article. I learned a lot of interesting and cognitive. I'm screwed up with you, I'll be glad to reciprocal subscription))

Thanks! Glad u like the article. There are more facts coming up...