The miracle power of Believing

in #health7 years ago

Just want to share with you guys how my father believed in miracle power of believing.

Lately, my father was admitted at the hospital because of myocardial infarction (commonly known as a heart attack). The doctors said it was because of the complication of his diabetes. He was diagnose with his diabetes 10 years ago.

product_thumbnail.jpg

Before he was diagnose with myocardial infarction, he was admitted at the hospital for suffering pneumonia. We stayed at the hospital for 5 days. 2 days after we were discharged, I noticed him unwell, then he said after an hour “my heart aches, I can’t properly breathe”. I pitied him, I can’t really believe how he was deeply in pain. So, again I dragged him to a different hospital and found out that he was already suffering a heart attack, luckily, bringing him early to the hospital saved his life.

My father was a smoker at his early age, he is a frequent alcohol drinker as well. My father doesn’t believe in all kinds of medicines. He doesn’t even have a maintenance medication for his diabetes because he believes that taking medicines would make his life shorter than not taking at all. He actually thinks that my mother died because of different medicines prescribed to her and that had damaged her kidney and lost her life.

smoke.jpg

When he was recently admitted, he was always grouchy because the doctors gave him lots of medicines for different complications and for his diabetes, if I am not mistaken he was taking 10 tablets a day plus one injectable medicine. He really think that he might be in a critical condition and his life will now be in danger because of taking those medicines. We were discharged by about 4 days from the hospital, still his medication was continuously prescribed by the doctors. He really didn’t believed that those medicines prescribed to him will be able to cure him. I was observing his health after we were discharged, still it has no effect, he felt the same.

148152256.jpg

Then, I decided to take him to the other doctor for checkup. He was examined and gave him medicines again (of course there’s no other way to cure him but taking medicines). But the doctor lessen his prescription compared before, the medicines were different from the current medicines my father was taking. The doctor was good at advising his patients, he explained well to my father what the problem was and how to properly cure his illness, he persuade my father not to overthink about his illness and not to worry about the medicines that were prescribed to him. My father was relieved by the explanation and unlike before, he was taking his medicines regularly and he never mentioned again that he doesn’t want to take his medicines anymore. I knew by just looking at him, he was relieved by those medicines prescribed by his current doctor. I ask him that time “please believe just for once that this medicines could cure you, just once please”, till then, I never heard him saying that his heart is aching.

medicines-l.jpg

Then I noticed that the medicine he was taking now was just the other brand of the medicine he was taking before. See the difference? The power of mind to always believe that it could happen will always be possible. Till then, it strengthen my belief on the power of believing.

Take this situation as an advice for all of us.

Thanks for reading.

-f

Sort:  

Congratulations @fatfat09! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Belief makes differencw between Illbess and health, doing something and being clipped with fear. Placebo works on this principle @fatfat09