You Can't Ask That! - ABC Australia show asking questions you shouldn't ask someone

in #health5 years ago

So in the spirit of something different, for Australian's there's a tv show on ABC called You Can't Ask That. It's a show in which people ask questions you wouldn't normally ask someone.

 

From Aboriginals to wheel chair bound people, to red heads, to priests, nothing is off limits!. These are the questions you that were asked on the show.

NOTE: You can watch it via ABC iView, for International viewers, just use a VPN with Australian servers. There's some great topics on there and worth a watch.

Question 1) Why are you so fat? In my case, I ate the wrong food, I don't exercise, I've never liked to exercise and the good food tastes amazing, not really cooking before I would buy things pre made or convenience and eat it for multiple meals. I also think being bullied so much in school meant that I went to food as a comfort.

Interesting people on the show had many other excuses to as why they were fat.

 

Question 2) Do people treat you differently because you're so fat?

Short Answer YES - a lot of the time not on purpose, but I can certainly see it. A great example, when I was a tourist in Melbourne before we moved here, we went to a Chinese restaurant, had very prominent views in from the street. We were greeted by the waiter who evidentially you could tell looked me up and down, then proceeded to take us to the back of a very big restaurant and give us a seat. As others came in who were much more"Beautiful looking" they were seated at the front, near windows. That was probably the worse case of it for me. There's certainly other cases but this stood out as being different, but that's nothing to what some of the races in our countries around the world get stereotyped and treated, so it's been something I've never taken offense too

The other respondents also brought up many things I face, Kids coming up calling you fat (They say what they see and don't have a filter young, and your average asshole of a person who just randomly shouts out that I am a fat cunt (Tho this hasn't happened in Melbourne yet compared to so much in Adelaide

Question 3) How do you feel about the word "Obese"

Personally I prefer it to the word "fat cunt" but that's just me? But I think it is a term that's medical and is the correct terminology. As long as people are respectful if it comes up.

Respondents in general didn't have much to say on it, it's like super level fat.

Question 4) When was the last time you were skinny?

Hmm, I don't really remember, when I was very young 6-7 maybe

Respondents all had different answers.

Question 5) Why don't you just eat less?

Well simply put, eating less isn't going to fix the issue, its quality not quantity in my case mostly.

Respondents had talked about yo yo dieting, and it's about genetics and feeling different to other people.

Question 6) Are you worried about your health?

Yes, fuck yes, this is why (in my case) I am doing this, the question is really not aimed at me (as people on the show aren't losing weight like I am , but I am always worried which is why I am doing something now.

Question 7) How do you feel about airplane seats?

This maybe the easiest question I can answer. I buy 2 seats, when I travel with my wife, we buy 3 seats between us so I can fit in, I don't want to be in other peoples space, I think you SHOULD BE MADE to buy a seat if you don't fit into one, don't take up other peoples personal space

Most people commented they hate them, and people are concerned about being sat next to them.

Question 8 ) Do you exercise?

No, Well I do pre-surgery, but a year ago if you asked me this, no would be the answer. I hate sweating from places I did not know you should sweat from

No surprises respondents mostly said no.

Question 9) Is Sex difficult when you're fat?

Where there's a will, there's a way!

Respondents also had similar answers, apparently there's a book called big love in which has certain positions and angles... (There you go)

Question 10) If you could weigh less tomorrow, would you?

Well again this is a bit of a generic question for those who aren't losing weight, we know my answer is yes, Want to know what they said? watch the show :P

 

So that is an example of what the show You Can't ask that is about,  it asks questions people making thinking but don't ask. I find there's some of the episodes out there that are very deep (Sexual Abuse Victims, Priests among a few, it's worth watching the series and highly recommend.)

Stay Awesome

Paul

Sort:  

Personally I prefer it to the word "fat cunt"

I had to stop here for a laugh break. The audience laughter light came on in my mind.

Fantastically well written, and candid too - just what this platform needs more of! :)

I should look this show up. Asking certain questions is one of those things which is so frowned upon, but maybe the answers should be heard so that people can get an idea what it's like on the other side and have a bit more understanding.

Personally I prefer it to the word "fat cunt"

This made me chuckle. I think I'd prefer it to that too.

Haha yea, Amongst friends I regularly use it, I think sometimes humor is the best medicine in akward situations.

Btw, I have a contest running at the moment for steem delegation if you're interested in dropping in a comment to enter. Doesn't matter if you don't know much about communities, you can just say what it would be nice to see.
https://steemit.com/contest/@minismallholding/for-the-love-of-comments-round-9-win-200-sp-for-a-month-mj6pridq

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @fatmanskinny! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 250 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!