You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Breathe More Deeply (Yes, You!)

in #health7 years ago

That's great advice.
I have taped my mouth for two months while sleeping in order to get myself to breathe through the nose during sleep. It has helped me become aware of my breath while I am awake and coupled with some weight loss I now finally breathe through my nose while I sleep without tape. Scientific research shows that breathing through the nose is "deeper" because when we breathe through the nose we breathe in nitric oxide which is produced in our nostrils.

Nitric oxide helps to kill bacteria while breathing in and while the air is in the lungs. It also gets assimilated into our bloodstream where it improves blood pressure and helps to get the blood where it is supposed to be.

Once you start breathing through your nose during sleep you will feel much more relaxed after waking. It can be difficult in the beginning, but when you tape your mouth closed you will get used to it really quickly. You will also start to pay more attention to your breath while you sit and work and will start breathing through your nose more often which will help you keep concentration.

Another great example of how duct tape can fix everything.

Sort:  

Thank you for that bit on nitric oxide. I utilize & teach Breath as Medicine and I didn't have that detail about nasal breathing. I love learning something new every day here! And thank you for the laugh envisioning taping your mouth shut and what that must have been like! Quite resourceful...Cheers...:D

It may be slightly odd but it gets the job done :D
To be honest, I was a little worried that I might die, but the duct tape actually comes off very easily so that if you should randomly start suffocating because your nose closes you would actually just start breathing through the mouth because the coughing removes the tape.

Perhaps there is a better way to teach it to your patients though. I just tried to be cheap :D

Really? Hahahahaha! That is good to know! :D

Thanks for the insightful comment! I actually wasn't aware about nitric oxide being produced in the nostrils. That's really interesting. It's funny imagining taping one's mouth shut, but if it improves quality of life that's definitely worth it.

All that room allocated to the nose is not there for nothing ;)

Haha... for sure :)

Thanks for that added bit of information. Very interesting.