Think GMO Foods Are Bad? You're Ruining My Beer You Ass Clowns But I Found A Solution!

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I love Beer!

I'm not sure what the defines an alcoholic or if I am one or not. I personally don't think I am so that's a start. I like to indulge in a beer or two, sometimes 5 or 6 on a nightly basis. There aren't many nights when I over do that though and just the same there aren't many nights when I have none. So call me an alcoholic or call me a pussy who can only handle 5 or 6 beer makes no difference to me.

Here's the thing though, I was recently carrying on just like always when I started getting destroyed by the beer. It was unbelievable, unbearable and I couldn't figure it out. I was feeling super bloated, extreme pain in my upper abdomen, burping really I felt mangled. I knew that it was something I ate because I was eating different things day by day and week by week but the feelings and pains were still present.

It finally dawned on me. It's this fucking "Rolling Rock" beer. It has to go! I decided to switch brands I tried Coors and the same shit happened. They are putting nasty shit in my beer and my body is not down for it at all. Luckily I found a nice organic beer "Mill St. Brewery" It's brewed in Toronto and it's absolutely stunning. A gorgeous blonde I tell ya, and smooth hahahh anyways it's doesn't make me feel like my insides are going to explode so that's what I like the best.

The Research

I decided to conduct a little bit of research on the internet to see if I could find out what the hell they're putting in the beer and why?


Image Source

Here is a list of additives in beer I found from FoodBabe

  • Monosodium Glutamate (MSG) – alcohol is already addictive with some people, but with MSG?! Holy smokes.

  • Propylene Glycol (an ingredient found in anti-freeze)

  • Calcium Disodium EDTA (made from formaldehyde, sodium cayanide, and Ethylenediamine)

  • Many different types of sulfites and anti-microbial preservatives (linked to allergies and asthma)

  • Natural Flavors (can come from anything natural including a beavers anal gland)

  • High Fructose Corn Syrup

  • GMO Sugars – Dextrose, Corn Syrup

  • Caramel Coloring (Class III or IV made from ammonia and classified as a carcinogen)

  • FD&C Blue 1 (Made from petroleum, linked to allergies, asthma and hyperactivity)

  • FD&C Red 40 (Made from petroleum, linked to allergies, asthma and hyperactivity)

  • FD&C Yellow 5 (Made from petroleum, linked to allergies, asthma and hyperactivity)

  • Insect-Based Dyes: carmine derived from cochineal insects to color their beer.

  • Animal Based Clarifiers: Findings include isinglass (dried fish bladder), gelatin (from skin, connective tissue, and bones), and casein (found in milk)

  • Foam Control: Used for head retention; (glyceryl monostearate and pepsin are both potentially derived from animals)

  • BPA (Bisphenol A is a component in many can liners and it may leach into the beer. BPA can mimic the female hormone estrogen and may affect sperm count, and other organ functions.)

  • Carrageenan (linked to inflammation in digestive system, IBS and considered a carcinogen in some circumstances)

Pay close attention to the last item on this list and I think I found my answer.

Carrageenan (linked to inflammation in digestive system, IBS and considered a carcinogen in some circumstances)

Great so belly pains and cancer causing death ingredient. What is wrong with these people.

Genetically Modified Organisms (GMOs)

Many of the beers that "Foodbabe" questioned contain one or more possible GMO ingredients.

  • High Fructose Corn Syrup (Guinness – unable to provide an affidavit for non-GMO proof)
  • Corn syrup (Miller Light, Coors, Corona, Fosters, Pabst Blue Ribbon, Red Stripe)
  • Dextrose (Budweiser, Bud Light, Busch Light, Michelob Ultra)
  • Corn (Red Stripe, Miller Coors Brand, Anheuser-Busch Brands)

I read Foodbabe's entire article and she went on to say that Sierra Nevada, Heineken, and Amstel Light DO NOT use GMO's in their beers but the companies wouldn't supply a list of ingredients confirming there wasn't other nasty additives in their beer. She mentioned that your best best is either organic beer (yay for me) and German beer. Here's a direct passage from her article regarding the German beer.

German Beers are also a good bet. The Germans are very serious about the purity of their beers and enacted a purity law called “Reinheitsgebot” that requires all German beers to be only produced with a core ingredient list of water, hops, yeast, malted barley or wheat. Advocates of German beers insist that they taste cleaner and some even claim they don’t suffer from hangovers as a result.
Source: Foodbabe

List of Beer to stay away from

  • Budweiser - contains genetically modified (GMO) rice
  • Corona Extra - contains GMO Corn Syrup and Propylene Glycol
  • Miller Lite - contains GMO corn and corn syrup
  • Michelob Ultra - contains a genetically modified sweetener (GMO dextrose)
  • Guinness - contains isinglass, an ingredient which comes from fish bladders
  • Coors Light - contains GMO corn syrup
  • Pabst Blue Ribbon - contains GMO corn and GMO corn syrup

Mill Street Brewery


Image Source

I love this beer so much like I mentioned above it's amazing and the ingredients are legit and I never get any pains. It was such a good idea to switch to a nice organic beer like Mill Street. I also want to let you know of a few other brands which are nice clean drinks.

Steemwhistle is an amazing beer as well and of course Heineken. If you know of anyone who is having issues and they enjoy the beer like me perhaps you could share the news with them. I would love for beer drinkers to be able to drink healthy ingredients in their beer. I seriously couldn't feel any better since switching over.

love you all

Sort:  

It's good to know, thanks for the tips. Although here in my country, I only take Polar.
Commonly called "wedding dresses"

Health!

IMG_20170704_224245.jpg

That looks delicious! I would love to try that Beer!

Damn those look good

hahahaha very good

Awesome!!!!

Thank you so much for sharing these posts with me. I will definitely check them out sbd hopefully brew some.

I’ve never heard of Mill street! But it looks amazing! I will need to get a 6 pack if I can find it!

Hopefully you can find it. It's really good and literally doesn't have any GMO's or bad additives in it. It tastes really good too! :)

I’ve heard of or have had about half of the non gmo ones, but Mill Street looks special!

haha! this made me laugh.. sometimes when i drink coors my face gets all red! man that's why i stick to the "more expensive brands" and microbrewery things.. .they're more expensive but usually do without those GMOs!! NO MO GMO! ... tonight i'm drinking an elusive ipa from missouri's own public brewing house.. go local! and no mo gmo!

Yes!!! I agree 100% just make sure you do your research on your local micro breweries. Some big companies like Coors have been buying up little breweries and now using GMO's like "Rolling Rock"

I can't believe there are so many chemicals in those non-organic beers. Drinking them is like drinking chemical soup. Thank you for doing the research and inform us! I really appreciate it.

It's disgusting isn't it buddy. I couldn't believe myself. It does make sense though. They do the same thing with all the food which you are aware of I can guarantee that!

Commenting so I remember to read this later. I'll be back

Ok Arnold!

BTW go back to your DMT post, you might find my comment interesting.

I missed a lot of comments on that post wtf lol

Gotcha now!

haha, I figured you missed it since you're usually so good about responding

Seriously! I was slacking dude!

I like German beer, St Pauli Girl is one of my favorites. Don't believe for one second you can't get a hangover from it. I have.

The Nature Boy Ric Flair has a good answer if someone asks if he is an alcoholic. He says he doesn't know, he never tried to quit drinking. I use that one now myself.

Dude!!!! Where can I buy St Pauli Girl? I've been looking for that beer for 15 years lol. No joke! I have never tried it and I have looked in 4 different provinces in Canada now arghhh.

Do you have it in the States?

Haha Nature Boy is right. :)

I live in Pennsylvania and St Pauli Girl is around, but you have to look for it. It's not common to find it in bars and beer stores around here. I used to own a bar so I could order it from one of my distributors. It was never a big seller, but I enjoy it. My local beer store doesn't normally carry it, but they will order some for me if I ask.

I wonder if I could get the beer store to bring some in for me. I'm going to try or else I'm heading to Pennsylvania :)

That’s awful! I did read something like this before but as I only drink 3-5 beers a week and usually American microbrews, German, Belgian beers, or occasionally Japanese beers, I haven’t ran into any problems yet.

Alcoholic, like all labels, is a bit arbitrary. I think if you are doing something that you feel is bad for your body and have a hard time stopping, you might want to give yourself that label though :-P. Aside from the GMOs, drinking every day without giving your body a break sometimes can take its toll

Yes I'm sure it can. There are so many things which people do that would be at the same level of abuse to their body. I'd much rather drink a couple of Mill Street beer in the evening then chew back a Big Mac everyday for lunch. :)

Everybody has got their poison I guess. I agree it’s probably better for you than s Big Mac!

Hahah I hear you though.

Very interesting! @jasonrussell and I enjoy beer and we’re guilty of drinking a lot of those on “the list”. It’s been a goal of mine for a while now to clean up my eating habits and that should definitely include my drink choices too! Glad to see Heineken is one of the good ones ;)

I was suppressed to see that Heineken was on the good list as well. Definitely clean up your beer habits too! I cleaned up my food habits a while ago now and couldn't feel better about that choice.

The Heineken things surprised me..however I am oh so glad. I love it. My favorite

You do love it !!!

Yummm anal glands, haha. Yup, there's absolute shite in everything, gotta go organic and even better make it yourself! I have carbouys and stuff from wine making if you ever want to try making your own. I've been meaning to make a rootbeer-esque alcoholic beverage just haven't gotten around to it...

Also, yay nelson beer!

I brewed my own last year twice. Although both times it was from kits so I don't think I eliminated the ucky stuff but maybe I did. I looked into brewing it from your own grown wheat, barley, fruits etc but it was complicated process when you brew from a mash.

Wine is a lot easier then beer that's for sure.

Yeah I want to try from scccrrratch! I don't have enough space to grow wheat but we can buy organic wheat berries from speerville. I want to put tasty roots and herbs in it to make it really interesting, haha

Well fuck all those GMO frankenshit beers I wont drink them anymore! I have to look up Sapporo now as it is one of my faves. Thanks for the information bro

Haha No problem. Sapporo is delicious indeed! I hope your search allows you to check drinking them.

Wow! All those ingredients in beer? One might have been signing his death warrant. These people are damn too shitty. Thanks for sharing this life-saving information.

No problem. Stay away from the beer that's chalked full of GMO's and garbage additives!

How to determine if you're a alcoholic..

Do you go to meetings?
Yes... you're a alcoholic
No... you're just a drunk

Ok, I'm just a fucking drunk!

Sounds about right. beer/alcohol is about as nasty as soda and other store bought beverages.

Glad to hear you remedied the issue.

It's gotten to the point now that I think there isn't anything at all in the stores that would be good for you. Have you ever watched any of the videos where they smash up cereals and then they can be picked up with magnets because they literally have metal fillings in them?

That's right. The best you can do aside from growing your own food. Is to buy organic, but even then you are still getting pesticides on your food, depending where it came from. Organic grown food here in Canada and the US are shocking.

I know! The only cure is growing our own food! :)

Good post! I rarely drink beer, but my husband makes it often. I completely agree with you about organic and German beer. In my town there is a private brewery where beer is brewed according to the German technology. I worked there as a translator and saw the process from the inside)

Oh how beautiful. I would have loved that job. The German's sure know how to brew beer.

Magnificent article. I really liked it. Now I will drink only Heineken. Resteem

Великолепная статья. Мне очень понравилось. Теперь я буду пить только Heineken. Рестим

Great idea man. Heineken is a good choice.

Awesome, and do you see a common thread in those other beers. Corn..mostly all corn is GMO. Plus you could be highly allergic to corn. Not to mention all those other things. Blue Dye..Yikes. Good ground work..Monsanto look out, he is on to something.

I hate Monsanto so much :(

I agree with you 100% the corn is so garbage because of them.

To be honest, i am surprised you dont brew YOUR own. Not sure how that would be, as i dont drink, but to each his own. When i mean i dont drink, i drink, but alway have things to do, so that occupies my time.

I have brewed my own before. I found the bottling process is such a pain in the ass.

Pfhhht who needs bottles when your pushing out 6 a night, thats a 5 gallon bucket with spiget and hose my friend

Oh wow! This will probably hit some people too hard especially where drinking beer is considered very cool. I'm going to share this on my blog. RESTEEMED!

Thanks man. I appreciate that. It's always good to have the knowledge on all of these items. If one chooses to make a change or not is up to them.

wow....very good
😍😍😍😍😍😰 good life👌👌👌👌👌carry on brother...

super post , nice writting, you are expert my pray get great success ,, can we fallow if you like .lovely beer tag

amazing news, i upvote and resteem, if any time please visit my blog @hendrix22

good post friends, I like.

WAw.; Very amazing news

Thanks for this informative and educative post.
Your experience prompt you to go for research which is now capable of saving many that doesn't know about these before. This really help