Life of a Paramedic #1 - Background Story

in #health6 years ago

,,If you decide to carry out community service, choose to work at the Red Cross – it’ll prove beneficial in everyday life’’. Many people had advised me to start training in order to become a paramedic. It was Summer 2016, when I finally decided to heed their counsel and carry out alternative civilian service at my preferred destination - a local branch in a small village.

Why in a small village?

Simply because at bigger branches you get almost no rest from working and at smaller branches usually prevails a better atmosphere, which helps to make new friends soon. Additionally, the extra time can be used to study or relax until you are needed to drive, help or assist again.

Explanation: In Austria every man either has to serve in the military for six months, or ,,carry out alternative civilian service’’ at a ,,non-profit organization’’ (for example: working at the Red Cross, the kindergarten or a retirement home) for nine months.

imageedit_2_7758705541.png

Usually many young men in Austria choose to work at the Red Cross and then get assigned to any branch within the federal state they’re living in. If you want to work at a specific branch you have to complete paramedic training before you start carrying out alternative civilian service plus apply to the local branch manager (what I did). And with a bit of luck you get requested by those responsible.

The main reason why I chose to work at the Red Cross is because I plan to study medicine and become a doctor afterwards. Today I can tell: It certainly was the right decision to work as a paramedic. And since you acquire a lot of experience dealing with pain, blood, illnesses, emergencies but also different kind of people, I think it’s the perfect basis for many jobs, especially for being a doctor.

I hope you enjoy reading my blog and are also interested in health and medicine. But most importantly:

Stay healthy!