I Strongly Recommend - Allen Carr's The Easy Way to Stop Drinking!

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Hello fellow Steemians. I hope to share with you today a great book I've been reading related to health and fitness. Yes, it has to do with alcohol. As I have made a couple of posts in the past about this subject.

30 Day NO Alcohol Challenge

30 Day NO Alcohol Challenge Complete!

We all know diet and workouts are a great part of building a physique, but cutting out alcohol is super important for great results as well! I have always talked about alcohol and how bad it is, but I've never actually talked about ways to cut down the drinking. Drinking can be an addiction, and it is difficult to overcome! Allen Carr's book has thousands of positive reviews on Amazon, The Easy Way to Stop Drinking. Allen is actually more well known for Allen Carr's Easy Way To Stop Smoking." Alcohol is a lot worse than tobacco, and it is more nefarious. Here he gives his method for controlling it...

The Easy Way Method:

"The Easyway method centers on removing the psychological need to drink—while the drinker is still drinking. Following the Easyway:
• You will not need willpower
• You will not feel deprived
• You will lose your fear of withdrawal pangs
• You will enjoy social occasions more
• You will be better equipped to handle stress"

Source

I will give a summary of the philosophy of Allen Carr and how it has helped millions of people quit drinking.

This book has a different guidance than most other guides to quitting addiction. Many ways of quitting alcohol include joining Alcoholics Anonymous, a focus therapy group for recovering alcoholics. Or they say stop drinking slowly so you don't get withdrawals, or seek a counselor. Or switch to a lighter drink and "only have a couple." The problem is alcohol is very nefarious, and there is no such thing as having a few! One of the commenters on Amazon said "he has been sober for 20 years but feels one drink away from being a drunk!"

Carr starts out with a bold statement that "Four things you can't have too much of are time, energy, love, and money. And alcohol ravages all of these things." Carr is very logical in his approach and gives his point across with many different ways of changing your views about alcohol. The process of quitting starts with understanding alcohol first...

Source

Basically everyone in Western Society drinks alcohol. And since everyone does it, everyone thinks it is okay to do. Society isn't ready for others to tell them alcohol doesn't offer them any benefits. Alcohol's benefits are often overstated while its downsides are understated.

The Western World has been fooled into thinking that drinking a poison will give them benefits and add to their life, when really it's making their life worse and taking away from it.

It's great that Carr recommends the reader actually not try and quit drinking until they finish the book! He allows them to consume alcohol, but also to read the book. He wants readers to fully understand alcohol before finishing the book. Alcohol is pervasive in our society and it's one big illusion...

My Personal Experience:

I tried a no alcohol challenge for 30 days and I detailed it in one of my previous posts mentioned above: I actually lasted 38 days, I feel like I craved alcohol the whole time though. After 38 days I went back to drinking again and convinced myself to just a "have a few".

Well when you drink your inhibitions become lower. A few turns into 5 or 6 and then so on. You end up having a night you cannot remember well and you wake up the next day feeling toxic and unhappy. You have guilt and shame from the night before and can't sleep well the next day because your sleep cycle is so off (I detail this in my previous post as well).

Source

I also realized I was drinking alcohol to make me feel good and ease my social anxiety in large crowds. I realized it was only making me feel good for a few minutes and was giving me fake confidence. I realized it's worth it to feel happier for a higher average amount of time and to face my fears about interacting with people in large crowded areas that I do not know...

It wasn't until I read Allen Carr's book that I have felt I'm finally cured. The best part of it is I finally understand alcohol now and how it isn't helping me and if anything it is taking away from my life. This is different than the time I completed the 30-day no alcohol challenge. I haven't had a drop of alcohol in 2 weeks, and I don't crave it anymore.

Conclusion:

I've overcome my small drinking problem before but my mindset has never been as good after reading Allen Carr's The Easy Way to Stop Drinking. I'm really excited for what the future holds in store for me and what I can accomplish now after reading this book. This book has helped millions of people. If you go on Amazon you will read thousands of reviews of it helping hardcore alcoholics quit (people with a lot worse drinking issues than me). I encourage you to read my post thoroughly or my other threads. Go visit Amazon and read people's anecdotal testimonies.

Please Visit Some of My Other Posts! :)

My 30 Day No Alcohol Challenge
Lets Talk About Sugar and How Bad It Is
How To Get Filthy Stinking Rich
How To Make Money and Be Successful On Steemit
Follow My Intense Back Workout
Travel With Me! San Francisco
Travel With Me! Miami Beach
My Five Top Dance and Workout Songs On My Gym Playlist
75 Days Out From Men's Physique Bodybuilding Competition

Until Next Time...Best Regards

Fitness Guy

If you like my post please comment below. If your comment is well thought and well written, I will reward you with an upvote! Thanks for stopping by!

Sort:  

Your post is always full of information. A must and worth to read. Unluckily we can only find your post once a week 😣. Anyway, that's okey at all. You must be so busy.

Regarding this post, even I'm not a drinker, I do really agree with all your statement that alcohol is nefarious, it could mess our day up, break our relation, wasting time and the worst it even could kill us slowly but sure. Luckily, consuming alcohol is forbidden in my religion, so I don't even know how's the taste.😅

As it is addicted, I could feel how hard it was when you challenge yourself to not consume it for 30 days. And you did it! It's totally not easy way to do so. I appreciate your commitment and that you shared your experience to others.

Moreover, from what you have wrote about what Allen Carr's told in his book "The Easy Way to Stop Drinking", I think Alcoholic should really take this book as consideration to read. And what Carr said in the book about the alcohol fact is very logical to agree with, now I favourite his statement too, "Four things you can't have too much of are time, energy, love, and money. And alcohol ravages all of these things."

It is simple but powerful!
Hopes, the alcoholic who read the book later gonna get more fact about alcohol and start to change their life like you did.

Anyway you can sometime check out my blog for Motivational need! It would be so glad if you do so.

Thanks friend @jfitmisc 😇

Thanks for stopping by. I see you thoroughly read all parts of my post and commented on them, we need more of that on Steemit! Yes, my personal life has been busy but I plan on posting 3x a week for now on! I will definitely check out your blog :)

I think this is one of your better posts. The pace is smooth and the content is more complex. As for the subject matter, you will remember that I wrote a similar piece a few weeks earlier. The main difference being that disciplined moderation can be as rewarding (albeit riskier) without being as sacrificing.

In any case, I think the book is actually worth checking out! I look forward to reading it soon. Good job!

Thanks for the feedback! I try to constantly improve. I like having more complex for more sophisticated readers ;)

Everyone can make excuses and rationalize while it's okay to drink, but that's part of the problem. After you read the book you realize that it is heavily taking away from your life.

Yeah check it out, thanks!

Followed and upvoted! Thanks for the tips!

I know that to overcome from the drinking is not a easy way because we do not have made our mindset for this ..
Untill our mindset is not prepare to overcome from any habit whether good or bad we cannot do anything about that...
So i suggest that one should first prepare mentally before making any commitment to overcome from any process of life like drinking because when you mentally prepare then you can anything you like..
Thanks for sharing such posts..

Yes you have to not only mentally prepare, but really understand the true nature of something before you give it up. This is what my post is about. Thanks for stopping by!

Thanks for making me understand...@jfitmisc

Motivation is temporary. It needs fuel to keep burning. Knowledge is the fuel.

In order to keep going, you need to constantly saturate yourself with the information related to the adverse effects of alcohol consumption.

Learn physiology and anatomy. You need to know what changes are taking place in your body every time you allow the poison to penetrate your body.

Great way of putting it. Knowledge is key over temporary motivation. I will continue to study physiology and anatomy. Yes, the poison causes many unwanted changes.

I don't how his books work but they do. My friends quit smoking after reading his book on smoking. I quit drinking years ago and think it was agreat decision to quit. Good for the bank, good for health. I dont feel the ssocial compulsion to binge anymore and have said goodbye to the annoying hangovers. Every weekend is longer now and i getbso much done.

Thanks for sharing that it's helped your friend. Kudos to you for doing it on your own! Yes, it's great for the wallet. My health has never been better. Yes, productive weekends are the best! Thanks for stopping by.

congrats. I read the original smoking version. Its a great way to cultivate will power

You did? I'm great you have excellent will power now. Thanks for stopping by!

Hello, I congratulate you for the topic you have published, one of the most important to help many people addicted to alcohol, always only criticism or related issues, but not how to control and live better. help my environment a thousand thanks for your support. Greetings.

English please!

Hello, I congratulate you for the topic you have published, one of the most important to help many people addicted to alcohol, always only criticism or related issues, but not how to control and live better. help my environment a thousand thanks for your support. Greetings.

You got a 3.88% upvote from @upme thanks to @jfitmisc! Send at least 3 SBD or 3 STEEM to get upvote for next round. Delegate STEEM POWER and start earning 100% daily payouts ( no commission ).

You got a 2.06% upvote from @postpromoter courtesy of @jfitmisc!

Want to promote your posts too? Check out the Steem Bot Tracker website for more info. If you would like to support the development of @postpromoter and the bot tracker please vote for @yabapmatt for witness!