2 Benefits of Massage You'll Want To Know

in #health6 years ago

I've been really busy this week studying for my anatomy, physiology, pathology and massage exam on Tuesday and it's safe to say I'm cramming! I'd definitely underestimated the level of anatomy knowledge required for this and I've learnt my lesson. Don't get me wrong, it's absolutely fascinating, but it's tough remembering all the muscles in the human body. Gastrocnemius, latissimus dorsi, temporalis anyone?

For many, a massage is a treat and of course, that's usually down to the price. However, I've always been interested by the benefits of massage therapy and the way it can affect not only your physical body but your emotional state of mind as well. I always leave a massage treatment feeling serene, peaceful and strangely emotionally energised (provided I've had a decent therapist obviously!) and I really wanted to provide that reaction for others. During my diploma, I've discovered some incredible benefits of this treatment that may not be as well known and I wanted to share these with you. Our bodies are temples and we really need to treat them so! 

 

Image via Pinterest

Other than being incredibly relaxing, helping ease sore muslces and aiding circulation, massage also does the following:

Helps boost immunity through the lymphatic system

Your lymphatic system is an absolute wonder and I don't think we give it enough attention personally. Not only does it add white blood cells to your circulation but it also absorbs fats from your small intestine and filters harmful organisms from your blood. Now unlike the circulatory system and the heart, the lymphatic system doesn't have a natural pump to push this flow around your body. That's where massage comes in - it stimulates and increases the flow of your lymph fluid into your system. Hurray - you'll be waving goodbye to that yearly cold in no time. 

Encourages your Parasympathetic Nervous System to engage

You know that feeling when your heart beats faster and your palms get sweaty - well, this is your body preparing itself for a stressful or physical situation. Your 'flight or fight' mode, otherwise known as your Sympathetic Nervous System. Well, your Parasympathetic does the opposite and has a relaxing effect on the body - your 'rest and digest' mode. Your digestive and urinary systems jump start into action too. This is what we want more of - balance. We don't want to be in a constant state of 'flight or fight' because of a perceived threat, which in most cases nowadays is more commonly known as 'stress'. Stress can do one.

Image via Pinterest

Now go and book yourself a massage, you deserve it and your body will thank you! 

Jo

Sort:  

Massages are great for everyone, from babies to adults. We all need them from time to time. Hope everything goes well with your exam!

Definitely! Thanks so much @jessicapixie, hopefully it'll all go well eek.

Beautifully written and well explained! I had no idea. Gastrocnemius, latissimus dorsi, temporalis... beyond me, babe. Hoping to get a massage tomorrow ;-)

Ha I'll need you to test me on the muscles so you'll know all about them in no time! Massages at your service x

Haha will do @joham