Money Can Buy Happiness: Buy Time and Be Happier

in #health7 years ago (edited)

Most of us have heard that "money can't buy happiness", but is this always the case? Whether we can buy and bring more happiness into our life seems to be dependent upon what we are buying, according to new research. Apparently, what we need to be buying is time.

buytime.jpg

In our modern world with our higher standards of living, one might expect well-being to be at its highest, but that isn't the case. Richer nations tend to have more people that are stressed. Simply having money doesn't usually make someone happier, but could even do the opposite. There is a lot of time stress with everything to do in a day, especially for those who allocate more time to their jobs.

Time stress affects everyone regardless of income and is linked to lower well-being, reduced happiness, increased anxiety and insomnia. It's also a factor for obesity due to lacking the time to eat healthy our exercise regularly. The "time famine" has serious effects if we don't pay attention to where we are or aren't spending time.

Research has previously shown that having money to buy into pleasant experiences is beneficial to a state of well-being, and now this new research shows you can buy yourself out of unpleasant experiences, such as chores. Instead of you cleaning the house, cooking a meal, or doing other housework such as mowing the lawn, hire someone to do it for you and cut yourself a slice of time. Rising incomes and wealth offer the opportunity for more free time and happiness, by outsourcing our tasks to others.

Surveys were completed by 6,271 people in United States, Canada, Denmark and the Netherlands. Participants answered questions about spending money to buy themselves free time and how much each month, and all said having less time pressure gave them a better mood, more happiness or satisfaction with their life.

Another part of the research was study of 60 people in Vancouver, BC, Canada who were asked to spend $40 to save themselves time one week, and $40 on a material purchase the next week. People had more happiness when buying time into their lives, than buying something else. Buying something averaged 3.7/5 in a happiness scale, while buying time scored an average of 4/5, a small but statistically significant difference.

Increased well-being from spending money to get more time seems to be personality dependent. Other research shows that some people get happier buying certain things. Some people don't value spending money to save time. One survey that sampled over 800 millionaires reported almost 50% of them didn't spend money outsourcing time-consuming tasks or tasks they didn't like. Maybe they get richer for a reason, and don't value happiness as much?

The new research does show that whatever level of income, there is a link between *buying time and overall life satisfaction or happiness levels. But even though many people have extra money to do it, few are actually spending their extra cash on time-saving happiness-induction.

I addition to the old adage of "money can't buy happiness" being wrong, "time is money" is also wrong. Previous studies have shown that people are less likely to volunteer when they accept that time is money. If time really was equivalent to getting money, then we wouldn't want to spend money to get more free time. And maybe we would be getting paid to exist? Just a silly thought. But maybe that's why some of the rich (like those 800 millionaires) don't spend money on time saving, because they view time as money and don't want to lose money even if it buys them happiness. Interesting, don't you think?

What about you, have you spent money on time to free up your life and give you more well-being?
Can you think of something you do (and maybe you don't like it) that you can pay someone else to do and make your life a bit easier, and happier?


References:
http://www.telegraph.co.uk/science/2017/07/24/money-really-can-buy-happiness-say-scientists/
http://www.independent.co.uk/news/science/money-buy-happiness-cleaner-cook-gardener-time-stress-a7857731.html
http://www.nbcnews.com/business/consumer/yes-you-can-buy-happiness-if-you-spend-it-save-n786246
https://www.sciencealert.com/study-shows-money-really-can-buy-you-happiness-if-you-buy-free-time
http://www.pnas.org/content/early/2017/07/18/1706541114.full


Thank you for your time and attention. Peace.


If you appreciate and value the content, please consider:
Upvoting ,    Sharing or   Reblogging below.

Follow me for more content to come!

Sort:  

That makes a lot of sense and I'm sure it's true for a huge deal of the people. All of us have things that we have to do that we don't enjoy and now after you have pointed it out, it feels so obvious - of course that if you buy yourself out of unpleasant stuff, you'll be happier. Honestly, it's something that had never occurred to me. I realized that buying yourself pleasant experiences was highly beneficial but I didn't realize the opposite was something you could also do with money.

But time stress is not always bad, at least not in the right context. There are some of us that thrive under time stress. I personally enjoy being busy and when I think having a fully stacked to-do list, I think I feel motivated and it makes me feel like what I'm doing matters and that I'm not wasting time. But it's really about having challenges that you actually enjoy that is the difference and while everything on my to-do list can be defined as work, it by no means feels like a chore (for the main part at least).

Again, great post with a lot of food for thought!

Good points. The opposite can happen for some, where the large to-do list is overwhelming and they don't do any of it lol. Thanks for the feedback.

I think that's actually closer to the norm and it really depends on what you have on your to-do list and how you feel about it. I've been overwhelmed by stuff myself on numerous occasions. But I do need to feel some burn to feel happy/valuable/satisfied.

It makes sense that if you outsource borings mundane tasks, you can have more time to focus on self improvement, creativity or earn more money on your work.
I have also read that there perfect salary for happiness i $75000. Above that, more money does not equal more happiness.

Interesting, thanks for the extra info!

Money give us first of all more freedom, we are free from hard work, we are free from thinking what to buy, where to earn and so on. Second money help us to do that we really like, and not what we need to do. And of course time, we can spend more time with our family and make more memories together .

yup, all good benefits from money that bring more potential happiness. Thanks for the feedback.

Money can buy happiness. I completely agree. Happiness is a result of a happening or event(S). When the happening is complete we are in need of another happening to keep us in a happy mood. Happiness is also external as it happens from outside us. In contrast Joy comes from within ourselves rather than outside of us. It is not connected to a happening and money cannot buy it. It is also longer lasting and self -controlled. Sometimes the two are confused. This was a good read and thanks for sharing. - Troy

Good distinction. Thanks for the feedback :)

That's a meaningful distinction indeed, but I personally would use the two terms the other way around. To my understanding, happiness would be the internal one and joy would be the enjoyment caused by particular events.

you have a point, well words and meanings tend to get jumbled up and we like to "invent" new meanings. I do agree with your statement on the semantics at least.

Well my whole point here was basically semantics, so I'm happy you agree on that :)

thanks for pointing that out, I would say tat people need to read into what drives them, the happiness you have outlined here is just serotonin, while the joy would probably go along the lines of being a human that has realized his self-worth and is happy to share that with others.

I'm pretty happy doing mundane work most of the time TBH, it gives me an opportunity to do mindfulness techniques. Also some tasks, like cooking, are very enjoyable to me. I'm very grateful for labour saving devices like washing machines and dishwashers though. And there are certain tasks I hate doing that I am happy to pay for...like going through a car wash rather than washing my own car, which I really don't enjoy doing. Also, a lot of times I feel weird about paying someone else to do something unpleasant...what if they hate what they are doing? How does that affect their happiness? Maybe they enjoy their jobs though, but they are not likely to tell you!

Yeah, I'm not bothered too much, and yes the mind is from from doing other thinking tasks and can think or be inspired with new thoughts and creativity. I do my own dishes, it's not so bad. I find washing machines waste a lot of water.

If someone else does something they don't like like you don't like it, but they are getting paid, that's their choice to it for money, while you would not be getting money to do it lol. Thanks for the feedback.

While I've enjoyed your post very much, I'm not quite comfortable with you talking like this about washing machines!!! My washing machine works very hard and saves me a lot of time so I don't ask how much water it uses.
Otherwise, I do believe in spending money to get free time. A few years ago I had a cleaning lady and she did a wonderful job, but then I decided I don't really need her and can save the money for other stuff, generally enjoyable stuff.

In* you can change it next to the "time is not money" image

in short, I have cut off work from my time, so I can have my time free, I can learn and advance how I wish I just have to keep away from buying stuff :D I tend to like freedom and sadly free stuff, which gets me lot's of wasted time, since internet :)

I've tried to be a pro-gamer :D that wasn't worth it in the end for me, I'd like to see less humans being addicted to crappy games like we have 90% of nowadays, more participation and social activities, which we have forgotten we had 50 years ago, who plays tag, who has a frisbee.. The notion of community and interdependence, respect and such have mostly been lost to global "imperialism", that we just can't seem to get enough of.

So after my years as a a-social game addict and wishful thinker, I went towards being a freelancer, which is where I originated from before I strayed off to try and buy a building for myself, anyways I did realise the cost and what it took away from me, so I haven't been an entirely focused or professional freelancer, but I do what I want and I tend to take care of my chores, have other things in my "scope" rather than money, like being healthy keeping up with the information age and being consistent in what I do.

So what are you doing now? Playing tag :P hehe, j/k

poker :D we grow up so fast :D tag would be fun if there was game for it, I guess what I'm trying to say is keep the spirit alive, whatever floats your boat and don't forget where you sett off from.

at least that's how it sounds in romanticised form

Great post! I've been pondering this general vein of thought a lot lately, as well as Warren Buffets advice to find a way to make money while you sleep...

Super appreciate the awesome resource list included!

You're welcome. Wealth affords us the opportunity to have more time by paying more people for things we don't do :)

This is exactly where I am currently in life. For example: I turned down a full time job for a part time job - to have more time to enjoy life.
In the West, people use the slogan time is money but I don't believe that really.

Part time over full time, good for you :) Time to do what we really want vs. make money indeed.

Money does not bring happiness, but calms the nerves!
And as you report in the text, time is money, we all have 24 hours, some can produce so much and others, in the same period, practically nothing. That makes the difference!

When we're young, we want to grow up fast...when we're in school,we want to finish faster...New we want fast money, fast car, fast love and ignore beautiful life things. Time=1 life please spend smart !!!!

Yup, spend it smart.

This is gold! You can have all the money in the world and be miserable just like you can have nothing and be completely content with your life. Happiness comes from within;)

@krnel I think your post highlights our society's confusion as to what constitutes "happiness". Some people gain satisfaction at the completion of something unpleasant or difficult while other people merely want to avoid it "at all cost".

And I'd be willing to bet that the people surveyed who get "happier buying certain things" might not answer the same way a few weeks later after the luster has worn off the gold.

Yeah, absence of stress where we have free time has come to equate to happiness. It's a sad measure :\

At some point, "freedom" turned into "freedom from" and it's been downhill ever since.

There is the concept of "time affluence" in contrast to "time poverty", describing the amount of time people have. This can also be a psychological concept: people who are "overscheduled" can actually feel like they have more free time than those who actually have less on their schedule (something to research and consider).

Also I think the book "Your Money or Your Life" or other books make the point of being deliberate with things you purchase, like if you make $10 for an hour of work and buy something for $10, whatever you bought cost you one hour of work, and when people think of life through this lens they can make certain decisions to "buy more time" to be happier.

You are right! Money can buy happiness! It can buy 99 percent of the things But one thing it cannot buy is honesty.

Hehe, yeah, it can buy a lot but not everything.

when money is separated from values, money can't buy values. That is up to the individual to hold and respect, rather than trade away for cash.

You need money to be really happy, otherwise you will be looking for money all the time, - to pay for your expenses!

You need money for sure, but how much is enough?

Never make money a high priority. You are the highest priority. Use your mind to control your time & your time to control your money.

very much true

@krnel : Yes money can buy happiness.
But it is only temporary, even for the sake of money a lot of lives float for robbing, even killing.
Wisely, it is not for money, but those who have no clear mind, meaning there is no science. People who do not have knowledge are the same as animals, even better than them (animals)

Yeah it's temporary, some hours in a day, or a day in a week. Pay-to-play lol.

Life is based on money

Yes, life energy is exchanged for money. Too bad the bankers are devaluating your saved money by printing more.

true that, so print your own, using bitshares and a one time fee :D in all honesty, who gave banks the greenlight to print money, it seems like they are fine doing whatever since it doesn't cost them a dime. What integrity could you expect from such people or the governments that think money solves problems.

We can choose to be happy doing anything but buying time will definitely give you more choices and that can spice things up!

I completely disagree with this premise... money doesn't buy anything but the freedom of the mind.

World governments are pouring billions in AI weaponry as I type this and with our taxes... eventually we'll have a bad surprise

indeed , its really a good post thanks for share

Well I think real happiness is followed buy real experiences. Instead of spending money on materialistic things, I would say buy some experiences that will make you much more happier.

Yeah that too ;)

I do agree with @krnel

Hi.. @Steemians @steemit @steemboard @good-karma

But to understand the sentences of
MONEY CAN NOT BUY THE HAPPINESS it's dosen't mean from stop earning money.. Hihihi

The word of HAPPY is very big difference with MONEY

where the happy is placed in your Heard and that only youself can feel it. Such as FEELING GOOD, DOING GOOD, NO STRESSED, NO BORED, NO CRYING AND NO SADNESS

**MONEY IS NOT ** like that..

So when we compare about of them.. Even you have # MUCH MONEY YOU CAN NOT BUY THE GOODNESS AND HAPPINESS

it totally like you can not BUY YOU LIFE BACK, HOWEVER YOU ARE THE RICHES MAN IN THE WORD

So.. Where is the power of human kind... 😊