Niacin: I Test the Miracle Supplement with Freaky Side Effects! 🤯

in #health6 years ago (edited)

I‘m sure some of you have noticed niacin as an added ingredient on the back of a food packet and not thought much about what it actually is.

78E6CA08-2013-46F4-9FDF-254117201388.jpeg

It is added to lot of foods such as cereals, pasta and bread and is an essential component of a healthy diet.

Niacin, or nicotinic acid, is naturally found most prominently in meat products (organ meats- liver, heart, kidneys, beef, fish and chicken, as well as eggs and milk. It is also found in some vegetables and nuts, and most people easily get the recommended daily amount through a normal diet.

2F31FB2D-CEEF-478F-A7AF-CD33C37FCD5A.jpeg www.curehows.com

So what is it?

Niacin is actually vitamin B3, one of 8 essential B vitamins. Deficiency in it can cause numerous health issues such as, fatigue, indigestion, vomiting, circulatory problems and depression. A severe lack of vitamin B3 can cause pellagra, a disease which causes skin problems, dementia and insomnia and can be fatal. Excessive alcohol consumption is said to be the main reason for a lack of vitamin B3. It has also been reported in patients with anorexia nervosa or those undergoing bariatric surgeries such as gastric bands.

402B1E96-E38C-45BF-B335-3ABC2505EA0B.pngwww.poultrydvm.com

So what‘s the big deal?

In recent years, studies have shown that taking niacin in high doses can prevent and even cure a multitude of illnesses and disorders, with increasing numbers of patients turning away from pharmaceutical drugs and opting for high doses of vitamin therapies.

It is most often cited as a cure for high cholesterol, the internet is full of testimonials of patients who have ditched harmful statins in favour of this natural remedy.

Studies have argued that one of the most effective and least expensive ways to lower blood lipids (cholesterol and triglycerides) is to take 1,000 to 3,000 mg of niacin a day.

Some studies showed that patients using 1,000 mg the first day, 2,000 mg the second day, and 3,000 mg each day from then on displayed as much as a 25 percent reduction in cholesterol levels, and a 50 percent reduction in triglycerides.

28E27D56-5E7D-4C7F-8B0B-BFB66FEA80A7.jpeg www.therenegadepharmacist.com

In addition, it is widely believed to be effective in actually reversing heart disease with patients on niacin treatment experiencing less illness and lower death rates after five years when contrasted to those not supplementing niacin.

Even more astoundingly, another study showed that niacin treatment actually reversed signs of heart disease in patients who had genetically related cholesterol issues.

Medicinal use of niacin has also seen incredible results in treating
senility and memory Loss. Dr. Abram Hoffer, famous for his use of niacin in the treatment of schizophrenia and depression, reported that 1,000 mg of niacin taken 3 times a day can effectively improve memory, and correct some of the issues associated with senility.

In one experiment using 10 people suffering from senility, five recovered fully, two saw marked improvement, and three had no discernible improvement.

The list of afflictions that can be treated with niacin is seemingly never ending and include:

-Diabetes
-Insomnia
-Sensitivity to the sun
-Motion sickness
-Acne
-Blood pressure
-Circulation
-Migraine
-Skin disorders
-Alzheimers
-Depression
-Problems with weight loss
-Anti-ageing remedy

Although the research is still ongoing, and there are many skeptics refuting studies into the miraculous curative qualities of niacin, one only has to take a look at message boards online to see that thousands of real people, disillusioned with the expensive drugs they are prescribed that have no effect are seeing real results from taking large doses of niacin.

If you'd like to see some evidence of the effectiveness of niacin for depression sufferers, take a look at www.drugs.com/comments/niacin/for-depression.html to see a myriad of testimonials from niacin advocates who say that this supplement has done more for their depression/ anxiety/ panic attacks/ bipolar than any SSRI medication they have been prescribed.

BB739D63-0791-4D06-9E7E-DAB5121C4AA7.jpeg

Even more incredible than it's seeming ability to cure medical and psychological conditions though, is the ongoing research arguing it's effectiveness in curing alcohol and drug dependency.

Some users of the supplement vouch for its ability to detoxify and flush your system of alcohol and narcotics prior to a drug or alcohol test but I can't verify these claims, nor would I encourage this practice!

So what's bad about it?

If you do any search for niacin online you will no doubt come across loads of reviewers freaking out about the acute side effects that occur after taking the supplement. This is most often referred to as a niacin 'flush', a physical reaction that takes place soon after ingestion.

A lot of people panic if they are not aware of this phenomena, as the side effects resemble an allergic reaction. Fortunately, I had read about flushing prior to taking Niacin for the first time so I knew what to expect, but I was still quite surprised by the intensity of it. I had read that you may experience reddening of the skin similar to a rash, and that this may include a burning or itching sensation. In some extreme cases users find that they have difficulty breathing, but I would hazard a guess that this is a result of overdosing.

With all this in mind, I decided to do half a tablet, guessing that a whole 500mg capsule may be too much for a first timer. I'm glad that I did!

39E447E7-C31C-4CC7-8E8B-D2E1C564C09D.jpeg

I had read that it is best to take it after eating so that the flush comes on gradually, so I did that and waited, not knowing quite what to expect.

At first I noticed that my palms were quite itchy, this then slowly spread to my arms and legs and when I looked in the mirror I saw that my face and neck were blotchy, I looked like I had sunburn!

78E6CA08-2013-46F4-9FDF-254117201388.jpeg

I also noticed that my ears felt strange, almost blocked. I waited it out and the symptoms got a little more intense, my skin feeling very hot.

A35E5A53-BF1B-4D0E-B536-B2A643698C84.jpeg

The side effects dissipated soon enough, and afterwards I noticed that my skin looked really bright and revitalised. I also felt very clear headed and in a positive mood but at this stage it was hard to tell if this was merely psychosomatic.

So what is the flush!?

The flush occurs as a result of the nicotinic acid causing small blood vessels in your skin to dilate so that more blood can rush through.

Although completely harmless, it can be very alarming for those not expecting it, and if you want to lessen the intensity of these side effects it is said that taking an aspirin about 30 minutes before taking the supplement can be beneficial, although habitually taking medication is not to be advised if avoidable.

Your body will get used to the dosage you are taking at some point, so the flush will gradually become less and less apparent.

I have not taken it for long enough to fully rid myself of the uncomfortable side effects, to be honest I haven't yet gotten to a point where I take it daily, as it is difficult to fit it around a work schedule- I don't want to be flushed bright red in public! Some people take the supplement at night so that they can sleep through the flush which may be a good way around this, though at this point I find it a little hard to think I could sleep through the itching!

Non-flush Niacin

Some people avoid the pesky side effects by opting for non-flush Niacin, these products generally contain no nicotinic acid and therefore do not cause flushing. However, although they promote energy metabolism and nervous system health, they have not been proven effective in lowering cholesterol levels.

There is also such thing as 'extended-release' niacin. Instead of delivering a big boost of niacin, these generate a lower, steady dose of the vitamin for hours. Although this avoids flushing, it keeps blood levels of niacin high throughout the day therefore the liver never gets a break from processing niacin, which
can lead to cases of severe liver damage.

So what's my verdict?

Of course when researching any alternative therapies there will be countless articles disproving it's effectiveness, but I have to say that the studies I have found are very encouraging. It seems evident that niacin is a vital vitamin for maintaining cardiovascular health and metabolism- especially the balancing of blood cholesterol levels. In addition niacin is widely thought to improve brain function, promote healthy skin formation and even be effective in preventing or treating diabetes.

I haven't taken it for long enough to state resolutely that it is a 'miracle supplement', but I have noticed an improvement to my skin and mood after taking it and on two occasions, taking 250mg actually cure my headache!

For anyone wanting to try it out, I would advise starting on a low dose to avoid a scary flush moment, but don't let the side effects put you off, there may be much to be gained if you are brave enough 😊

Sort:  

Good website it's help for health .
Thanks for sharing

Namaste

Thanks so much! It’s a fascinating and exciting supplement, more people should know about it 😊

wow this was great , this post just helped me understand everything on a step by step basis good on you.You got yourself a new follower.

Awesome! Thanks so much, glad you found it interesting 😊

Great post Lisa... I read about this a while ago. Living in LA, we are always inundated with so much that it's sometimes hard to decipher what is real and what isn't.

I’m sure! As far as I can tell this is legit and not harmful.. but I don’t take it every day

I think I will incorporate it for a test period, taking at night. But like you said, hopefully it doesn't stop me from losing sleep!

I had the worst reaction to niacin once it was so freaking terrible lol.. it’s in a lot of the pre workouts and energy drinks that I take . Ughhh I hate it because of this one terrible experience I had

Oh no! It must be very scary to have the reaction and not be expecting it! 😫

omg it was terrible lol i thought i was dying haha .. its funny looking back at it but it was pretty scary in the moment

never knew about this! Thank you for the informational post!

Thanks so much, glad you enjoyed it! Yeah, it’s strange that not many people know about this, I stumbled upon it by chance but have never heard anyone talk about it!

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by Lolzwithlisa from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, theprophet0, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews/crimsonclad, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows and creating a social network. Please find us in the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP. Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.