Perks of Being Chronically ill

in #health7 years ago

Let me get this straight, being chronically ill is freaking terrible, but the truth is, it has taught me many things. Let's take a look at some of the benefits I have experienced from dealing with chronic Lyme Disease the past 18 years, more specifically the healing process I've gone through the last 2 years.

Becoming a Jedi

When I say Jedi, I don't mean someone out there fighting @lordvader with a lightsaber (I do have a lightsaber though lol). What I mean is I became a truth seeker. I became open to any and all ideas. Being chronically ill forced me to look to alternative medicines/methods of healing. I currently take about 8 different medicines daily (all homeopathic), and although the process is painful, they work magic.




Not only did I learn about medicine and nutrition, I also learned about the current state of the world. With the internet and more time than anyone I know at my fingertips, I was able to research/study anything I wanted to.

Strengthening my Character


The amount of suffering I went through (and still do) is/was immense, and I wouldn't wish it on anyone. It's been so painful that I began considering suicide, not because I was depressed, but because I didn't think I could take the physical pain anymore. Fighting through it has given me a new definition of uncomfortable and that resilience will serve me when I need to get through "hard" things later in life. Through pain we gain strength, but only if we don't give into hate.

Reconnecting to my Spirit


There were times when I wanted to put those around me down just because I felt so down. After finally accepting my condition, I was able to reconnect with my spirit. Getting angry or denying my condition wasn't going to heal me, but I wanted some justification. I just had to reevaluate who I was and step back into the shoes of my true, loving self. So many people are too busy living with outside influences around them that they don't get the opportunity to do this.

Learning Real Patience


Most people never have to deal with any form of long-term illness, especially not something like this. When it comes to healing Lyme Disease, there is no one size fits all approach and different therapies work better for different people. In my case, it's taken me about a year and a half just to begin feeling somewhat human again, and I'm sure that I have a few more months to go at least.

Letting go of other's opinions


There came a point when I had to just listen to my inner self. When everyone around me tried telling me what they thought would get me better, I had to allow them to say what they wanted to say in spite of their ignorance. They weren't in my shoes, yet they tried telling me I was making myself sick or that I just needed to take their magic pill or go to their magic doctor. I knew they meant well, but people tend to say careless things when they can't admit they are unable to help, even though they want to.

Being sick isn't fun, but it can make you a better, stronger person.

With Love,
Marco

vemma speaking.jpg
Me Preaching

Image Sources:
Pinterest
Emerging Proud
Modified Mamas

Sort:  

I can think of a perk ... Prescription WEED ! :)

Yeah too bad we don't have that here in Georgia but hopefully that will change soon.