Dealing with Tendinitis and Carpal Tunnel Syndrome (CTS)

in #health6 years ago (edited)

Are your hands hurting from typing too much? CTS and/or Tendinitis is probably the most dreaded sufferings for people that work a lot with computers, like me. If left alone it can even become chronic, and you really don't want that.

I've had CTS in both hands and arms for years, and I think I've finally have figured out a way to make it a lot better (if not completely gone), that I really want to share.

hands.jpg

First of all, don't expect a quick-fix. It requires persistent and focused effort over time, but that doesn't mean that it's impossible. My reason for writing this is the hope that others can learn from my mistakes, and have an easier time dealing with it than I've had.


Step 1: Stretch your hands and arms daily

I came across the following video years ago, and it was groundbreaking for me at the time. I started doing these stretching exercises every day, and my hands very quickly got a lot better.

But this alone will not fix it...

Stretching is all well and good, but it doesn't help much if you don't exercise those muscles in addition.

Step 2: Exercise your hands and arms regularly

If you don't exercise regularly (like me until recently) it is a good time as any to start. Start out easy and try to focus at least some of the exercise on your hands/arms. In the long term you'd ideally develop a balanced training program that works for you.

Here's a couple of exercises that I have particularly good experience with:

  • Push-Ups and
  • The yoga pose "table" (do a search online if you're uncertain what it looks like)

Now, before you go ahead and start doing these, be aware of the following:

And this is one is super important, folks!

  • Whenever you put weight on your hands (always, not only in these exercises), the weight should always go straight down through your index finger knuckle. Your index finger knuckle should be so tightly pressed to the floor/mat that you can't even get a sheet of paper under there. NEVER let it rise up! If you do, you risk further injury. (source: A yogi with 10+ years experience)
  • Activate your hands and fingers. Spread them out! Take your time when placing your hands on the floor, and make sure to activate and spread your fingers as far apart as you can.

Step 3: Motivation - Actually go through with it

This has always been my biggest problem. Staying consistent and motivated in my exercise routine has been my weakness for a very long time. Recently, however, fellow steemian @steemmatt started something that he called The Steemit Daily 100+ Rep Fitness Challenge, a great community project that has helped me a lot with my motivation. The way it works is that each contestant post a daily exercise summary in the daily post (today's post), and receive motivating comments and upvotes from the other participants. He even keeps track of all your results and includes them in the daily post, along with a (custom) positive comment about your progress.

Step 4: Repeat! Don't quit when you're feeling better

The biggest pitfall of them all, and I know it all too well. Don't quit when you're ahead, just keep going!


I'm proud to say that I've been exercising regularly since (almost) the beginning of this year, and that it has made my hands and arms significantly better. They do still hurt a bit, but it's only been 10-12 days after all. I'm absolutely certain that I will be rid of this completely at some point.


Disclaimer: I'm not a health professional and this is based solely on my own experiences. I honestly believe this information can be useful for many, but if you have serious issues with your hands and arms you'd probably seek help from a professional before taking any action.

Sort:  

Thank you for this info!! In the last few months my fingers, & hands have gotten worse.. I have not gone to the doctor regarding it yet.. but I’m getting to that point.. my ( both ) hands go numb & fall asleep , it was more at night, but now it randomly happens during the day😐 I am an avid crocheter.. I don’t want to be told I need to stop!! I’m gonna try some of ur recommendations! Thanks for sharing!!

You're welcome! I hope you get better soon. Nobody (even our body) shouldn't be able to stop us from doing our passions, and I firmly believe that proper exercise is the key. Thanks for stopping by!

Thank you so much for this post! I'll re-steam it so I'll be sure to find it back. I experience these problems almost every day and I know I should exercise (stretch) more. But do I - on a daily basis? I have to admit no. Not because I don't wont to stay healthy, not because the time doesn't allow me (even in a busy work day it's possible to find a time window). No, simply because I'm not persistent enough (and probably also a bit lazy). That's my conclusion. Therefore, and in particular, I notice your advice not to quit when you're ahead.

You're very welcome! Yes, step 4 is absolutely the most difficult one, and you're not alone.

I think one key can be to try to search (within yourself) for one or more good intentions that makes sense to you, and to somehow "connect" those with the logically necessary action, which is to exercise. If you while doing this, also physically move random (or specific) parts of your body at an extremely slow tempo (as slow as you possibly can) preferably in rotational and/or diagonal patterns, it is my experience that the process goes a lot easier. (I will do a whole article explaining this concept in detail, at some point).

I believe that if there are no good intentions(/reasons/goals/etc..) behind a desired action, it probably won't happen a lot, at least not consistently.

That's a really inspiring to know that you are getting benefits from such exercise .Other with CTS can follow you and may find similar result.

You had this problem for doing works you mentioned or any other causes particularly hypothyroidism ?

I really hope so, indeed, and thank you for your comment. I'm afraid I have no experience/knowledge with hypothyroidism.

I have pretty serious carpal tunnel. I wake up in the night with my hands on fire. I do a lot of crocheting and a lot of typing. I'm planning a carpal tunnel surgery, but because I have Tribal Health Care and those surgeries are contracted out I must live in Oklahoma to qualify for it. But I moved to Oklahoma is in the foreseeable future. Thank you for the tips. I'm going to try it out. If it offers any relief then it's worthwhile.👍

I wish you all the best on your road to recovery. Considering that it's as bad as you describe it, I think it's important to also let your hands and arms rest as much as possible (i.e. don't keep typing!) when you're not doing exercises.

Forcing myself to sit with idle hands, is personally my biggest challenge in all this.

I think I had Idle Hands once. I forget how to do that. lol

Yeah, I really do try to take it easy. I wear braces often and that helps a little.

Hey, have an excellent day!

Congratulations @mightpossibly! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Thanks for posting this. I have the same issues from working with computers and editing a lot of photos with the mouse. Its such a big issue with a lot of modern work places.

You're welcome, and it sure is. I sincerely hope you find a way to get better.