How to Tell Mosquitoes to Bug-Off! Naturally - Easy Tips to Repel Mosquitoes and Bugs

in #health7 years ago

mosquito2.jpg

Summertime is a time of so many great things - trips to the beach, more time spent outdoors, barbeques, picnics, swimming, gardening... and the list goes on.

But as with anything good, there's some bad that comes along with it, namely mosquitoes! If you're like me, mosquitoes buzzing in your ears, making a meal of you, is probably one thing you hate about summer.

But before you go and grab a bottle of Off! bug repellent... consider whether this is the healthiest option for you and your family, and explore some all natural alternatives.

bugrepellent.jpg

The Dangers of Bug Repellents

First off, anything that is made to kill, is not something I want soaking into my pores. I'd about prefer to get bitten by mosquitoes! Secondly, the smell is just awful.

Here are a few reasons not to use bug repellent like Off!:

- They contain DEET (N,N-diethyl-m-toluamide, diethyltoluamide), a solvent you find, rubber, pastic, and paint removers.

- DEET is strong enough to break down some synthetic fibers and plastics.
Studies have revealed that when you apply a bug repellent with DEET, 17% ends up in your bloodstream.

- Studies have also revealed DEET impairs muscle coordination, and when used with permethrin, an anti-mosquito insecticide, there is a negative impact on memory function and learning capabilities.

Natural Ways to Repel Mosquitoes WITHOUT Bug Repellent

Citronella

citronella.JPG

I'm sure you've heard of Citronella candles for keeping away mosquitoes but you can also plant citronella in pots or in your yard wherever you need mosquito protection.

Marigolds

marigold.jpg

I just love the bright orange and yellow blossoms of the marigold. But did you know, marigold repels not only mosquitoes but bugs in general? Plant marigolds in outdoor seating areas or places where you and your family frequent in the yard.

Lavender

lavender.jpg

Lavender not only smells wonderful but it wards off mosquitoes. The next time you buy body lotion, consider opting for one that contains lavender. Just rub some on before sitting outside where the mosquitoes lurk in wait. Alternately, you can make a lavender diffuser. Simply put some lavendar essential oil in a small apothecary jar and place a few bamboo diffuser sticks inside.

Rosemary

rosemary.jpg

Another one of my favorite scents, rosemary, will send the mosquitoes packing! If you have an outdoor fire pit or you are having a bonfire, add some fresh rosemary to it. You can also try diluting some rosemary essential oil and placing it on on your wrists and behind your knees, like you would perfume. You'll smell great and prevent those itchy red bumps at the same time.

Lemon Balm

lemonbalm.jpg

A variety of mint, lemon balm, planted strategically in your outdoor living spaces, can make a big difference in the number of mosquitoes hovering around you this summer. And as an added bonus, it's edible =) Just snip off a few sprigs for a salad or garnish.

Catnip

catnip.jpg!

Catnip has gained quite the reputation with cats but it's a shame more people don't associate it with its anti-mosquito properties. In fact, catnip is a major deterrent of mosquitoes, found to be 10 times more effective than DEET.

Neem Oil

neemoil.jpg

Another natural way to repel mosquitoes and other pesky bugs is neem oil. Thankfully, it is such a popular product, you can even buy it at Walmart.

Apple Cider Vinegar

acv.jpg

In a pinch, this all natural mosquito repellent works like a charm. Just grab the apple cider vinegar from your pantry and place in a spritz bottle. Dilute with water so it does not irritate your skin, and spritz your legs and arms with the solution before going outside.

Basil

basilplantbynataliejohnson.jpg

I've talked about my love of basil in other posts, and it's no secret - I love basil!

Check out my posts on basil here: Inspiration for Starting a Basil Garden and Basil Growing Tips, My Fresh Basil Pesto Recipe, Inspiration for Starting a Basil Garden and Basil Growing Tips ~ Part 2, & Inspiration for Starting a Basil Garden ~ Cool Ways to Eat and Use Basil ~ Part 3

Besides the smell and taste of basil, another reason I love it is because it keeps mosquitoes away.

Who knew... this wonderful fragrance basil gives off that we love, the mosquitoes HATE. Keep in mind, too, there are so many varieties of basil to choose from that you can plant, from classic greens to eye-catching purple opals.

. . . . . . . . . . .

And that's all the tips I have for having a mosquito-free summer, friends... hope you find them helpful in replacing toxic products like Off!

As always, thanks for your support, comments, and upvotes Steemians!

. . . . . . . . . . .

The info sources used for this article are as follows: Life.ca, and naturallivingideas
Photos: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10

Sort:  

I should make a ghillie suit with all the plants you listed.

That is so cute.... I've actually done that with my kitty :)

Thanks for the tips nataliejohnson. We have many rivers, creeks and lakes here in northeastern Oklahoma and mosquitoes are a big issue. I was never comfortable using chemicals on my body.

I can relate to that... Where I used to live in Arkansas we had a major problem with mosquitoes too! And I haven't used bug spray since I was doused with it by my parents when I was a kid. I personally use vinegar.

Then you know how pretty it is there. Lots of beautiful country in Arkansas. I also opt for the vinegar.

Yes, my favorite area is northwest Arkansas near Fayetteville

I have been all over the western side of Arkansas. I'm just northeast of Tulsa so it's not far. I like the diamond mine in Murfreesboro , crystal mines in Mt Ida and Hot Springs. Fayetteville is only 90 mi straight east of my house. Thanks for your posts, I am on a health food kick and I am only eating garden grown food this summer and it has trimmed me down real good in just two months.

I have always wanted to go to Murfreesboro but never got around to it.

Only eating garden grown food! Oh wow! ! What a huge feat. You deserve an award for that (sincerely). That is something I'd love to do but to be completely honest, I'd need a gardener. I can't take much heat.

I bet just the exercise from garden work has helped u slim down, too. It's very commendable, growing your own food. Keep up the good work, and post more of that on steemit - I'd love to see that. I need gardening tips and inspiration ;)

Well it is not easy eating home grown only. When I drive by Rib Crib and smell BBQ I want it bad. I do let myself splurge about once a week. Honestly the longer you eat out of the garden only ,the less you will want prepackaged prepared food. I just challenge myself so as to get the full benefit of eating healthy. I do feel better eating this way a noticeable amount. Okay to the tips and inspiration .

I can't wait for those plants to grow! Im sorry, i need the bottle...tell my family i love them D:

haha... I know how u feel ;) I can personally speak for vinegar though. You may smell like vinegar but hey.... put some lavender essential oil in with it inside a spray bottle, and dilute with water. That way you'll have 2 things they don't like.

I use eucalyptus and lavender oil. :) Followed. Hope to see you again. @nataliejohnson

We actually don't have bad mosquitoes where I just moved to....(hallelujah!) but if they start up after alot of rain, I'm thinking about just using the vinegar, lavender oil, and water solution. I already have it made up in a spray bottled for my cleaning solution ;)

Followed back @bontonstory =)

If a natural spray works well, it can't be better. Thank you for the information. See you! :) @nataliejohnson

We use lemongrass... actually looks a bit like the citronella. I'm sure they are family. Great post!

I was thinking the same thing, that citronella looks alot like lemongrass. I grew lemongrass once... it was so easy to grow and care for

Thanks for this post @nataliejohnson!
Mosquitoes like me tooooo much..
Amazing looking photos!

Really very informative post @nataliejohnson! Summer will be here soon and your post will surely be very helpful in combatting these mosquitoes! Got a lot here in Mauritius!
Most of the ones you listed I was not aware to be a repellent!
Thank you!
@progressivechef

Glad u liked the post, @progressivechef =)

Brilliant advice there :)

Thanks a bunch ;)

You are welcome :)

Hello please kindly like my post too thanks
https://steemit.com/eos/@romantic4/the-state-of-confidence

@romantic4, please note that your copy/paste commenting is considered comment spam and can be flagged and reported to @steemcleaners.