My Garden - Organic farming

in #health7 years ago (edited)

My father has been gardening for as long as I can remember. Or at least, ordering me to run around and plant everything.
Now that he has gotten a little bit older, it's my turn.

20160805_202846.jpg

Before I forget, I told @cjclaro that I would tag him so he can see my garden!

The first thing I did was create an irrigation system. This allows me to water the garden hands free, and it also prevents mud to be splashed onto all the fruit/vegetables.
Tomato plants for example, should not get wet when being watered. So I thought this would be a reading project.

20160505_083351.jpg

I started by grabbing PVC pipes, measure them to the length of my garden, and cut them. I drilled very small holes on the sides so water would come out.

I also drilled small holes in the bottom so water wouldn't stay in the pipes.

20160505_113627.jpg

Next I got valves, so I could water the garden in different segments. For example, one valve let's me water the tomatoes, one my leafy greens and one my vegetables.

![IMG_20170827_154149.jpg](

Next I basically just planted everything I wanted in the sections I thought would work well, kept the soil moist, and slowly I was rewarded with awesome fruits/veggies.

I planted zucchinis-

IMG_20170901_192713.jpg

Carrots-
IMG_20170827_154034.jpg

Beets, both red and gold-

IMG_20170827_154051.jpg

Tomatoes of course-

IMG_20170827_154021.jpg

And somIMG_20170827_153921.jpg

Some other random things like watermelon and sunflowers.

IMG_20170827_153932.jpg

And some spices likes dill, mint and basil-

IMG_20170901_192917.jpg

IMG_20170901_192850.jpg

Now I get fresh veggies all summer long :) no pesticides, hormones, and the reward of a little hard work!

Let me know if you have any questions about how to start your own garden!

Fresh salad everyday!

20160802_182708.jpg

Until next time!

;)

Sort:  

Thanks for sharing. Can you tell me what you use in your soil and do you compost? I don't have ground space but I could do some box gardening... Cheers to clean healthy foods!

The city composts here, so you fill your bin with your leftover foods and the city collects it. In return you are allowed to load up on compost once per year.

I go to the local green house and grab large bins of soil (you shovel it yourself but in return it's cheaper). That usually works well. The only problem is it's not regulated for weeds! My garden is full of them and it takes a momentous effort to stay weed free.

I also use some tomato food for the tomatoes. Other than that just some water and love!

irrigation system getting developed with you, nice technique.

Love the self watering, I am slowly getting a garden this was first year and love it the fresh taste and the juat knowing i grew that and it has nothing "extra" in it is wonderful.

Thank you!

Yes knowing exactly what is in it, and exactly who has touched it is the best part.

I love the idea of self-watering gardens. Mine will take a little more planning as I have about an acre of gardens, fruit trees, fruit vines, vegetables and other small fruit plants. Watering them now almost takes up to a half day! Nice garden by the way. Food always tastes better when it comes straight from the garden to the table.

Wow can I come live with you? :P
Yes it is very rewarding growing your own food! You also know exactly where it has been.

It sounds like you have a lot of planning to do, but once you get it done, sounds like it could be a convenient and efficient way to water.

I have noticed, if it takes too long to water a section, i.e the flow of water is too low, then the water will be be absorbed very deep, which is not a bad thing, but it takes a long time for the water to spread horizontally across the soil. So watch out for that!

I will. Thanks.

Congratulations @nonnewtonian! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received
Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!