The Power of Goal Setting: My Weekly Challenge to Myself

in #health7 years ago

Since February my girlfriend and I have been using The Five Minute Journal by Intelligent Tuesday. I discovered this journal from following Tim Ferriss' blog, I read his posts and listen to his podcasts on a regular, and consider him one of my main inspirations for self-improvement.

What the journal does is, at the start of each day you write out mini goals/tasks for the day that you could accomplish that would help make your day great and then at the end of the day reflect on all the good things that happened during the day and if there was anything negative how could you have made it better.

20170812_123221.jpg

Since I have been doing this, I have noticed that I have become a lot more productive in my days when I set out at the start of my day what needs to be done. It helps to guide my day right from the start when I lay out what I want to accomplish, so I can hae those ideas in my head throughout the day to make sure that I can incorporate them in there.

So in a related stream, I am going to use this post to commit myself to a short list of personal weekly goals I want to get done in order help improve myself, personally, mentally, physically and emotionally. This should force me to work on other skills/ interests that I may having trouble sitting down and doing.

My plan is to utilize a weekly journal and this blog to keep track of the things I complete and then I will reflect each week to see how I did in accordance with my goals and then modify accordingly for the next week and then hopefully get a standard set for myself. I am setting my goals to be a bit of a stretch but also attainable if I make these things a priority to get done but also understanding that sometimes things come up in life that might prevent you from getting down what you want. So it is just identifying those things early one and adjusting accordingly.

20170812_113224.jpg

My goals for this week are:

  1. Complete my daily journal at least 5 of 7 days
  2. 2 Brazilian Jit-Jitsu training/sparring sessions
  3. 3 Cardio sessions of at least 20 minutes
    a. 1 of these sessions must be yoga
  4. 2 Strength workouts
  5. Try and work on comedy for 15 minutes
  6. Post 2 Stories to Steemit
    a. 1 post must be BJJ related
  7. Read for 30 minutes 3 times
  8. Cook or help cook 3 dinners
  9. Spend a night with girlfriend without any screens (for the most part)

Thats it for now wish me luck!