The Secret to Maintainable Results and Consistency

in #health6 years ago

The secret to maintainable results and consistency in your workouts and healthy eating is alllll about living a balanced life and establishing priorities.

14583333_1807745796107653_265695155196002304_n.jpg

I've just spent the past three days at my Aunty and Uncles farm for a family reunion and loved every minute of it. Before leaving, I was talking to a regular at the gym and she asked if I was scared or dreading the trip because I couldn't work out or eat my usual diet. She then went on to share with me that she suffers with major anxiety before traveling, due to her feeling a lack of control and commitment to her health and fitness goals.
Hearing that honestly broke my heart and made me reflect on the times that I used to feel like that.
I'm here to tell you that three days, a week or even two weeks off the gym and indulging is not going to ruin all your hard work! However, if you're similar to me and live your healthy lifestyle because you LOVE and THRIVE off it, then here is the hack I used...
For every meal, I ate the same as everyone else EXCEPT I made it paleo. For example, for dinner everyone would have creamy potato and cheese bake, salad, boiled potatoes and meat. I decided to ditch the creamy cheese potato bake and eat some extra meat or salad/regular potatoes to fill me up instead. For dessert everyone ate apple pie and ice cream, I made a huge bowl or fruit and of course sprinkled fruit and nut mix on top. Our family reunions are heavily focused on food, eating together and sharing snacks with one another. I ate so much food, literally eating all day long, making sure not to deprive myself. This was the first trip I didn't feel the urge to eat gluten or dairy (and go to bed with a terrible stomach ache). This trip was so empowering and showed me that I've finally reached a place of balance, maintenance and peace when it comes to my healthy lifestyle. Don't stress, do the best you can, eat foods that make you happy and live in a way that is true to yourself. ✨✨✨✨✨

Sort:  

That's a good approach. Long term consistency is the key, and minimising the effect of any slip ups you do make.

I agree. Eating clean (natural/minimally processed) foods and staying active is what I define to be a healthy lifestyle for myself as well. Sure, the folks that work out primarily to look good will not have a good time being out of the gym for days at a time. I stick to my work out routine to relieve stress, and the gains are more of a natural byproduct from being consistent.

As long as you put in 110% into your workout when you get back, you will quickly regain your old momentum.

Keep it up!

You are beautiful and so hot