How I Conquered My Heart Failure Through Exercise - Steemians, I Urge You to Do The Same!

in #health6 years ago (edited)

They ask me "your slim, why exercise? Why do all of the hassle? Why do this and do that? "
To me, that's not the question here. If I can do a little more effort (or better, a whole bunch of it, then why not?

Hi Steemians! Let's kick up and start our Monday with positive and happy vibes! Also, may you find inspiration in this article.



I was born with Mitral Valve Prolapse (MVP). It is a condition in which the mitral valve slips backward due to abnormal size or damage of the tissues in the valves. For most people with MVP, it is hard to determine its cause since it is associated with many other symptoms and conditions. It can be inherited or it can also be due to the abnormality in cartilage. My doctor said that in some instances it creates imbalance in the process of exchanging of oxygen and carbon dioxide. To which, I can't really grasp its entire idea. hehehe

In my early years to high school days, I would lost consciousness during class or extra curricular activities and only to be awaken in the hospital by nighttime with oxygen and dextrose. I would hear chatters, serine of the ambulance and the slam of the door. As much as I would like to move, call out their names, give them an assurance not to worry for I'm fine and open my eyes, I cant. It's total blackness; and no matter how hard I try to relax and breathe regularly it's a complete battle.



This was a picture of me way back in kindergarten together with the best mom in the world, Marites.

WHAT WAS THE TURNING POINT?
When I was a college student, I applied as a working scholar in our university. Luckily, I was accepted. The challenge is, our office monitors other colleges and instructors' research output, publication and corporate social responsibility of the school. There were approximately 12 college departments located in 4 different buildings with 4 to 6 floors each. Aside from the colleges, we also need to create strong network outside of the university's premises especially to the business sectors. I have to be honest, I was struggling with my health. I never want to give up for I love my studies. Besides, why would I let the opportunity to slip?

True, I might be weak but I can surely improve my stamina and endurance. So, I made a decision to wake up 4 a.m. every morning and jog in HoopsDome, a large sports complex in Humay-Humay, Lapu-LapuCity. No denial, it was tiring. There were also days that felt like I'm dragging myself. However, the mere effort that I put fuels me already. I already have started it why would I stop? Gradually, I was able to be on the top of the game, much more stronger, faster and lighter.



It felt so much better. No more fainting, palpitation and numbness. It is liberating!

Four months ago, I made a resolution to go to the gym. The thought of being bulky and steel-like with muscles scared me but then I was one curious cat. There's a common misconception that weightlifting will make a woman look manly but this is completely false. Instead, one good way to burn fats is by lifting weights. It makes you firmer and lean. Muscles at work spike up your metabolism!


Recently, I was able to convince my dad, sister and colleagues to go to the gym and embrace a healthier lifestyle. It truly makes me happy to see them reaching their full vitality.
So friends, Steemians, let's start little by little. 15 minutes everyday is already helpful and from there gradually increase the time and intensity. Your future self will surely thank you for it!

Thank you so much for reading. Stay tune for more!


Lots of love,

Leah in @springroses

Sort:  

hi ate leah <3 your marketing student in uclm man ate sa? hehehe

Hello @purpleshangz ! Yes, I am. UCLM ka pud diba? It,s nice to see more UCLM students here. Keep steeming @purpleshangz, I'll be following you. Im curious about your journey. <3

When people see a beautiful young woman, most wouldn't know about the challenges she has faced. They assume she has had things, "handed to her." You're doing an awesome job with life! Your story sounds similar to one I wrote. In the aspect of a complete turn around!
https://steemit.com/introduceyourself/@crypto-maven/introduction-from-selling-usd1-water-outside-festivals-to-crypto-tech-entrepreneur

Hi @crypto-maven! I visited the link you have provided. I salute you dear. Woman who works hard and give out all their best in the situation they are in deserves respect, love and opportunities. Stay ambitious and motivated. Thanks for dropping by and take care always!

Wow. Glad to hear your story, really makes me happy for you :)
Now you actually inspire me to also do a couple of workouts per day. Hehe

Hi @themarshann
Thank you so much for taking time to read. Yes, that's just really a perfect ways of showing yourself love. Take care always dear!

SHit! ang ganda mo :)

I'll take that as a complement @juoleuse. You have a great day! Stay happy and keep Steeming!

appreciated lang talaga ang kagandahan mo maam :) di naman masamang mag appreciate dba?

Indeed, loving yourself will result to amazing things. Keep steeming :)

@ligarayk your comment made me smile. I'm really glad that you were able to realize that, only lucky few are able to meet the depth of their realizations. Love yourself always and keep Steeming my friend!

Wowww amazing guys

Please vote back and followback

engaging in physical activities really is beneficial to ones health, if you start younger the better.
your story may inspire others to do the same.
thanks for sharing

Good day @springroses. I so miss you. I've notice this post in your other social media account. This story is very inspirig. Keep steeming.

Hi @morken! Welcome to Steemit! Im totallty glad that you entered this platform. I have read your write ups before and I was impressed. This is a great way of promoting you talent. I'll be following you since I'm very curious about your journey and ideas. Take care!

Thank you @springroses. Hope you take time reading my poems and articles. It's made out of love.

Way to go!! So awesome to see you are taking responsibility for your health and making a commitment to protecting and enhancing it. It's inspiring to hear about your success!

Hi @saramiller! Thanks a lot of taking time to read my article and drop by by. You too is very inspiring. I'm excited for your next post. Take care always. Stay happy and pretty!

Gurl @springroses. Naa pa kay nahibaw.an nga ni join here sa steemit nga colleague nato? Lets prmote steemit together na. @ayingroxie is with. We're on the same team.

But of course to let you know that I surely read your post. Musta nman ka?

Good thing nimo naa pakay time to exercise. Its a matter of willingness and discipline after all.

Good job.! Nice meeting in steemit @leah. Hahaha

Hehehe, thanks a lot for taking your time to read this article. This is muuch appreciated. @leebaong, if ever you have a time, I would like to ask for your advice related to Steemit. Thanks a lot. Take care always. Sww ya around!

Aside nimo ug ng @thiisruby , mao pa. Gamay pa biya jud. I am trying to promote Steemit in the floor. I'll update you.

an advice? hahaha. kulbaan mn sad ta ana but Im more than willing to share what I learned. Soon!