Looking for some resources to get an understanding of process

in #help4 years ago

Screenshot_20200509-001845.jpg

Howdy. So the FAQ says if I have a question I can post it using #help . I've only recently signed on to hive. For a series of reasons I got pulled away from my blog. Yet I found myself missing it.

So what's foreign to me is the concept of communities. I feel that their mechanics have changed from what I knew.

1st area of confusion:

So I understand that it's possible to join several communities. Yet what I found interesting is that when I used the tag from a community. Instead of posting it to my blog with their tag. It posted it to their page. That confuses me in the sense that I wouldn't want to create duplicate post just so I could post with a community and my blog. Would it be frowned against to create a post and tie two different communities. Been trying to understand, and didn't Find much in the FAQ.
I'd like some resources for understanding the connection with communities and posting. I get every community has its guidelines. But the how it works has me stomped.

2nd foggy area:
It's weird to me to see no bots. So were they done away with completely, or is there a different format now. I admit bots had pros and cons. I'm just trying to understand where things stand. Is it still possible to boost a post (yours or someone else's).

3rd area of curiosity:
I don't really see any contest postings. Are there set guidelines on them. Are they allowed.

I'm genuinely asking.

Sort:  

Just saw a few questions on discord, and then saw this on your post. I don't know if you have tried using peakd.com yet or not, it is another front end into the hive block chain, small group of developers, but extremely responsive to peoples needs and questions.

To get your feet re-wet so to speak, this is a good place to start https://peakd.com/c/hive-198327/created, that is the FAQ page for peakd, remember small team so the FAQ is as he can get to them, but there is a lot there. He just got a couple FAQ's on the community stuff that you may find useful. By clicking on the about tab you can see who all the team is. There is also a discord channel

Thank you. I was feeling a little distressed. That conversation on discord was actually pretty useful. I pushed through, and lately I've been able to get some feed back. Thank you taking the time to give me some pointers.

You are welcome, I like trying to help people when I can, I remember how confused I was when I first started on steem block chain, and I still get lost with all the new tools and aids that are being created every day it seems on hive. If you get stuck on something, just drop a comment on any of my post or use the shoutout function of the @ in front of my name, peakd is good at letting a person know when their name has been used in a post, and if I miss it here I will see it in beeme.icu

Much appreciated.

I have a question for you. On steemit it use to be that you didn't necessarily have to have your steem powered up for it to benefit your steempower. Just having it in your wallet was enough. Is that different in Hive? So would you know if your Hive has to be powered up in order to get the hp from it. I remember that before on steemit just having the steem gave you steempower.

Liquid Steem or Hive = the Steem or Hive that is not powered up. This is Steem or Hive that can be exchanged with out any waiting period.

Steem Power or Hive Power = the Steem or Hive that is powered up. (staked, this is the Steem or Hive you have to power down if you want to trade it).

The Savings account function seems to do nothing, other than to provide a 3 1/2 day safety net in case your account is hacked.

The only thing that effects your vote power is having your Steem or your Hive powered up. The more Hive power, or Steem Power(on steem), the larger your vote can be and the larger your curation reward would be. The powered up Steem or Hive also receive interest.

The liquid amounts, (the non-powered up steem or hive), receive the daily interest, but that is all. The interest will be liquid, it will not increase your Steem Power or your Hive Power.

I don't have a lot of experience with figuring out the money side, but the above is my understanding of it.

That's interesting. I just remember that at some point someone told me that merely having the liquid steem in your wallet boosted your power. But okay. Thanks you. I appreciate it.