Adaptogens for Stress and Stamina

in #herbs7 years ago

Note: The following is an article I wrote several years ago. It is the basis of several articles I have written since and of many articles that I will be writing in the near future. The original article is at Adaptogens for Stress and Stamina.

Adaptogens for Stress and Stamina

stress-level.jpg

There is a group of herbs that have the amazing ability to increase energy levels during the day, reduce tension due to stress, increase endurance, significantly accelerate the recovery process after illness and provide greater mental alertness and deep, restful sleep. As a bonus they are also non toxic and have no side-effects! I personally make sure that I take some of these EVERY DAY.

These superior healing herbs have been used for thousands of years, but serious scientific study did not begin until the 1940s when Soviet scientists explored the benefits of these substances in fighting stress, preventing and reducing illness, maintaining homeostasis, and strengthening the body. The research was part of the Soviet Union’s focused efforts to compete with the West in military development, the arms race, space exploration, Olympic sports, science, medicine, and industry. In 1947 the Soviet scientist, medical doctor, and pharmacologist Nicolai Lazarev gave these herbs the name “adaptogens” and defined an adaptogen as an agent that allows the body to counter adverse physical, chemical, or biological stressors by raising nonspecific resistance toward such stress, thus allowing the organism to “adapt” to the stressful circumstances. In other words, these herbs support the healthy function of EVERY system in the body and protect it from biological, chemical, environmental and psychological stressors.

According to David Winston and Steven Maimes in Adaptogens: Herbs for Strength, Stamina and Stress Relief, in 1968 a functional definition for adaptogens was formally given by Israel I. Brekhman, PhD, and Dr. I. V. Dardymov:

  • An adaptogen is nontoxic to the recipient.
  • An adaptogen produces a nonspecific response in the body - an increase in the power of resistance against multiple stressors including physical, chemical, or biological agents.
  • An adaptogen has a normalizing influence on physiology, irrespective of the direction of change from physiological norms caused by the stressor.

Published in the 1960s, this definition is still used by many scientists. However, there is currently no binding definition for the term adaptogen. No recognized herbal or scientific organization has come forward with the definitive definition.

So, by now, after discovering what these amazing herbs can do, I suspect you are anxious to know which herbs are considered to be adaptogens. But first consider that adaptogens are food or medicine herbs; none are considered poisons. However medicine herbs are stronger acting than food herbs and need to be used with more careful attention to dosage and reason for use. Research is still ongoing, but I can provide a list of herbs that I believe have been agreed to by most researchers to be in the category of adaptogens and also are considered to be food herbs. I also am excluding herbs that are endangered.

Amla
Holy Basil
Lycium
Schisandra berries
Dang shen
Licorice

The following adaptogens may not be considered food because they have a more medicinal taste. However they are safe to consume daily.

Ashwagandha
Asian ginseng
Astragalus root
Eleuthero
Rhaponticum
Rhodiola

Astragalus root is traditionally cooked in stews and soups so that the taste is not noticeable. Ashwaganda, dang shen, and ginseng traditionally are cooked with congee (rice porridge, milk, honey, or ghee to make them edible and turn them into “medicinal foods.” Note that Ashwagandha leaves are toxic.

The mushrooms in the class of adaptogens can be cooked and used to make delicious soups, stir fries, casseroles, and stuffing. Note that cordyceps mushrooms need to be cooked to kill any harmful bacteria.

Black reishi
Cordyceps
Maitake
Shiitake

These leafy plants have been cooked as potherbs, like spinach:

Jiaogulan
Holy basil

In future articles I will describe each of these adaptogens in detail and include their history.

Sort:  

If i wanted to take a "one size fits all" adoptogen which would be the best? That would have limited interaction with an SSRI..
This is so interesting to me. I'm so glad we found each other! I almost went to school for holistic medicine instead of physical therapy but it is still something i believe in

Sorry that my upvote does not give any payment. I'm not really sure how that all works. I'm assuming I'm doing something wrong.
But you ask an excellent question. One that many have asked me. Each adaptogen meets the requirements of stress management and providing stamina. But each has some unique qualities that may also benefit you. So which ONE adaptogen for you would be the one whose unique benefit is one you particularly need. Personally, of all the adaptogens, there are 3 I have been taking everyday for several years. I just recently added a 4th adaptogen. The next article I post will clearly show why I have.
I am so glad to find like-minded people here in Steemit! So glad I found you!

Upvote /pymt/etc -
I went through your account. Don't worry you can go through mine too, it's all public. Lol. You have low steem power. That's going to heavily influence your post payouts and visibility. Yes, i know we are both doing this bevause we love the interactions/connecting but this aspect of "how it works" would be something I would look into.
Just saying because you got some good things to share that not a lot are knowledgeable on and would love to see your posts getting more attention.
I would take some of your SBD sell in the internal market for STEEM tokens and from there use those tokens to power up.
Another thing you'll want to do is get busy with your commenting....if you aren't already. That'll help you income wise so you can improve your steem power.
As far as the upvote price, you have something like 11 "full powered" votes/day after that it drops. For example, if your full powered upvote is say 2cents, then it won't take long to deplete it.
Sorry if I'm giving you way too much info here. Not trying to be "overly helpful". I'm new here too and still learning a lot. Would love to see your stuff getting more visibility.
What are the three adaptogens you take daily?
Also please tag me in your next post wanna make sure i don't miss it :)

You are absolutely NOT being "overly helpful". It's fairly obvious to me that I need all the help I can get. So thank you!

The three adaptogens I have been taking are lycium (goji berries), rhodiola, and ashwaghanda.

I will be writing articles about rhodiola and ashwagandha, so stay tuned....

Can you get those encapsulated?

Yes, you can. I worry about the quality from some commercial sources and also expiration. I have one customer who gets powdered form of herbs when the powder first becomes available ( and therefore we have a pretty good chance that it has not sat on a shelf for awhile) and then fills capsules for herself. That is more work than I and most others want to do, so it is a choice of putting in food or smoothie as a powder or dried berry. I do a combination of both, plus when traveling or taking a dosage later in the day after meals, I take a tincture. Some adaptogens lend themselves easily to be taken as food - goji berries and schisandra berries are examples of that. @chelsea88

My mother and I used to encapsulate herbs. Yes, very time consuming but you know what you're getting! What are the best brands in your opinion that are less likely to have been exposed to a long shelf life?