Dealing With Facticity: My Apology (and re-introduction)

in #higherorderthinking6 years ago (edited)

shameonyou.jpg
The shame's on me Source

Too far, too fast.

And far too bold.

I apologize for my historical style with deep regret. I'm being coached now, and I request a reboot.

Not a do-over; it's far too late for that. What I ask of people (that is, anyone who reads this) is a fresh start from a different place.

I have no excuse for my past modes of operation. I'll do my utmost to develop my communication skills. I request coaching from anyone who will get at all confused or offended by anything that I'll write.

I've learned that I did too much too quickly, and that this was much less effective than proceeding more slowly and more surely might have been.

I've figured out (from Tigrilla's advice) that I've overburdened the space with TMI. I'm working to figure out how to manage this in order to support anyone who wants to understand what I've learned in the past fifty years about how people think and learn. My opinion is that knowledge of thinking and learning facilitates developing better thinking and learning.

I request feedback from each of you on my content and my style; a fresh start.

So:

Hi. I'm Mike. I've worked in education, and I've also studied science, philosophy and psychology. I'm here to broadcast a bit of news that I think might well be of importance to learners everywhere. Here it is:

It's possible that knowing the truth about things isn't the best way to know about things!

If this seems strange to you, and I believe (from my past experience) that it probably does to many people, then please hear what I mean by that.

That's one thing that I learned in my studies, and I've come to believe in that possibility rather strongly. However, I don't intend to persuade or convince anyone that my belief is true, and here's why.

The following quote is taken from https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Postmodern_philosophy.

I almost never consult wiki sites, because I was an academic and I discredited them. Yet, today I found something which might be useful; I see it as consistent with what I've learned.

It's about the postmodern revolution in philosophy, and it's important (if it's important at all) for at least two good reasons. First, it dominates contemporary philosophy, having undermined and superseded everything that people previously understood about knowledge. Second, it's the source of a great deal of academic, social and individual confusion about what makes sense and what doesn't.

I added stress (in bold) on the phrases about truth. I also put in one editorial comment (not italicized).

Lyotard defined philosophical postmodernism in The Postmodern Condition, writing "Simplifying to the extreme, I define postmodern as incredulity towards metanarratives,"[1] where what he means by metanarrative is something like a unified, complete, universal, and epistemically certain story about everything [or anything] that is. Postmodernists reject metanarratives because they reject the concept of truth that metanarratives presuppose. Postmodernist philosophers in general argue that truth is always contingent on historical and social context rather than being absolute and universal and that truth is always partial and "at issue" rather than being complete and certain.[2]"

[1] Lyotard, J.-F. (1979). The Postmodern Condition: A Report on Knowledge. University of Minnesota Press

[2] Aylesworth, Gary (2015). Zalta, Edward N., ed. The Stanford Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Spring 2015 ed.) Metaphysics Research Lab, Stanford University

There. Please forgive me for my transgressions.

If you're interested, then I'll be happy to do more!

Sort:  

You have been upvoted by the @sndbox-alpha! Our curation team is currently formed by @anomadsoul, @GuyFawkes4-20, @martibis and @fingersik. We are seeking posts of the highest quality and we deem your endeavour as one of them. If you want to get to know more, feel free to check our blog.

This is a courtesy of @fingersik

Yikes.

Thank you.

truth is always partial and "at issue" rather than being complete and certain

What could be an example of that?

When it comes to science knowledge, I believe the social and historical context are irrelevant, but perhaps I am mistaken about this?

Loading...

I love the question .... there are many many examples of how relevant history and social contexts have been (quantum physics, idea that Prion proteins can infect you, discovery of adult stem cells) ;there is a human history to science ...science is a revision of this history rather than quest for truth independent of it's history and social context (Francisco Varela), a network of human conversations (Humberto Maturana). The historical and social context is never removed (Thomas Kuhn on Paradigm Shifts) ... examples apply to each discovery scenario ... eg. the discovery about the new organ (https://www.nature.com/articles/s41598-018-23062-6) ; is this really a discovery or just a new way of talking about a structure we always knew was there (the third space)?

lol Kuhn. You were writing while I was posting...beat you...haha.

Welcome back into my life, vc! I've missed you while I've been sorting out this mess that I got myself into -at your invitation!

Meet me on the Funway!

And Pluto's not a planet!

We've had interstitial tissues previously, and we still do. Apparently if we discover a function it becomes an organ.

All righty then...

so in other words, this is about the fact that as we advance we discover new knowledge and realize we might were mistaken in the past?

just a new way of talking about a structure we always knew was there

you sure we always knew about that?

Yes, but not exactly.

It's a new way to think about what understanding means.

"truth is always contingent on historical and social context rather than being absolute and universal and that truth is always partial and "at issue" rather than being complete and certain."

A new way to think and talk about anything and everything.

The idea is that total philosophical certainty about things isn't justified.

(Is this news to you [wondering])

Thanks again for being here, dg.

Well I have always be aware that our knowledge and perception of everything is in constant change as we keep advancing in our understanding of reality, so with incomplete knowledge, 100% certainty cannot be possible.

You have been scouted by @promo-mentors. We are a community of new and veteran Steemians and we are always on the look out for promising authors.

I would like to invite you to our discord group https://discord.gg/CNvvuu6

When you are there send me a message if you get lost! (My Discord name is the same as here on Steemit)




Thanks again, dg!

All support and encouragement is welcome here.