You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Basketball and Tortillas, A Story of Privilege in San Diego

in #highschool3 years ago

It sounds pretty messed up, but I don't care for it. Rivalries between schools (especially at the university level) will always lead to pranks or crude jokes done against each other. It's foolish and dumb, but no one was actually hurt by any of this so it shouldn't really matter.

In my personal opinion, the team who won shouldn't have gotten their title stripped just because of a dumb joke that some perceived as "racist". I'm not Mexican (or Central American), but I am Latino, and I don't view the tortilla issue to be all that concerning. If they want to give out free tortilla's, I'm going to make a quesadilla or some food out of it. Being me, I tend to make light of a bad situation. All in all it was reckless and dumb, but I'm sure they've learned their lesson.

Sort:  

I used to think like you, a cross between turn the other cheek and show them up on the field.

But I’m tired of dealing with micro-aggressions and even more tired of seeing my youth “pranked” or just treated unkindly in general.

I live in California, we are supposed to be the Mecca of “everyone belongs” we need to get it right, we are the example.