Yikes!! I was hacked, but I want to thank...

in #hiking8 years ago (edited)

Everyone who upvoted my original post on hiking gear. I'm so upset that this post was hacked, but lesson learned for me about strong passwords. I have re-posted this blog under its original title "What I'm taking to survive a 6month hiking trip"
I would great appreciate your upvotes on my now super secure post, the link is below...
https://steemit.com/littlebitsandbigdeals/@katecloud/4g1n5s-what-i-m-taking-to-survive-a-6-month-hiking-trip
-Cheers!

THIS WAS NOT MY ORIGINAL POST !! MY ACCOUNT WAS HACKED AND I HAVE RECOVERED IT-

ponzi scheme that bitshares scammers have 95% of the vote weight. /w bad posts+bots collect money from the ponzi --- first hf was so fast made because ned+dan had 5 million taken to be redistributed

Sort:  
There are 2 pages
Pages

What an incredible post! I hope your trek is everything you want it to be. You mentioned the practice of having care packages delivered to post offices at various points along the trail. Have you made any arrangements for that? (I apologize if you mentioned it and I missed it. I skimmed parts.)

GOOD THE HACKER IS CAUGHT!

Thank you for posting. QUESTION: should steemit let us steemers advertise using steem? Be sure to tell everyone you know to come vote here at: https://steemit.com/steemit/@kingtylervvs/if-steemit-ever-does-decide-to-advertise-there-is-only-1-way-it-could-work-in-my-opinion-debate

This is a democratic community decision.


Upvote the #steemengine for in house steemit poster ads!

I wouldn't have been able to relate to this post before I reduced my "items owned" count to below 100. Now, I see it for what it is-- checking each and every thing for its utility and choosing exactly what is needed.

COOL POST!

when it comes to hicking thats what it takes

so for me, it wasn't about hiking at all. It was about mobility, and "freedom from my stuff." The results have been incredible. There's but one thing that I am still working hard to resolve, however:

I'm dependent on my desktop computer for work. I require a hella-computer for working ,and they're just not small enough.

I'm thinking of making a porta-desktop that folds out of a suitcase, so I could have a ~15kg beast of a PC including the dual monitors I rely on for getting shit done right all ready to go and portable. It's basically the only thing that ties me to any particular place.

Anyhow, thinking actively about your possessions and eliminating the ones you don't absolutely need is genuinely transformative. Strongly recommended to anyone.

PPS: What the fuck? Just saw the updated article....

I will try this idea of eliminating unessesary possessions.

My original post on hiking gear was hacked. I'm so upset that this post was ruined, but lesson learned for me about strong passwords. I really appreciate everyones support. I have re-posted this blog under its original title "What I'm taking to survive a 6month hiking trip"
I would great appreciate your upvotes on my now super secure post.

Kate, can you please let me know the degree of security on your original password?

i cant post a submit story? anybody can help me?

I'm curious to hear about some of your other camping adventures. Where else have you been? And how long have you been on the trails? What got you started camping?

I finally stumbled on real, complete and interesting article! Good job!That's what I personaly would like to read .

Such a thorough article, I'm going through every comment individually. This is exactly what Steemit was meant for as a UGC community to take-down Reddit!

Even though the Hyperlite pack is awesome you may want to consider a pack liner, something cheap and light like a trash compactor bag works well. Just be sure to get the non scented ones. You might even be able to pick one up in a hiker box after you start the trail. I did on my thru hike in 2011. Good luck, and enjoy your hike. The AT is an awesome adventure.

What great content @katecloud! I feel like if I ever go on such a hike the only guide I will need is this post! I will be sure to follow along and see how it all goes! I too am putting my heart out there! Feel free to check out my blog and see my first youtube vid (ekkk!). Looking forward to your next post!

Oh my gosh, this sounds so fun. I wish I could of done something like this when I was younger. Maybe I can live vicariously through you : ) I will be following the journey if you post about it!

ACCOUNT RECOVERED!

OK @katecloud account was restored with @billbutler 's help! Thank you all here you help on this! Awesome - to proof that she has again accessing rights to her account! She will change title here ASAP! And posting a sign with holding @katecloud, @billbutler and @cass as usernames on it! Thanks again for you patience and - happy steeming

LET's get her rewards back

She will create her OP again and then link here - i will do same!

Thanks for your time!

I will let you know when when all is in line soon!

Glad you got it back! Its a shame there have to be hackers trying to ruin it for everyone...

I went on the AT about 2 years ago and it was a spiritual experience for me as I learned so much about life and myself. I wish you good vibes and enjoyment even through the struggles that you'll feel. Also, the tent is the way to go....obviously as you know the smaller and easier to set up the better.

Looks like an amazing experience! I can't imagine how much you would learn after a trip like this and you clearly seem well prepared.

Fantastic post! I look forward to hearing more from you @katecloud! When do you plan on hiking? I read in your introduction you are choosing to hike from Georgia. I have heard from fellow hikers the Northern most sections are the most technical. You have provided an excellent gear review. I am always so grateful towards folks that remark upon gear that is so heavily relied upon in the out of doors.

I don't know much about your inflatable pad but my Thermarest is going six years strong and makes rocky areas a dream to camp over. I have a MSR Dragontail tent but that is due to its necessity of the four season design on my mountaineering adventures. What Salomon's do you have?

Have you read Bryson's A Walk in the Woods? I haven't seen the film, but the book was light and gave a pleasant narrative. I hope to do the Continental Divide trail after I finished building my house and can gather enough funding to take the required vacation. You seem pretty great and I wish you the best.

Truly,
H

P.S. If you are looking to go on a relatively brief backpacking venture this winter, I will be doing the River to River Trail in Southern Illinois. It takes less than two weeks, maybe less than one depending on your speed. There are sandstone bluffs, lakes and the Mississippi River to feast your eyes on when you finish. A nice way to keep your legs and connection to Nature strong. I began hiking after I got into rock climbing. Here https://steemit.com/motivation/@hmfoucault/steemit-community-what-do-you-do-for-fun is a link to an entry about climbing and seeking to develop a community using discussions of hobbies and passions.

This is a photograph of me near Panther's Den on a daytrip hike this Spring.

beyond prepared! great post, though!

Indeed! I say you plant some Steemit flags along the trail :)

Let's go and found same amazing beautiful places in Indonesia

I can barley remember where my keys are...

Awesome post @katecloud!

I know where I'll be referring to, next time I make camping plans! Excellent!!

Honestly, that's what I call a cool story bro. Such a riveting tale, I honestly copy and pasted it to word, saved on my hard drive, backed it up on a jump drive, drove to the bank, put the jump drive in the safe deposit box, and will leave it there until my kids turn about 12 (when they can actually state their age, and ask what it is I'm showing them), when I will pick it up, put it in an old USB drive reader and relay this cool story to them and tell them, "kids, this is what a cool story should look and sound like...not like the stories your generation tells."

Did her account get hacked and the post edited?

unfortunately hacked.

"CAN STEEMIT RAISE ME MORE THAN MY GOFUNDME?"

...you know what they say about bears and woods :P

Your account is compromised, update your password katecloud!

Make sure if you bring a good amount of food with you to watch out for bears. I recommend a bear hang and to set it up at least 100 feet away from where you are camping. I was hiking the AT in NYS and slept in a lean too. Woke up to a bear outside our shelter trying to get at our food. Learn from me!

Awesome post.. nice resource to have available! I wil bookmark it.

This is just a great lady, I was amazed to you! @katecloud

Good luck on your trip! I hope you have fun and gain a broader perspective on the world. Cheers!

his equipment seemed comfortable

Fantastic post! Better transfer into steem power, by the time you get back you might be a millionaire haha :)

Why nekotoyre people not understanding the system - just make loud conclusions?
I like also to the end do not understand how it works! But I do not do high-profile conclusions!

Where's your proof?

Looks like katecloud's account got hacked.

To Mars? To the Moon?

Houston, we have a problem...

unfortunately, yes

I would suggest that you look into UV light water purification.
Especially Camelbak Unit.
http://www.camelbak.com/PURIFICATION
It's rechargable via usb, and takes 1 minute to purify your bottle.
Of course you'd have to go and try one in store before buying, because it's another battery and all so it can be too heavy for your needs, but since you are bringing a solar panel anyway, maybe check it out!

yups !! i told this account was hacked, but i got downvote my comment. no problem -__-

it's all a ponzi, even bitcoin

duh....

no...I've been hacked this is not my original post

yes i know, but the hacker is right all cryptos and fiats are ponzis :D

So you think anything that resembles money is a ponzi? You live in a strange world, decrypt.

That is very sad. The big central banks must be very angry to successful cryptos because they hire these hackers to do these things.

Absolutely astounding post from @katecloud!

Finally a post that shows a LOT of effort and that truly deserves every dollar that has been earned. If the whales keep upvoting original content like this and refrain from promoting copy and paste postings this site will fulfill it's promise.

I'm very very pleased with Steemit.com right now. It's happening!

Great whrite, was thinking would i actualy reach botom? Hehe
Great to finaly see so good work. I enjoy it big time. Hope the rest did also <3

Good luck! Living around the trail my entire life has allowed me to explore a little part of the trails every now and again. I hope you enjoy your adventure!

You got everything planned down to the details, that's pretty impressive! Don't think I could manage 60 days, no way :P Will be hanging around for the reviews :)

I've been on it in a couple of places. :D

newfound gap

@katecloud If you are interested in other posts about #outdoor #motivational activities, I wrote about my experiences as a #girls rock climbing here. https://steemit.com/motivation/@hmfoucault/steemit-community-what-do-you-do-for-fun If you ever would like to go, I am always looking for partners and have gear enough for a small family.

Let's go to amazing experience in Indonesia. Beautiful places.

How about my original post was hacked and this has nothing to do with Indonesia

savage! I hope you get back your moolah!

Wow! This is very informational for a beginner like me! This is definitely a go-to article if I plan to go hiking! I want to recommend this to anyone who is going on a hiking trip! Thanks a lot!

Looks like you have got it all sorted - Girl Guide by anychance??? -looking forward to seeing the blogs and photos - good luck

Last, but not least! If all else fails! Just remember #cornwins

Detailed photos and Thanks for the explanation.
This, somehow it will likely feel that.

This looks like so much fun! I hope you have learned a lot from such a trip like this, keep it up!

Very inspiring, I wonder what it will be like out there!

Awesome level of detail here!

I remember preparing for my month-long trip to asia and trying to read through every single packing/travel post I could find (I also was only bringing a backpack). A lot of them approach the thoroughness you've laid out here but definitely didn't match it. Bravo!

I've bookmarked this for when I plan an extended backpacking/camping/hiking trip. Thanks!

Great post! You deserve all the success you're getting on here, you're absolutely killing this whole travel blog thing.

I saw you have a portable solar panel with your electronics kit. How do you find those things? I've thought of getting one, but never been too sure how much use they'd be. I know you can't run a phone directly off one, but can you get enough charge into a battery in an average day to be useful enough for the bulk and weight of it?

If the end of the world is fast approaching, I'm referring back to this article for everything that will be needed to survive for the next few years!

Thanks for the very well-researched article Kate :)

There are 2 pages
Pages