An October Hike at McCormack Lake

in #hiking6 years ago (edited)

Back in October, one of my best friends, @hethur240 and I decided to take a little hike on part of the Ozark Trail about a half an hour away from our hometown. Here are some photos from our first stop of the day at McCormack Lake just south of Winona, Missouri.

IMG_9657.jpg

IMG_9659.jpg

IMG_9660.jpg

The paved road to this part of the Mark Twain Forest leads directly to the lake, and then the walking-trail goes on for miles and miles

IMG_9668.jpg

As we passed the trail-head marker, the path wound around the edge of the lake

IMG_9669.jpg

Then, accompanied by our canine friends, we continued on the trail that lead us through a lush forest, surrounded by greenery and some interesting fungi!

IMG_9677.jpg

IMG_9678.jpg

IMG_9680.jpg

IMG_9683.jpg

IMG_9684.jpg

IMG_9685.jpg

IMG_9687.jpg

IMG_9688.jpg

IMG_9689.jpg

We've hiked several miles of this trail on other occasions, but Heather and I had to turn around and head back since time was of the essence. Also because we were getting tired. Okay, okay...we were mostly tired...and there was still another place to stop on the way home! ;)

IMG_9691.jpg

IMG_9699.jpg

IMG_9704.jpg

IMG_9706.jpg

IMG_9708.jpg

IMG_9709.jpg

As we exited the trail, we noticed some sumac in the parking lot. Heather is a fountain of information when it comes to local flora, and she noted that this is very different from "poison" sumac.

IMG_9711.jpg

Although this was only a couple short months ago, I'm already missing the comfort of hiking in the mild weather! We haven't had enough spare time or been brave enough to venture out yet this winter, but I'm sure we will before the season is over.

Be on the lookout for some Winter '18 photos from our home... The beautiful Missouri Ozarks!!! :)

follow melody.jpg

Sort:  

Such a gorgeous #walkwithme...you have an incredible eye. I have so many favourites, this one was very very epic...totally inviting!

I live around springfield Missouri so Ive had the pleasure of camping in the Mark Twain National Forrest, but I dont guess I know where Winona is. But either way I love the photos. Theres just something about the beauty of the outdoors this time of year in Missouri.

Mark Twain spans a pretty big area but Winona is pretty close to my hometown, Mountain View. I think we may have a mutual friend @jessamynorchard. Pretty sure I’ve heard her mention you a few times :) If you’re ever looking for good places to float, camp or hike in the area, let me know! We know a lot of really cool places!

Your photos are wonderful!! I study biology and I love that environment, the diversity of plants in that place is impressive, that makes it particularly beautiful. I think it's very cute that you are with your four-legged children.

Thank you! :) It’s been nice to go out hiking with my camera again and our furry friends always like to tag along :) There are all kinds of interesting plants around here and the scenery is beautiful. Thanks for checking out my photos!

I love that spur of the Ozark Trail...& McCormack Lake is such a nice spot...
I'm ready to get some hikes in this winter myself...

It’s a good one for sure! We didn’t make it to the lookout point over the Eleven Point this time but I’m hoping to on our next trip!

thanks for sharing! I'm about to hike from that lake down to greer then back east 10 miles on the OT. Never been on it before, getting really excited. Definitely preparing for overgrown areas and BUGS! any advice or places you recommend stopping at?

Oh that’s awesome! Ozark Trail is amazing. You’re going to love it! Greer is absolutely beautiful. There are all kinds of great spots down highway 19. Falling springs, turner mill (ones of my absolute favorites), McCormack, and of course Greer spring! Hit me up if you need any tips and pointers. I’ve lived here since I was a kid and I’m out exploring every chance I get! :)

These pictures are beautiful! I love going on hikes too and definitely miss the fall weather...especially since it has been in the single digit temps and feels like negative degrees with the wind chill where I live!!

Thanks so much! And I hear ya there- We’ve been in the single temps here too recently. It’s back up in the 30s today so I’m hoping to get back out again soon!

Same here! It's sad how warm 30 degrees feels when stuck in single temps for so long!!

Lovely reflections!