You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Today in History: First motorcycle introduced to the world

in #history4 years ago

That is pretty crazy. I have never been on a motorcycle. I have a feeling I would kill myself. The closest I ever came was a I road a moped a long time ago when I was a kid. It was a ton of fun. I've always had an affinity for road bikes, but I don't know as though I would ever purchase one. I'd have to get my license first too. Nice post!

Sort:  

there isn't much reason to have a motorcycle where you live although i bet especially in the UP there are some fantastic roads that touring would be amazing. I remember when I was in the states that not many of my friends had motorbikes because for 3/4 of the year they are kind of useless. They were more like an expensive toy.

That is about how it would be here. First warm weather in the Spring they are out like crazy. @bigtom13 could speak to how fun it is to ride on some of the roads in the UP.

I'll look him up. I love riding motorcycles but (and I already probably mentioned this in the original article) there are just too many damn people here in Vietnam for a proper motorcycle to be of any use.

Thanks bozz! I do love the UP. Not the greatest roads in the US but pretty damn good and the scenery is really great. It's one of my favorite places.

I also love the neighboring Black Hills. Long as you steer clear of the Sturgis rally the roads are great and the traffic is minimal.

Oh, I've been known to hang out at a HOG rally or two. That was a long time ago...

Truth is, I lived at least as far north as @bozz for 50 years and I rode a lot then, too. We'd get about 7 months or actual riding. Back in the day the limit was clothing :)

Now I live in Arizona and can and do ride 365 days a year. I also have electric gear for riding outside of the 'sun zone'.

A whole bunch of my riding when I lived in Washington was in the dirt. I had street bikes off and on, but I always had a dirt bike. Now I don't ride in the dirt at all and barely on gravel roads...

You are on a whole different level than I am as far as the addiction is concerned. I'm envious. I foolishly got involved with choppers which over the years have become my least favorite kind of bike. Now I am more into touring bikes and would absolutely love to get something along the line of a Versys.

I fortunately (IMHO) got all done with those sorts of motorcycles by '73. I didn't play much (I did own a Triumph TR6 for a couple of years) and really preferred UJMs and dirt bikes. Now I'm riding a sport tourer (Kawasaki Concours 1400) and a big Suzuki V Strom crossover. I love them both at different times and places.

I did buy a '76 AMF Harley in about 1980 but kept it less than 2 months. I went back to a KZ 1000 as soon as I could :)