How i found the lost wedding ring (1939)... of a never to return soldier R.I.P

in #history7 years ago

Not so long back i was out metal detecting, first thing i needed to do was find a random farm house with a large enough field to detect on. It did not take long to find a suitable location where i then knocked on the door to ask for permission to be on the premises, i obviously needed to tell the old man at the door what i was going to be doing. He seemed quite interested and started to talk about his wife's fathers ring and that it was out there somewhere on the field, i asked how the father had lost it and he went on to tell me a "tragic story". In 1935 the father Heinrich Schlüer had married and all was well they had a child, but then the father and husband in 1939 was called to duty he was to be sent to fight for the Germans in Russia. Shortly before he had to leave he was sowing seed for his family in the field and the ring slipped from his finger and was lost, he then had to leave for war. His wife not so long after received notification of the death of her beloved husband and father to her child. The family was devastated widow Minna kohlstädt the wife and mother would tell her daughter Hanna Kohlstädt whilst working on the field to look out for the ring, the mother would also search for it and never gave up hope of finding it, unfortunately they never found it. Minna Schlüer became ill and died in 1995 unfortunately never to see the ring again, she had also never married again. Then the miracle it did not take me longer than 1 hour and numerous trash digs, i got a signal and dug. I could not believe my eyes the first gold ever that i had found and it was the ring that had been lost for over 70 years, like it was new the initials were as if they were engraved onto the ring yesterday. I ran back to the house as fast as i could and knocked at the door, a women opened the door and she smiled.I said i think i have something for you, and passed her my grasping hand, as i opened my hand her eyes lit up like an angel, i thought she was going to faint with the surprise, i think she was in shock thinking back now. Well she called her husband over and everyone was delighted, they went on to tell me that the mothers Minna Schlüers ring had broken in half from all the years of hard work on the field and this ring was now spotless, she told me she would inherit it to her son straight away. So they thanked me and gave me a little money to go for a meal with my wife, but i can tell you people, the look on her face, to give someone that is the best thing in the world that you cant ever have with money. I found out shortly after she had a friend working at the local news so she invited her to tea and told her what had happened, the story got published in numerous papers across Germany.

05_20170831_192049.jpg

Anyway thanks for reading this post hope you liked it.

Peace.

Sort:  

I loved this story! Now I have some inspiration to take my metal detector out and try my hand at hunting for great treasures. I would love to experience something like this and return a lost memento to someone and be able to see that look of extreme gratitude that you were able to experience.

Thanks for reading, i hope you find what you are searching for :) good luck.

Peace to you as well! <3

That is fantastic! My husband loves metal detecting. He has several metal detectors. He's not on Steemit, but I will show him this story. How wonderful that you found this special ring!

Thank you for reading, i am glad you liked it. Good luck to your husband on his searches.