Metal detecting find medieval 500 year old Pilgrim badge "treasure"

in #history7 years ago (edited)

Another great find by me, from our ancestors. Saved from rotting away hidden from our eyes. At first i thought it was just modern trash, but looking closer i saw outlines which showed a faded away picture of someone looking quite holy.

02_20170903_102201.jpg

I decided then to give it a careful clean and send it away to my archeologist for further analysis. To my surprise it turned out be a medieval roughly 500 year old pilgrim badge.

05_20170903_102118.jpg

Back in the day people would go on far away journeys seeking and visiting shrines the physical pain of undergoing such journeys must of been tremendous finally arriving at there destinations they would then be able to buy a trinket to prove there dedication. Many different pilgrim badges were sold all sizes shapes with different pictures of various holy icons
you could compare them with the modern day tourist souvenir, just the most souvenirs we buy in our time probably wont last 500 years.

07_20170903_102147.jpg

Thanks for reading and i hope you liked it.

Peace.

Sort:  

I'm now following you. It looks like you've found some pretty amazing things!! I look forward to more of your posts about your treasures!

wow, that's amazing. I just love old historical items
Great post

Glad you liked it, by the way check my other articles if you like historical finds.
Thanks for reading.

Peace.

I never find anything cool like that :(

You will, just don't give up it can be quite painful at times i know!
but trust me if i had of given up then i would of never found the things i have found.
And trust me most of the time i dig up trash.

Peace.

That's beautiful, where did you find it? What's the material?

Hi, the material is lead, that was the common metal they used for these pilgrim badges. I found this specific badge in Germany near the city of Osnabrück.

Thanks for reading!

very cool, thanks

how did you find it?

Hi, with my metal detector. I pick either random locations with a nice scenery, or i choose locations where construction work is underway (trying to save it from being destroyed).

Thanks for reading :)

Peace.

Wow! Great find! I wish I could find historical items like this in the USA.

Hi, yes not much medieval history in the USA unfortunately. Check my blog i have other finds you might find interesting also.

Thanks for reading.