Metal Detecting "Silver Coin find 1668" Treasure Hunting

in #history7 years ago

On one of the nearby fields i was out detecting and found this beautiful coin.

01_20170910_092006.jpg

When i first dug it up, it wasn't so clean and the patina wasn't so nicely colored, silver doesn't rot away so it's what every treasure hunter is looking for, all you have to do is wash it down briefly at home, then to get the black nasty patina removed (which it will have after a few hundred years) lay it in a silver bath, which you can make yourself from lemon and bicarbonate of soda. After i had cleaned the coin, it then started to grow this amazing rainbow colored lustrous patina which coin collectors love.

02_20170910_092114.jpg

It is more than likely that a farmer working on the filed lost it a long time ago, and i got lucky once again. After as usual lots of trash digs it was a great reward for not giving up and keeping on track. I found some information on the internet about this particular coin.

German States OSNABRUCK 2 Mariengroschen

Specifications:

Composition: Silver

Diameter: 17-19mm
Design

Obverse: Crowned EA monogram

Obverse Legend: SOLA. BONA. QUÆ. HONESTA.

Reverse: 4-line inscription with date

Reverse Legend: 18. A(U)(V)F. EIN. REICHS. THALER.

Reverse Inscription: II / MARIE / GROS / (date)

Notes

Source : https://www.ngccoin.com/price-guide/world/german-states-osnabruck-2-mariengroschen-km-115-1665-1668-cuid-1209365-duid-1392758

Ruler: Ernst August I

Note: K-276, 280, 283, 286. Varieties exist.

I think they were hammered from 1665 till 1668

Thanks for reading.

Peace.

Sort:  

I like detecting - I live in Australia and have found a couple of small gold nuggets. Where abouts are you?

I'm in Germany, i have only found gold once, a ring. I would love to go detecting for nuggets, and Australia would be great also!

Peace.

I think you are doing well with the coins over there... the nuggets here are awfully hard to find because so many people have been out looking before. But it's good to go into the countryside and hunt for them anyway. It's a bit addictive:)

Классная монета!Я,кстати,тоже имею несколько старых монет.Коллекционирую их.Потом передам их одному из сыновей.Надеюсь это станет для него или для них хобби на всю жизнь.

Thank you, its a great hobby for your son! i translated your text : A cool coin, by the way, I also have a few old coins. I collect them. Then I will transfer them to one of my sons. I hope this will be for him or for them a hobby for life.

Congratulations @supernovaone! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

That is so cool. What an interesting coin! And so old! Thanks for sharing. It definitely makes me want to get the kids going on a metal detector. Legend has it that gold was found under a rock on our property many many years ago!

Thanks @apanamamama where you are from is there gold nuggets in the ground and rivers?

Yes, they say there is gold around. People pan for gold in the rivers, but I don't know if they find any. They say a lot of the gold is in the mountains where the indigenous people live and you can't take it from there, but I haven't seen any! :)

I would love to do some gold mining i am currently watching a series called Devils Canyon, it's about a few guys gold digging out in the mountains. I cant get enough of it :).

EDIT: Devils Canyon ...not Devils creek

Sounds interesting!! I'm sure it is addicting once you get going. Always looking for the next big treasure. Always thinking the coolest hidden thing is right around the corner. :)

nice find my friend :) im from belgium, i promise ill share with you some of my finds soon in a post ;) i have some cool roman coins that i found etc ;)

Looking forward to it :) i have never found any roman coins, although in my area where i live the battle of Varus a roman general and the 7th legion? was fought. Which ultimately lead to the defeat of the roman empire in Germany. A friend has found one coin, and i know from the newspaper others have been found in the area. But i haven't been so lucky yet. I will be reading your blog :)

gives me an idea, maybe ill also blog about my metal detecting outings :d

youll find one when you least expect it, youll see ;)

They still don't know the exact location of the battle in my area, hopefully someday i can find it :) that would be amazing!

Come back! Your posts were so cool! I miss them!

Congratulations @supernovaone! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!