It's Straturday: Are you coming too?

in Guitar3 years ago

There is possibly no song less Stratty and more Gibsony that this, but I do like this solo regardless of what you play it on. Having said that I'm not 100% sure what the other guitarist uses for the solo. Lenny is playing a Gibson, but the other guy is playing some Fendery looking thing. Maybe this should have waited for TeleTuesday.

This was the title track of Lenny's third studio album. My favorite was his second, "Mama said". Very Beatle like which was possibly due to the fact that he was seeing Yoko Ono at the time..... ewwwwwwwww. But made for some great tracks.

I remember this song when it first came out in 1993 and the video that went along with it. Lenny with his flying V, hair and guitar a kimbo, female drummer with an afro. The clip is shot in some kind of small arena with sulky looking twenty somethings dancing around in slow-mo. So much hair.... so much hair...

Great song and great solo. Hope you all enjoy it!

Sort:  

Congratulations @gtown! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 50 posts.
Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the March 1st Hive Power Up Day

Oofty, you nailed that one and no mistake!!

Cheers big ears!!

Cool stuff. I really ought to learn that solo as I can play the rest of the song. It's a good tune.

There are some fast pentatonic runs, but the bends were enough to give me gross flakey finger calluses which I haven't had for years.

Gotta keep those calluses in shape. I try to play most days.

Wow! Great job!

Nailed the solo and the tone is very good too!

I play that song with my band but it's the other guitarist who plays this solo. Such a great tune!

Yes, the 2 parts sounds awesome together.

I remember this video back in the day as well somewhere on mtv late at night :-). You caught the signal chain pretty well (in bias fx right?).

Another Bias-FX preset I can't take credit for 😀. It's called 'Solo Time!'