TeleTuesday - Warranted it's a bit late, but have some dessert anyway.

in Guitar3 years ago (edited)

Hi all,

I've been working on some lessons from a website called 'The Lazy Way'. It's a practice session every couple of days with content emailed to you. I think it's going to be good. Looking into this ate into #teletuesday time.

The thought of learning another country lick made a little bit of sick come up so I went searching for stems for some inspiration. What I found was 'Warrant - Cherry Pie'.

Now those of you who are not ancient (like myself) and were in their late teens/early 20s in 1990 may have missed this one. But, those who were about that age will remember this film clip because they watched it over and over and over again.... or I might have just been a bit of a perv. Maybe a combo....

The clip featured a model Bobbie Brown. Not the wife beating, rap singing, druggy kind, a much better one.

Now some things are better left in the past. A few years back for some random reason I saw a program called 'Ex-Wives of Rock'. Wikipedia describes it as - "Ex-Wives of Rock is a Canadian reality television series that airs on Slice in Canada and Fuse in the United States. It chronicles the lives of four women who were previously married to famous rock stars.". I would describe is a piece of crap tv show and if a person watches more than 5 minutes of it should seek psychiatric help urgently.

As I said... some things are best left in the past. Watch the video clip, enjoy it, then move on. But first have a look at my cover of the song!

The band were actually pretty good. I ended up buying the album back in the day and there are some great songs on it. Really nice guitar stuff with some acoustic tracks as well.

image.png

Cheers people! Enjoy and stay well!!

Sort:  

I've probably heard the song, but not sure I've seen the video. I may seek it out. That era of rock did not do much female rights generally.

That solo was good. I'm impressed.

I don't watch any of these 'reality' shows about wives of any sort. Just doesn't appeal at all. We have some British versions that are mysteriously popular.

!LUV !PIZZA

Times are a changing, sometime for the better, sometimes worse, but yes, if you're looking for role models, 80s rock video clips are no moral compass.

It was a tricky solo to work out. So many pinch harmonics and a bit of whammy work that I'm not used to. The diminished run at the end is pretty cool.

Yes, I liked that run. Of course all players will pull out some tricks for their solos, so it's often hard to replicate.

!BEER


Hey @gtown, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Connect

Trade


@gtown! I sent you a slice of $PIZZA on behalf of @steevc.

Learn more about $PIZZA Token at hive.pizza (2/10)

Wow great job man!

I know the song but I never attempted playing it. Never really paid much attention to the guitar work in it but it's very cool! You nailed it!

Cheers Tulio. Not sure if they had many hits. I had their album which had some great tracks on it, but it was a few decades ago and those hair metal songs tend to all blend into one after a while.

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Nice playing. nailed the solo! There are some licks that looks real fun playing.
I do remember this song from that band. (let's say.. I know the song haha, I wouldn't be able to name the band from memory). I just searched but I can't say that I know any other song from them.