Tele Tuesday: Who knows? I certainly don't

in Guitar3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


This is a version of a great song by Queens of the Stone Age. I had to have a go at it, but it was a challenge for me.

I looked up some tab, but I found this lesson by 'Marty Music' to be helpful. I have looked at some of his other lessons and he is good at breaking a song down.

The first issue is tuning the whole guitar down two whole tones (low string is C). That makes everything a bit slack and hard to keep in tune. The main riff is a very common QotSA chord using an augmented fourth (I think). The tricky parts are the quick octaves and the power chords before the solo. I have not learnt the original solo and just winged it.

To get the sound you probably need a guitar with humbuckers, but I had to use my Benford Tele to make it #TeleTuesday. I was playing through my Zoom G3X on a Marshall stack sound. That was a bit thin, but the Soul Food boost thickened it up. Controlling the noise is hard. Every touch of the strings rings out and damping is vital.

I only started learning the song last night, so I am not surprised I made a few mistakes.

The backing track is from here. I added a count in to give me time to get ready after hitting the record button. I still cannot seem to record video with perfect sync with my setup.

I just do not think I am cut out for playing heavy rock for long periods. One song wears me out, but then my weak right hand struggles anyway. I did enjoy the song even if my expression may not have shown it.

Rock on! Join us in the Hive Guitar Community!


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

You just have to grow the hair out like Dave Grohl now 🤘

Nice jamming 🎸

Cheers. I can't deal with long hair. Was happy to get it cut recently.

I hear you!! I have not had long hair since i was a teenager. I've gotten half way there a few times, but looks shit in between short and long, so always end up cutting it!

Nice tones Steve. Good job.
Cracking tune.
Keep rocking. Woo.

Cheers. It was fun even if I struggled to play it.

!BEER


Hey @jeffandhisguitar, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Nice job! I am always afraid I am going to snap a string when I am tuning my guitar. Some of them it feels like I am cranking them down so hard. It is scary for me! I had a friend that had some silver strings on her guitar and those were crazy!

I have snapped a string when tuning up, but that is rare. Hardly ever break them when playing. I ought to change my strings as these are old. Really need heavier ones for playing this stuff. Anyway, it was a fun one to try. Maybe I need to figure out an acoustic arrangement to play at the pub.

That would be really cool!

Another great one!!!
And so love the looks of your tele!!!


Hey @borniet, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.

Cheers. I need to challenge myself sometimes.

!BEER

True that!!! There’s no improvement without a little challenge here and there ;-)

Top donk, its a tricky one in parts that's for sure. Takes a bit of staying power in the hand too!

I treat it as a work-out. We've got some really good guitarists on Hive who inspire me even if I know I'll never be able to play some of that stuff.

Yeah, I have been quite impressed by some of them. Its always something to aim for!

You looked quite pleased with yourself. The tune sounds hard to master. You did good