Lockdown jam on some Doobie Brothers for Tele Tuesday

in Guitar4 years ago

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


This a song that I learned many years ago when I went to a guitar evening class. A room full of blokes (do not remember any ladies) would learn a song each week from our teacher who was rather good and had a lovely old Gibson SG. Evening classes can be a relatively cheap form of tuition compared to one on one private lessons. I did a piano one and a jazz improvisation course too. When I last looked there did not seem to be music courses, just regular academic stuff. That is a shame, but may the result of government cuts.

I tried playing the song again this week and had to look up the chords. They are fairly simple and it sounded good on my Benford Telecaster. So why not record a video for #TeleTuesday?

As usual I used my Boss looper on the solo part, but had some finger trouble around then. This is after a few failed takes. It rarely works out first time. I could record it all and mime, but I prefer to play it 'live'.

This is just messing around, so do not expect a great performance. Just another #LockdownJam I need to learn the words as I may perform at the next local on-line open mic.

Rock on!


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Wooow I love this song, Long Train Runnin'😉🙌 It sounds niceee

Wish I could do it justice :) Need some decent singers to do the harmonies.

Yeah, most of the videos I upload, I would have played it so many times then choose the one to upload.

The last one I uploaded on Friday, I uploaded it out of frustration. I was tired of playing again and again.

I also find it hard to sing and play and I don't have any effect yet but will definitely safe for one.

Ñice solo lines.

Great video

I was getting tired. My right hand is not strong, so I cannot play for too long. Singing and playing is tricky, depending on the rhythms. This is not the easiest. Glad you enjoyed it.

You welcome 😊

Nice job! I saw the Doobie's in concert about eight years ago or so. It was a great show. This song is probably one of my favorites of theirs.