You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Sticky Neck, Washing Hands, Cleaning Fretboards?

in Guitar6 months ago (edited)

I've not had that issue, but it can depend on the finish of the neck and also one what sweat and oil you give off. I think people can vary in that. I have heard that you need to be careful if you've been using sun cream as that can affect the guitar finish. I do sometimes wipe down the guitar after playing, but I'm not religious about it.

Sort:  

it can depend on the finish of the neck and also one what sweat and oil you give off.

I have a real glossy finish on the IYV and thought I might have an issue. The Ibanez has I think they call it a satin finish but has gotten shiny and polished from play. The Samick seems to have a normal acoustic guitar finish I guess. IDK.

I have heard that you need to be careful if you've been using sun cream as that can affect the guitar finish.

I rarely use it, but can imagine it could be an issue.

I do sometimes wipe down the guitar after playing, but I'm not religious about it.

I need to get a little more proactive with doing this. That could be another part of my issue. It's not a bad idea to wipe down the neck and body real quick when you're done playing. I need to be more regular in doing that.

!PIZZA