Some blues for Tele Tuesday

in Guitar3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


This is something I found myself playing around with last night. It is just a 12 bar blues where I fill in between the chords with some pentatonic noodling. I am trying to imply the chords using chord tones which are notes that are in the chords, but not in the scale. The chords are A7 D7 E7 all played at the fifth fret and the chord tones I use are the thirds of those. I also use various turnarounds to connect up the rounds.

I have been playing for many years, but I still have much to learn. Even within the blues there is a lifetime of learning to be done. I make a few slip-ups in this, but mistakes in music only last an instant and you should just move on.

I am playing my Benford custom Telecaster through a Zoom G3X.

@the-bitcoin-dood was suggesting I post some lesson videos, but I do not have much experience of teaching. If people have specific things they would like me to cover then I can attempt to help. Something I have seen on some tutorial sites is that pupils post a video and the teacher does a video response with some tips. Feel free to do this and tag me.

Rock on!


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Rock on! Totally digging that. I need to start getting into the more technical apsects of playing. That's my guitar goal for 2021 is to learn more theory and technical playing. I'll definitely be trying this technique with those chords. Sounding good man!

If I wanted an affordable way to record an acoustic guitar, do you have any suggestions. Linux friendly of course.

!BEER

Sorry about the beer. I'm buying more today! I love handing those out.

I had no idea about guitar community! Just joined now.

Happy you enjoyed it. If you want any more details of what I'm playing let me know.

I think a lot of USB microphones will work with Linux, but do some checking before you buy. A small condenser may be good for acoustic. Maybe find one of these second hand. Decent mics and works as an interface.

Don't worry about the beer :)

!ENGAGE 20

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Really enjoyed that!! I absolutely love the tone.

Cheers. I do love this guitar. Anything that's vaguely like a Tele can count. Just use any excuse to post some playing.

Beautiful! I'm a musician too✌😘

I must say, I like your noodling sir! (What an awesome term, haha!)

Cheers. I am just playing around, but it's a matter of finding what sounds good.

steevc I would like to ask a few questions

Do you record with an interface, if so, which one do you prefer? or g3x have usb connection
What gauge of strings do you use, the brand and how often do you change them?
Any advice that you can give to the guitarists from here?

I am using an interface. It is an M-Audio Fasttrack Pro, but it is nothing special. The G3X does have one built-in, but I have things set up so I can use a microphone too through the M-Audio.

I use Elixir 10 gauge strings. They are coated and so last pretty long. I don't like having to change them too often.

Some advice from me is to post some videos. That gives you incentive to work on something until you are happy for others to hear it. There are so many on-line lessons out there that you can keep swapping between different things, but being able to do one thing well is important. Then you can start on something else.

Teach me how to keep my fingers from pressing on the wrong strings when I am trying to press the right ones and then I end up with that dull thupppp of a sound...

I think that is just practice. Start off changing between a couple of chords and then add more variations as you improve. It can be hard as the spacing changes up the neck. I don't have to think too much about it these days.

Is this with chords or single notes?

Nice, gotta get more tele tuesdays started on hive. Does a g&l asat count as a telecaster?

You need to stake more BEER (24 staked BEER allows you to call BEER one time per day)