Sort:  

Art never dies and technology pales in comparison, if you ask me. Overwhelmed and underwhelmed by the Van Gogh Alive experience, which fuses art and technology — without an authentic painting in sight!


img_3047.heic

Hi @yahia-lababidi. Thanks for joining in. Yes, even though it is easy to make a million copies of a digital file, I've still lost more work than I dare to think about due to technology and hardware becoming obsolete, yet sketches I made when I was a kid are still to hand and in decent condition.

Having said all that, in terms of styles/themes/concepts in art, in a world where anything goes and any artist can produce something new and different from the rest, I can't remember seeing anything for a long time that I would say is groundbreaking or game-changing.

I see loads of art I love and admire, and lots of originality, but nothing that makes me think "this is going to change art".

I might be old-fashioned, but I've not seen anything digital that I'm too excited about, either -- certainly, nothing that would have me consider giving up the aesthetic experience of standing before an actual painting or a statue. Speaking of which, here's an Egyptian artist-activist I recently discovered that might interest you:


image.png

Ha! Not old fashioned at all - but to be fair, I suppose you could say that painting/sculpture has got a few thousand years on digital art, and so has had a long time to mature.

Thanks for sharing the link to the Walid Ebeid article. I'll have a read of that later. It looks very interesting, and always good to listen to other artists' accounts.

You do have a point there, @mattbrown.art. I'm always open to great art, irrespective of the platform/medium...

Hope Ebeid piece keeps you good company. Have a great weekend!

You too @yahia-lababidi! It's been great chatting with you. Come by this community again :)

Likewise, @mattbrown.art. Will try to :)