Sort:  

Ha! That's very kind of you to say. I think if the internet dies, then marble statues are the way to go - they have a very long shelf-life!

You're right though, the internet constantly reinvents our society, and therefore art.

Art never dies and technology pales in comparison, if you ask me. Overwhelmed and underwhelmed by the Van Gogh Alive experience, which fuses art and technology — without an authentic painting in sight!


img_3047.heic

Hi @yahia-lababidi. Thanks for joining in. Yes, even though it is easy to make a million copies of a digital file, I've still lost more work than I dare to think about due to technology and hardware becoming obsolete, yet sketches I made when I was a kid are still to hand and in decent condition.

Having said all that, in terms of styles/themes/concepts in art, in a world where anything goes and any artist can produce something new and different from the rest, I can't remember seeing anything for a long time that I would say is groundbreaking or game-changing.

I see loads of art I love and admire, and lots of originality, but nothing that makes me think "this is going to change art".

I might be old-fashioned, but I've not seen anything digital that I'm too excited about, either -- certainly, nothing that would have me consider giving up the aesthetic experience of standing before an actual painting or a statue. Speaking of which, here's an Egyptian artist-activist I recently discovered that might interest you:


image.png

Ha! Not old fashioned at all - but to be fair, I suppose you could say that painting/sculpture has got a few thousand years on digital art, and so has had a long time to mature.

Thanks for sharing the link to the Walid Ebeid article. I'll have a read of that later. It looks very interesting, and always good to listen to other artists' accounts.

You do have a point there, @mattbrown.art. I'm always open to great art, irrespective of the platform/medium...

Hope Ebeid piece keeps you good company. Have a great weekend!

You too @yahia-lababidi! It's been great chatting with you. Come by this community again :)