Dragonfly

in Insect Publast year

IMG_20230126_112829.jpg

I came across this dragonfly in the garden of my house while taking pictures of a plant. I like it when I am taking pictures in my garden in the quiet of the morning, without breezes or too much incandescent sun because I find so many beautiful things hidden in the garden.

IMG_20230126_112839.jpg

When I took the photos of the dragonfly I didn't notice how mangled its wings are. I was able to take a few extra photos as I slowly approached it to take in more and more detail of its structure. It wasn't until after I reviewed the photos that I realized that the poor thing has its wings destroyed.

IMG_20230126_112637.jpg

I don't know if it was because of the strong breezes that blow in the afternoon or because it suffered from the onslaught of some predators, but the truth is that its wings are very shredded, broken, and without much shine. When I got very close to her face to take a picture of her eyes, she decided to take flight and land in another place far away from my possibility of reaching her. I smile and thank her for her position to take the pictures I took.

IMG_20230126_112601.jpg

I like dragonflies, their scientific name is Anisoptera. They are similar but different from the so-called damselflies. In ancient times they were cataloged as insects of bad omen. In the bible, they are designated as wisdom, transformation, and light. While nowadays when a dragonfly appears in the house or the garden it is cataloged as good luck at work or home.

Be that as it may, it is an insect that is magical in its flight, its shape is elongated and straight. It leaves its wings open when it rests from its flight. And it has wide eyes on its head. It is pleasant to watch it fly.

IMG_20230126_112624.jpg

All photographs are my property and you can take them for your personal use whenever you want.

I'm @gertu from Venezuela to de world.

@gertu_banner5.png