Hive Forest, Cycling and Granma - why they're my Three Favourite Posts

A few days ago, I created a new challenge called My Three Favourite Posts. You can read all about it here and I'd love it if you could take part.

I figured if it's my challenge, I should support myself 😃so yesterday I spent a long timing going through all my posts to find my favourite three. I went all the way back to 2018 for one of them because it meant a lot to me, even though it may seem very mundane when you read it. But that's the point of this challenge, to find a post that you love for whatever reason it may be, and talk about it. So here goes....

Hive Forest

https://peakd.com/hive-174578/@livinguktaiwan/i-think-my-curse-on-sun-might-have-worked

This post is the last in the series of charity fundraising posts I did in 2020. It happened during Covid lockdown when I was very bored at home and started to cut trees out of cardboard boxes because I had nothing better to do. The above image is some of the 60 I did, each one is different. I wanted to put them to good use and decided to ask people to adopt a tree for 3 Hive and donate the proceeds to charity. All my trees were adopted within a week and the community raised over 176 Hive and nearly 49 HBD, which equated to over USD100 for my chosen charity.

The reason I like this post so much is because Covid was a low point for many people. Many felt so isolated and it was weird to be living in an environment that we had never experienced before. Being able to do something to bring the Hive community together was a blessing, not to mention fun.

The most fun part was this final post when I did a video of the ceremonial burn of all the trees. During the burn, I cast a little spell on Justin Sun, who at that time had done a hostile takeover of Steem and froze over 23m Steem from the community. That is not supposed to happen in a decentralised world!! In the afternoon after my ceremonial burn, someone transferred that 23m Steem from him to Bittrex. The community was cheering. Maybe my spell had something to do with !! JJ. If you were on the chain back then, you'd remember that joyful day. And if you joined recently, you can check out this post to learn what I'm talking about.


Cycling with my siblings

https://peakd.com/cycling/@livinguktaiwan/cyclingwithsiblings-6dvmy9emj7
A few years ago when I was living in Taiwan, I didn't get to see my family a lot. One year, a few of my siblings came to visit me in Taiwan and we did a tour around the island. On one morning a few of us did a bit of cycling. This may seem the most normal thing to do for many people, but for me, that half an hour was very special.

First, I was on holiday with my family and they are very dear to me. Second, we were in a beautiful part of the country. And third, we were doing something that we'd never done before together. We weren't kids, and we weren't the healthy regular exercise type. Cycling was not on our list of to do things, and the fact that we could do it under such an amazing environment, zooming so carefree along the road was just ace and a cherished moment for me.


My Granma

image.png

https://peakd.com/hive-106316/@livinguktaiwan/grandparent-stories-contest-entry-livinguktaiwan
And finally, my last favorite post is special to me because it's about my grandma. I lived with her for many years when I was a kid, then again after I graduated from university. In fact I think I may have lived longer under the same roof with her than with my mum.

When I was writing this post, memories about my gran started to flow back. From when the 9 year old me first started to live with her, to the last time I saw her at hospital when she died. The last time I visited my granma's grave was in 2019, but since I won't be returning to Hong Kong soon, it will be a while before I can go pay my respects again. Writing and reading my memories about her has been very therapeutic for me.


For those who follow me, may know I mainly write travel content. I love travelling and enjoy documenting them so I can look back to see where I've been. None of my travel posts have made my favourite list because ... well they're nice but not special enough to become my favourite. Personally I like my posts when they can trigger special memories for because often that's all we have to hold on to.

Now I've told you about my favorite posts, how about you have a go? Tell us why your favourite posts are your favourite posts. Look forward to reading them.

https://peakd.com/hive-100848/@livinguktaiwan/my-three-favourite-posts-challenge

Sort:  

I have a grandma story. Recently it came up, and your image again reminded me on her. I guess I have to write it up

I love a grandma post, grandma's are so cute. Bring it on!!

Hi @livinguktaiwan,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Great posts! I saw your challenge proposal, but I hadn't gotten around to thinking about doing it myself yet. I like the idea of cursing Justin Sun. Too bad I missed that one the first time around.

Hmm.. I don't know if I could pick my three favorites. They'd probably all be haiku posts I've done, which would probably be boring to most people. I'll have to browse through my history and see what pops out at me!

Well, perhaps it would be nice to find out why you like boring posts so much 😂 Just joking

Seriously, we all have our reasons for our favourites, would love to hear yours

Three well chosen articles 😊 I almost chose an article on my Grandpa for one of my favorite articles. He lived at my mother's house for almost 10 years. I left for military service at about the 5 year point. I'll have to read up these, I don't know the back ground behind the steem takeover. Thanks for sharing!

I'm sure everyone has too many to choose from, I got it down to 4, then reluctantly to 3.

Those few weeks when Sun swooped in and used HP from the exchanges to vote for his puppets witnesses whilst the community was fighting back was painful for many. That's why many new accounts can't understand why the older accounts don't despise Steem .

Thanks for supporting my challenge!

I enjoyed reading this. Its nice to read about the memories they brought back for you, and why. Great idea !

Thanks @hoosie , I hope you'll have time to take part, it would be great to read your favourites

The spell cursing using paper cuttings is very unique to Hong Kong. It's known as villain hitting (打小人)Is Justin Sun and Sandia Sun (sweetsssj) related?

I'm not sure if they're related, maybe just the same surname. I didn't know her last name is Sun as well. Did you know her?

I know she was on board very early, and meet Dan or Ned. And lucky her, still holding a massive delegation from the steem days, raking in hundreds every day

Nope. I don't know her personally. It's from watching her Youtube videos. Raking in hundreds every day is helpful for the high living expenses in the UK.

Yay a new community. Great way to see the best posts of other Hivers. I remember your grandma post, it was very touching.

Thanks Sara, just read yours, loved your post about your mum

Just like you, I have been living with my grandma when I was a kid too since my parents were working, my father was a driver, and my mother was with him assisting on the jeepney. Your grandma is beautiful and it is good to see her smile. Now, my grandma is already 83 years old and I am happy that she is still with us although I am not living with her anymore.

How I wish I knew how to ride a bicycle. I tried but it was hard for me since I was afraid that I would crash. Hehe. By the way, You look so cool in that picture.

It took my gran a long time to relax in front of the camera and I think that's her sweetest photo. Do you get to see your grandma often? 83 is still young nowadays, I hope you get to spend more time with her.

Thanks for dropping by

Yes, we often see each other since we are just living in the same neighborhood. And there are also times that she visits the house when she misses me and my son. How I wish I would be as young as my grandma when life would give me the chance to live at the age of 83 too.

These are very, very nice posts, I see why they are your favourite ones.
Well done for being able to pick three. I spent some considerable time yesterday too trying to find my favourites... not an easy task at all.

Haha, I loved that video with the Hive forest, I didn't know about that fundraising post, actually, it happened a few months before I arrived at Hive. Such a good idea!

Nice memories!
Cycling is a great way to explore places. You see much more than when you go by car and you cover way more distance than when you go walking.


This post was upvoted by the Cycling Community

cycling.PNG

You can support the Cycling Community with a delegation by clicking one of the amounts below

| 25 HP | 50 HP | 100 HP | 250 HP | 500 HP |
Delegations are highly appreciated

Well yeah, you're absolutely right, these are some special posts for sure, from what you're telling us. I've loved learning about these parts of your life and I'm about to read them right now because I can't miss out on them. You were raised just like me with your grandma.
This burning incident and what happened afterwards is something that makes anyone think. I, for example, believe in positive energies, which are always more powerful and can overcome evil.

Hugs, @livinguktaiwan ;)

This is what I love most about Hive, the people who enjoy the platform as much as I do. The initiative is great and I see it's a new community, so there must be more activities of interest coming up in the future, how nice ❤️ Your grandmother's post touched my soul, but the pictures and the bike story is another level and so much fun, no wonder it's in your top three favorite posts 😘