Watch, Book, Hugs

It's funny, when I initiated this challenge about My three most valuable possessions, I thought I wouldn't have any valuable possessions as I'm not very attached to "things". Plus with me moving around, I have decluttered a lot over the years, and started to give things away. Then I sat down to think, and remembered, there are things that I've held onto for a long time, because, they are part of me.
livinguktaiwan divider.png

Watch

The first item is this vintage watch that belonged to my mum. It's an Omega Ladymatic, the first lady's automatic watch produced by Omega. When I first got it from my mum, I took it to a watch dealer that I knew well, and she marvelled at how nice it was. I had it fully serviced, changed a new original strap and now it's working perfectly.
20240318_171253.jpg

I wear it alternatively with my other watches, but not too often because it's very precious to me. One day I will hand it down by to the next, or maybe next next generation. I hope they will love and appreciate it as much as I do even though the recipient may not have met my mother before.
20240318_171348.jpg

livinguktaiwan divider.png

Book

The second item belongs to my dad. Like
many from his generation he doesn't speak English, and when he came to UK in search of a better life he got this book to learn English. It's very old now and is starting to fall to pieces and I don't let many people to touch it.
20240319_153204.jpg

The book starts with the most basic, like numbers. The Chinese writing is on the left, followed by the numbers, then the English word, and finally the phonetic pronunciation using Chinese words. It's not very accurate as the two languages are very different and often there are no words that sound the same or even similar. When I first got hold of the book, I had a great laugh with my friends. One of us would read the phonetic pronunciation and the other would try to guess what the English word was. Most of the time we'd guess wrong, it was hilarious. I have no idea if or how my dad managed to learn English like this. However, I know he must have tried hard, the pages are starting to fall apart.
20240319_153256.jpg

The subjects in the book reflects the life and trade back in those days. Like the phrases in this chapter, they all seem random today.
20240319_153546.jpg

livinguktaiwan divider.png

Hugs

The last item is quite cheesy. When we first married many years ago, I found these two connectors at home. They belong to my husband, he has loads of random electrical/technical bits lying around. I was playing around with them and realized they would fit tightly together. I got quite excited and showed my husband. "Look! They're hugging, like us!!!" I even wrote our names inside. He thought I was very silly 😜

It took me a while to find this today. I know I put them in with a box of miscellaneous things things and I nearly thought it had got lost with me moving around so much. Huggies are back!!
20240319_174004.jpg

20240319_184358.jpg

livinguktaiwan divider.png

Do you have any valuable possessions that are important to you? If so, please do share with us. You can check out this post for more information
https://peakd.com/hive-100848/@hive-100848/my-three-most-valuable-possessions

Sort:  

Congratulations @livinguktaiwan! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 32500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 33000 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Those look like some nice integrated circuits. I have some of those laying around myself from my time when I was playing around with breadboards. Very nice! I wish I had a nice watch as a keepsake.

it took me a long time to google to find out what these things are called. originally I thought they are chips, but chips are modern day clever things 😊

what's breadboard, why the way?

image.png

The white part is the breadboard. It let's you test configurations without having to permanently solder stuff down.

geeky stuff 😄

i thought you were into baking now

I'm a jack of all trades, master of none. I know a little bit about a lot of things. My major in college for a while was electronics though. I dealt with breadboards quite a bit for a few semesters.

These are cool. I have so few keepsakes like this, and nothing left from Australia at all. Sad.

I am pretty sure that those wooden and metal things are torture devices from the French Revolution.

Kinky.

shh.... don't let my secrets out!!!!

and nothing left from Australia at all

That's unfortunate. I think when we leave home for uni or work when we were young, we don't think about taking things with us because we're more excited with the new life ahead of us. It's when we get older, we become more nostalgic and think of things we used to have when we were kids, and by that time our parents have probably chucked it out without realizing it meant something to us.

I thought this was a movie review when I read the title haha... Never seen a hug in my life before... Hehe you're a good keeper I must say.. that book really looks too old..
!PIZZA

That would make quite a nice moving title wouldn't it? 😃

I'm glad I kept that book, and particularly like how it has all turned brown now

PIZZA!

$PIZZA slices delivered:
@jane1289(2/5) tipped @livinguktaiwan

What a fun read. I have been thinking about my precious things a lot (after your prompt) and keep going to things from my parents too. That book is really special and those hugs are fun.

It will be interesting to see if you have any valuable personal possessions Sara. Do you think your parents have still kept them for you?

I have them. It is deciding which ones! I took some pictures yesterday so I could make the post. :)

That's lovely, look forward to that Sara! I wonder if one is art related...

Huggies are the cutest thing I saw in a while 😇

ha ha!! They certainly seem to be popular here!

My wife would love that watch. She wants to get a vintage Omega.

Nice story about the huggies. Cute!

I think those vintage watches are so elegant, none of the bling bling we see nowadays. I don't know why it reminds me of Audrey Hepburn when I see the watch

I just showed it to my wife and she confirmed that she does love it. She says that she's jealous lol

maybe that's a sign for you to start searching for the next birthday/christmas/anniversary present

Yeah I should. I'll have to save that idea for one of her big birthdays I think. Maybe when she turns 40. They aren't inexpensive lol.

It's beautiful to see how you hold onto pieces of your parents through these cherished items. Both the watch and the book undoubtedly carry immense sentimental value, each telling a unique story of love and legacy.

yes, these items may not be worth much financially, but they mean a lot to me and connect me to my parents, and hopefully to the next generation as well

Wow! 3 valuable things which belong to mom dad and hubby.
I'm also so connected with my family especially mom...I like that watch so much.
Also that Huggies idea is superb 😀

I like that watch so much

me too, there's a certain air of elegance with it, I think, so classy.

Your huggies are electronic chips of some kind. REALLY old ones. I would LOVE to know the history of them.

I am also curious about that book.

I don't even know what they're for and why he has 2 at home, men have lots of these random things lying around, but then they'd probably say the same about us and our beauty products.

Thanks for sharing.
I had a lot of these IC's but never had the idea to fit them together like that. 👍
Many hugs to you.

I guess it's like giving a random object to a child and they play with it in a different way that grown ups wouldn't think of. I can't remember why I made them into a huggie, but it's nice that they've lasted like us still

No doubt each of the three has an important meaning and story behind it, but the Huggies are my favourite! Might also be because I haven't seen something like this before, but also the whole story brings them closer to my heart!

I haven't seen something like this before

You're making me feel old now 😅

It's nice to be share different things with people on Hive, no matter it's cross time or cross territory, we learn something new every day

Noo, no way. I actually don't think we have at all that in my country. So no need to feel old 😅

Thats got me thinking about which 3 I would choose. I know I cant make them all guitars so need to ruminate a little!

Have you found anything yet? 😃

Still stuck on guitars 🤣🤣

untitled.gif

🤣🤣

I was in my local antique emporium the other day having a mooch, what a coincidence I saw a collection of Omega watches, that one you have is, apart from the sentimental value which will always be greater than financial value, worth quite a few bob. I hope you have it well insured!!

Got to say that book you have is my fav. what an amazing item to own so much social history.

I wonder how much this one is worth, not that I would sell it. I'll probably pass it on to one of the next generation when they get married. If I give it to them now, they probably won't appreciate it and chuck it in a drawer and forget about it.

The book is decades old, older than me of course 😆that will go to the next generation as well, but haven't decided who yet, someone who will appreciate it. Getting to the stage where I'm starting to think of giving things away...

you should turn up on The Antiques Roadshow, !!!

That's a nice watch. You don't see so many of the lady Omegas around. That phrase book is interesting. 'Landed into godown' is not a phrase I use. I'm intrigued by the 'chips' as most were black. They would mean nothing to anyone else, but have meaning for you.

We have a few heirlooms, some of which may have financial value, but we wouldn't sell them. My mum has a lot of stuff and some will come to me or the kids eventually. I want to know the stories behind it so I need to get those from her.

The book has plenty of chapters and phrases that we don't use nowadays, and a lot of it reflects the colonial days. There's a chapter on things on a ship as many came over as seafarers, and then there's a chapter on smoking utensils, including many opium related terms!!!

I think every item the elderlies hold on to have a story, even a plate or a garment, and eventually, you learn so much about them and their past that you weren't aware of. Hopefully you're mum will have some interesting stories for you

Oh, you have some treasures there. I was very struck by your father's book. Its pages are worn. It must have that old book smell that I like.
Huggie is abstract, but it's very curious as an object and you've given it an energetic meaning by repurposing it. Now it is a reminder of love. Hahaha... Clever.

The book does have a book smell actually, the smell of old dated paper, and history, if you know what I mean. I keep it wrapped up in a plastic bag now to protect it.

Wow!!HKD1500, but I see it's still not sold. I doubt anyone would but it to be honest, it's more of social history value and might end up in a museum one day.

Nice to see my post coming up on google search😄

The museum will probably the one buying. haha

These are the sweetest possessions and show me how sweet you are. The last one made me all gooey inside.