Intro to the Fascinating Insects Community

wwest170816_7213.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

Such a cool idea for a community

pageBreak.png

I came across this community when @acidyo shared it in discord earlier today. I am a macro photography lover and taking pictures of insects is one of my favorite things to do with my camera.

wwest180525_Civil_War_Trip17.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

These are some of my favorite macro insect shots over the years. One of the things I like most about shooting insects is that they move around, so it is a bit of a dance to try and get a good shot.

avi9ba6487j31.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

I wish that I had cool spiders where I lived like this one above. I took the picture in Poland during Steemfest 3.

wwest180528_Civil_War_Trip180.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

I took the picture of this butterfly at a garden near a monument for General Stonewall Jackson's arm. I was taking pictures for a book I was working on, but I found the insects in the garden more interesting than taking pictures of the monument.

wwest180529_Civil_War_Trip83.jpg

Photo taken by me @derangedvisions

I got this spider in the same area of the garden as the butterfly. I liked this guy's little eye balls. I thought it was funny that he just has two beady little eyes that just stare at you.

I plan on sharing some more insect shots to this community every now and then. Hopefully I get some bugs to take pictures of, but we have our home and yard sprayed for bugs, so they all tend to die once they get near our home now.

Thanks for stopping by and checking out my pictures. You are awesome.

Sort:  

Third photo down of the spider. Fantastic!

Thanks man. That is one of my favorite macro shots I have ever done.

Welcome to the "Fascinating Insects" community! :)

I got this spider in the same area of the garden as the butterfly.

That's actually not a spider but belongs to the order Opiliones (which, like spiders, belong to the class Arachnida).

Its really spectacular. Im getting i to your photography. I still think my favourite is the shots of the massasi children you captured their personalities so well.

Thanks man. Here is another one of some of the other children.

A652A304256F4F24986AC33CF8702E8E.jpeg

You capture their humanity perfectly

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Bang, I did it again... I just rehived your post!
Week 22 of my contest just started...you can now check the winners of the previous week!
9

The photographs of the Insects shows us that there is beauty in the most simplest of things such as the insects that are a big part of our world yet with such close up shots we can see the complexity and intricacies that make up what we may consider to be inconsequential parts of our daily existence.

Seeing such mechanisms captured so well reminds of how essential our co habitants of this planet are and how insignificant we can be when placed alongside

Thanks for sharing your post with us @derangedvisions

#thriveonhive

I have selected this post for the Hive Helping Highlight today, to encourage further enagement

helping banner.png

Exactly. There is so much beauty in the smallest of things.

All of these are incredible photo's. Insects make for some good subject matter when taking pictures and these macro shots are awesome.

Thank you. Ya insects are fun to shoot

Wow! Now I just miss going out and capturing just beauties. It's been raining heavy here and according to the forecast, still more rains left. Hopefully after that will be able to go with the gang and get some shots.

Just love your work! You are one of my inspirations for macro photography 😀

Thanks man. Winter is coming soon here, so most of the bugs will be dead soon and I won't have any to take pictures of. Hopefully I can find some more before that happens.

Oops, that bad!

Awesome photos!

Macro photography is similar to space photography... These tiny insects are like a totally different world... and when you "close them up", like the worst horror nightmares... :)

lol. Some of them can be scary looking when you get up close. Their eyes are the most interesting part for me.

Oh, yes... that's the first thing that I noticed on the first photo... I have even zoomed in to see them better :)

Wow! These photos are beautiful! I love the details you captured.

Now, mind you, I am not a real insect lover, but I really appreciate the beauty in your photography! Being predictable, I love the butterfly the most. Even the spider is pretty (but they can stay where they are LOL).

Thanks for sharing your talent with us! Really great stuff :)

Thank you. Ya I am not a fan of spiders either. I took some close up shots of a black widow a while ago and it scared the crap out of me with how close I was.

img_0.9794509404693854.jpg
Wow! You are so much braver than I am!!

Helll noooo. Lol

A lot of the best insect shots I have taken have been as I was walking down nature trails (although I don't generally shoot macro). I applaud you on your photos. I know how difficult it can be to shoot insects. Thanks for sharing.

Thank you. I appreciate the compliment

So beautiful!