Praying Mantis Colored Pencil Drawing

Sharing an old drawing from 2017

It's a pencil drawing I did of an idea of a friend.

It's pretty crazy how his idea goes. Praying mantis are amazing creatures and they come in many colors and varieties. I would say they are one of the most interesting creatures on land.

mantis_by_jyacini_dbn2r9o.jpg

Title: Mantis
Medium: Colored Pencils
Year: 2017

Work in progress Photos

Here are some of the photos I have of how I made it. I hope artists can find this insightful and all insect lovers find this inspiring in ways

Lightly draw and shade the colors

Here I draw the lava

Then I darken details and I drew the sky

And then gems on its feet

Final output

mantis_by_jyacini_dbn2r9o.jpg

My favorite part about this is how I made the gems and reflections. I still have this artwork with me.

this is one watercolor piece I experimented with

I got videos but they are super blurred sorry

At least you get to see how I rendered the pencils

Fun Facts!

To end this mantis post, Imma share some interesting stuff about mantis. But in a video! haha here you go!

mantis, the most feared predator in the insect world

Hope you enjoyed my art and post!

Sort:  

Source
Copying and pasting previous posts or significant parts of it could be seen as spam when:

  • Reposting the same content without additional original content or significant changes
  • Reposting content within the same payout window

Spam is discouraged by the community and may result in the account being Blacklisted.

Please refrain from copying and pasting previous posts going forward. If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #appeals in Discord.

Previously posted twice. Previous posts combined into one.

Source 1
Source 2

Copying and pasting previous posts or significant parts of it could be seen as spam when:

  • Reposting the same content without additional original content or significant changes
  • Reposting content within the same payout window

Spam is discouraged by the community and may result in the account being Blacklisted.

Please refrain from copying and pasting previous posts going forward. If you believe this comment is in error, please contact us in #appeals in Discord.

Congratulations @jacinta.sevilla! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 600 posts. Your next target is to reach 650 posts.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Day - Let's grow together!

Very cool painting... but that creature scares me a little bit. 🤪

Thanks! haha Praying mantis are kinda creepy but theyre very interesting and there are lots of species

Your work is outstanding!

hi remind as a bow after the performance cuttlefish drawing everyone sees it in their own way I bow to the performance of the person who held the crayons in his hands hi :-)

That's an interesting interpretation, sounds fun and creative :D thank you for sharing

cute insect! i love it! for a time i was thinking it was made with watercolors. i made a insect drawing today too, if you wanna see it --->Japanese rhinoceros beetle