You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Three Virtues of Golf: Altruism, Adaptability, and Humour

in Sports Talk Social3 years ago

That was a great read and i really like your 3 additions.

Every new member should have to write this out 1000 times!

Leaving the bunker unraked, not repairing your pitch mark on the green, or filling your divot on the fairway, will inevitably make the course unplayable for the other players

Nothing worse than playing a great round and coming unstuck due to an unraked greenside bunker or the like.

The humour one is so important as well. It took me a while to learn it. I now try my hardest to laugh at myself when i make a mistake, instead of getting annoyed, which can easily derail a good round. Those minds of ours work in mysterious ways!

Sort:  

Thank you I really appreciate it!

Right!? I see so many young new golfers at my home club (the club wants these new young members) but they have not acquired the necessary golf etiquette. I feel that most of golf's etiquette is lost because we "older generation" golfers have not taught them or they don't want to listen.

The humour one is important! I always tell people whom I coach that in golf thousands of small mechanics need to align at that milli-second of impact. It is a fluke that we can hit the ball straight! But when we do and some outside factor interferes with the shot, you need to see the humour in it all.

Ya, humour is essential!! I bring it with me to every round now, it's my 15th club!

That is awesome! I assume you have read the book with the same name by bob rotella?

No actually i haven't..

The only golf books I've read are "Golf is not z game of perfect" and Ben Hogan's "Fundamentals of golf"

I found both excellent. Are there others you would recommend?

I am planning on doing a post in the future on golf books! There is one book that is stand out, if you like fiction: Preferred Lies: A Journey to the Heart of Scottish Golf by Andrew Greig. If you prefer non-fiction, try any of Bob Rotella's books.

I look forward to that post. I'm more a real life books person - autobiographies, real life events, history etc... of course I read some fiction and classic works, but less so...

For golf, my reading is to improve my game mainly! 😁

True! I have a fond memory and the writer of that book wrote that memory in perfect words. Basically, when you are the first one alone out on the course early in the morning, and you look back and see your own footprints in the dew, there is a certain feeling you will only get from experiencing it. Have you ever been out on the course as the first player?