You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: “Why Do You Sport?” – Musings On What Sport Is and the Reasons We Give

in Sports Talk Social3 years ago

So I'm starting a petition to have @edprivat thrown out of Hive once and for all!! For crimes against Golf and Irishmen 🤣🤣

Great topic @fermentedphil, why do I sport??

You've covered most of them tbh. I'm competitive by nature, so thats a big one. Once there is a prize for anything, I immediately want to win it. There are two major competitions each year at my golf club and the winner's name goes up on the board in the clubhouse. I'd love to see my name up there, so many years from now when I'm gone, my grandkids or great grandkids can see it there..

It's the same for other sports I've played over the years too - soccer, Gaelic football, hurling, running to name a few.

Some sports are all about nature and for me, it's a great consolation when having a terrible round of golf. At least I'm having a nice walk in nature, while have a mild case of Touretts... "For fuck sake" "Ah Jaysus" "Ya big feckin Eegit" etc etc... and another for nature is definitely surfing. There is something so exhilarating about being in the water catching sweet waves.

Sport can be a great way to catch up with friends too. We are all mad busy with kids, jobs, life, that meeting up to play golf, 5 a side soccer or surf is a great way to see the lads regularly, although the soccer 5 a sides can be a bit dodgy for our aging limbs!

Sort:  

Glad that I covered most aspects! It turned out into a comprehensive list even though it was a "too sober pre-drinks bad round of golf" thought 🤣

Oh yes, that is an awesome aspect of so many sports: to escape our busy daily routines right. Even going for a 20-minute jog just clears your head a bit. I am lucky/unlucky as I do not have a family yet! But "work as family" can work on your nerves and to escape I just go and hit a couple of balls at the range.

And that consolation, with the prospect of a cold one at the bar afterward, is sometimes what gets you to go out there again and again! And the competition of getting your name on that damn trophy!

Even going for a 20-minute jog just clears your head a bit.

I really need to get back into this habit again. I go for lots of walks with the dog, but used to run a lot and it was a great feeling afterwards.

I played a great course this weekend designed by Seve Ballesteros, really good test with water on 10 holes..

I really need to get back into this habit again.

Interesting how it's more habitual than physical in some cases. I myself still struggle to make it a habit! Sometimes I run every day, some weeks I go without doing anything.

designed by Seve Ballesteros

Sounds awesome and tricky! What's the course's name?

Ya 100% habit for me man. The course is called the Ballesteros course in the Heritage Golf club. It was great test and very enjoyable.

I can imagine! There is just something else to a course that is laid out perfectly, or one that is laid out with fore-thought and not just for the sake of building a course.

Yep, different gravy as we say here...